We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little gem of cairns!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Ranked #4 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Little gem of cairns!”
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Lovely lovely hostel, clean, well managed, great staff, good kitchen, comfy beds... The list goes on! Could write pages of why it's great but just go visit when you're in cairns and you'll see what it's all about! Beautifully decorated too. All the small touches that you don't get in most other hostels really make the difference here!

Only minor thing was that the room we were in (7) in the section closest to the bathroom the fab allocated to this part of the room could only be used on a slow speed due to a slant in the wall which meant we didn't really have any ventilation in our corner! That of course didn't make us love the place any less!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gabzbooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Hi Gabzbooth , i'm sure thats not your real name ? , hey thanks for the feed back glad you enjoyed, i agree the little things make the difference ,ill look into that one speed fan! safe travels .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    187
    39
    12
    6
See reviews for
29
212
269
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I loved it at Dreamtime! The staff was fantastic, giving advice and helping me to book day trips. My room was clean and simple. Bathrooms were ok. There is a barbecue one can use, fabulous movie nights, and the mall with supermarkets is very close. Discounted airport transfer for only 5 $, reasonable wifi prices, discounts on greyhound bookings. Thanks Moni and the whole team for a beautiful week in Cairns! Anja

Room Tip: Ask for a room a bit away from the kitchen, it is pretty loud there quite early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anja1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Hi Anja ,thanks for your review it means a lot , glad the staff where able to help you , i will pass on your regards to Moni.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Hostel is located 15 minutes away from the airport and just behind Cairns Central station, (very near the main city mall for easy grocery shopping and the Kuranda tours). Travel to the Lagoon and other Cairns city attractions can be easily reached within 30 minutes.

Staff are very helpful with not just the running of the hostel, and also with helping to arrange tours (Thanks Erin again for helping to coordinate for the Skydive while we were transiting from Sydney). Hostel area, kitchens, toilets and rooms are kept clean. May be a bit stuff for some as air-con is coin-operated (1AUD for 3 hours).

Weekly activities such as Pizza Nights (Mon), Australian BBQ Nights (Wed) and Movie Nights help to keep the evenings atmosphere lively.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hi Jason,
thanks for your review , glad you though we were affordable ,i agree to shops and city are very convenient , i will pass on your regards to Erin, As an environmentally conscious hostel we choose a user pay system for our air con to try and reduce the power we consume. Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This was the first place we stayed on our vacation, and our first impression when we walked in our room was that we wished we had paid a bit more to stay someplace nicer. However, the place is clean, comfortable, and quiet. It has laundry machines (coin operated) and two kitchens, good wifi and computers available (although you do have to pay for wifi/computer use, the price was reasonable), and helpful, nice staff. If you are looking for clean, no frills, this is a good place to stay. It would be so much nicer if they invested in new beds, pillows, and linens though - even just new sheets and pillows would make a big difference.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank chouette062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hi chouette,
Its always nice to hear from a senior contributor world traveller. your feed back is important to us . glad to know our budget hostel was clean ,comfortable and reasonably priced. You will be pleased to know we are constantly up dating our rooms , my wife has upgraded our beds linen and pillows since your stay last year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed here for a week and we all had a great stay, The staff were all friendly and very helpful, They were knowledgeable about the tours and they booked all of our tours which we all had a great time experiencing. The rooms, kitchens, and bathrooms are kept clean. The room that we stayed in was very comfortable and had a fan and air conditioner to help keep the room cool which we found very helpful. It is a short walk to the shops and to the lagoon which is absolutely beautiful. They provide activities of a night time so guests get the chance to mingle and have fun. They also provided dinner some nights which included a pizza night and a BBQ night which were good.I recommend staying here, It is a great place which is very relaxed and you get the chance to meet so many new people, I had a great time and I am even going to recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seem very comfortable, But if you are after a view maybe ask for a room upstairs. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hi Fee,
Thanks for your review nice you though we were a great place to stay , we encourage social evenings so travellers can meet . As a licensed travel agent one of the services we offer is tour and travel information glad to hear the staff could help you have a great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stay here for 4 nights as our first stop in Cairns.
There is a friendly staff and nice atmosphere in the hostel, the double room is tidy and clean with a nice fridge inside, however it's a little bit hot inside the room. (There is a Air Con in the room however it cost $1 for 3 hrs)

There is many different event on every night in the backpackers hostel, I think some people will definally enjoy it!

Thanks Erin for the nice service again :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelvin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Hi Kelvin thanks for your review , summer is on its way ,i agree Erin is a super star glad you enjoyed your stay .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed 4 nights. The atmosphere is friendly and calm. Activities are planned, knowledgeable tour advisor is at the hostel. Rooms and kitchens are kept clean. Close to walk to grocery store, the city, the lagoon and reef tours. I would reccommend staying here. The dorms have many rooms with only 3 people so you can get a good nights sleep. The place is decorated and feels cosy.

Room Tip: a couple of the rooms open to the kitchen or the eating area, but the place is quiet early so not re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynneYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hi Lynne , thanks for the review , glad you enjoyed the hostel and liked the decor , its all ways good to know that when guests leave that they would recommend us , word of month is our biggest advertiser , safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.7 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.6 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.6 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreamtime Travellers Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreamtime Travellers Rest

Property: Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Address: 189 Bunda St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Dreamtime Backpackers)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dreamtime Travellers Rest 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreamtime hostel is 3 beautiful, bright Queenslander homes located just minutes walk from the centre of Cairns. Free wifi 24 hours plus You will find a tropical oasis perfect for relaxing and meeting like minded travellers. Our service is supreme local staff advising and helping you book the best trips and tours. We are here to help you have an unforgettable travel experience.Join us on one of our BBQ nights, fire shows or movies under the stars. Come see why Dreametime is voted #1 best hostel Australia 2012 by hostelworld customer reviews. Do yourself a favour and join in the fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Dreamtime Travellers Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing