We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good hostel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dreamtime Travellers Rest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Ranked #3 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Tampere
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A good hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in a deluxe double in December 2013. The hostel in all is a nice and quiet one, the common areas are very clean and nice, the kitchen well equipped, the staff is nice and helpful. The owners even threw a Christmas party, with reptiles from the zoo and a bbq- that was great! The room was clean, though not too much light coming in as the window was quite small, the wifi cost 3 dollars for 2 hours and did not work in the room (although the room was quite far from the reception). Air con cost 1 dollar for 3 hours, but the machine itself was quiet and efficient. The location is good, a 15 min walk form the harbour and lagoon, and right next to the train station and shopping centre.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Hi Saara o
Thanks for review so glad you enjoyed the tropical Xmas party with crocodile and snakes it was the first time we had tried such a party and from the feed back it was a successful night . we hope
to make it a more regular night in the new year. happy travels .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    184
    39
    12
    5
See reviews for
29
207
265
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

A friendly and clean hostel, with personal decoration, spreading over several small buildings connected with covered yard. We stayed with two teenagers and two adults and all of us liked it a lot. Two kitchens, lots of toilets and bathrooms, a nice common area with hammocks, pool table and swimming pool. Efficient laundry machines and dryers. Located on the opposite side of road of the railway station and a big shopping center, and by walking through the shopping center you are at the edge of the central city area, 10 min away from the beach. If you are not into partying all night, you might not enjoy staying in the actual center, which can be quite noisy, so this location is just perfect. The hostel has it quite lively until 22-23, and thereafter it quiets down quickly, giving a true opportunity to rest.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MerjaRa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
HI Merjara
thanks for your review on our hostel we are so glad your family enjoyed their stay with us ,your feed back is important as we like to think we cater for travellers of all ages .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Great hostel, friendly service and the place has a homely feel.
As a single female traveler, after midnight it is a bit of a walk home from the bars at the lagoon through some quiet streets but on the plus side it is easy to get some sleep

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank V1C020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
HI thanks for your review ,we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good sleep we try and make Dreamtime as homely as possible .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Loved the surroundings of hostel and quirkiness or the decor. Stayed in a double room which was clean and tidy. Shared bathrooms also clean and tidy. Friendly staff. Attended Aussie BBQ night which was good fun. About 15 min walk to shops and restaurants and 25 mins to harbour. Good value for money. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Southampton1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Hi , thanks for your review glad you had a great stay and enjoyed our BBQ night . merry xmas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Cairns is a rather touristy town and Dreamtime gives us a bit of a rest from it. Not being used to hostels, I have found this hostel clean and quiet. The staff is amazingly helpful and friendly. I would recommend.

Room Tip: Room 12 is a spacious and quiet twin room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ABR186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
HI, ABR . thanks for your feed back , while not being used to staying in hostels we are glad you enjoyed our stay with us. happy travels .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
706 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Spend two nights at Private Double Bed Room last November 2013, my comments were :
- affordable price $67.50 for two person per night in Private room with Shared Bathroom
- plenty of common bathrooms and Toilets (and a tiny swimming pool)
- additional cost for $1 per 3 hours for the Air Condition
- All you can eat Pizza every Monday Night for $10
- some nights with free Film at the main common leisure room with a pool table
- small kitchens with basic eatery tools and facility
- very handy locations to Cairns Central (Mall) and Railway Station (for Kuranda train and long distance train to Brisbane) and 15 walk to the Esplanade.
- taxi to Airport for $26
- quiet night
- polite and no rowdy and noisy guests
- helpful staff at the receptionist

Special thanks for Moni, the friendly and helpful staff for any information she gave during my visit in Cairns.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear is OK and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank santo t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hi Santo,
Thanks really appreciate your review and that you found us value for money. glad the staff where able to help you , will pass on your regards to Moni.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

The hostel is nice and small. The staff members are very friendly and help you out with everything. I staying in a 3share dorm and it was a nice size room with really good beds. I travelled the whole east coast and this was one of the best hostels I stayed in.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutchieroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Hi thanks for your review of our hostel it is important to us , glad you liked it and thought it was amazing . happy travels . the Dreamteam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.7 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreamtime Travellers Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreamtime Travellers Rest

Property: Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Address: 189 Bunda St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Dreamtime Backpackers)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dreamtime Travellers Rest 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreamtime hostel is 3 beautiful, bright Queenslander homes located just minutes walk from the centre of Cairns. Free wifi 24 hours plus You will find a tropical oasis perfect for relaxing and meeting like minded travellers. Our service is supreme local staff advising and helping you book the best trips and tours. We are here to help you have an unforgettable travel experience.Join us on one of our BBQ nights, fire shows or movies under the stars. Come see why Dreametime is voted #1 best hostel Australia 2012 by hostelworld customer reviews. Do yourself a favour and join in the fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Dreamtime Travellers Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing