We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hostel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Ranked #3 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed here for a week. It's a great hostel, very friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Erin was so helpful and friendly towards us. The room we stayed in was great value very spacious and clean. There entertainment throughout the week is great specially if you don't want to go out and spend loads. Great location, shopping centre right across the road. We would defiantly stay here again

Room Tip: Try not to stay near the kitchens you can hear very little movement
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Hi Sara, thanks for your review glad you enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and your right Erin is great , safe travels the Dream team .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

374 - 380 of 796 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

It's a lovely hostel. The railway station and the shopping center is just cross the road. It spent 15 mins walking to the beach and the town center. The staff was quite useful and gave us a lot of help. My friend and I shared a double room. There is bason and fridge in room, but toilet and shower room are shared outside. The thing we feel unconvenient is: double room only has one double bed and during the four days we stayed, the sheet was not changed. So if friends make order, please sure of that. To use wifi in this hostle is charged but new arrivals can walk to town center and find free public wifi.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamtimehostel, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Hi Yee ,
Thanks for your review glad you thought we where good value for money , if guest are staying longer we can change their sheets on request . Happy travels .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Only stayed here one night before flying out of Cairns but enjoyed our time here.
Erin and Monica were easy going, helpful, friendly and made us feel right at home.

We stayed in a deluxe double - the room was really clean, loved having towels provided. The room was modern with nice extra touches like plenty of storage space, bed side table, lamp and bar fridge. There was a lot of dried washing powder on our pillow cases, but once we made the girls at reception aware they were very apologetic and changed the cases immediately. Obviously dried soap is not the end of the world, but we didn't want to wake up with a nose full of it so that's why we mentioned it :) The beds have actual mattresses and the room can be made quite dark so we had an excellent sleep!

As we weren't there long we didn't venture around too much - but there was a little kitchenette near our room which was well equipped. There was also a shower and toilet a few doors away that was always available. I think this is how that majority of the hostel is layed out - lots of toilet and showers located around the buildings. By late evening we had to go hunting for a toilet with toilet paper, but everything was clean enough and we didn't have to walk far to find more amenities.

Would have loved to be able to stay longer and experience this hostel to the fullest.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 14, a double deluxe and were very happy with everything it offered. Enabled a grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheHoff86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamtimehostel, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Hi the Hoff , thanks for the review , glad you enjoyed the service and room but only one night ? you will have to come back. i'll mention to the house keeping staff about the dried soap on the sheets, the pictures look good thanks , i also fixed the seal on the fridge too. see you again safe travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at an ungodly hour of 4am so emailed the hostel to let them know, they're response was quick and they let us know to try and sleep in the little lounge areas open until reception opened at 7:30am. We were then able to check in at 10am. First thing we noticed was how lovely and clean the place was - there were lots of little kitchen areas set up and toilet/showers around different rooms so we never had to wait to use the toilet or have a shower or cook dinner. There was plenty of cutlery and stuff to use - sometimes you had to hunt down some glasses or mugs from other kitchens but you always found what you needed. The beds were fresh and clean and really comfortable. The people we met there were so friendly it was a really cool place to hang out - we are a bit older than other younger backpackers but it didn't matter everyone talked together. There were different social events on to get people to socialize as well which was nice. Also conveniently located 5 min walk to the mall which has loads of shops and a big Coles. Free parking in front of the hostel or on the side roads. Really enjoyed our stay - really cheap wifi/Internet. Staff were wonderful and helpful.

Just a side note - ACE rental cars were really cheap on lake street and if you book online search for a promo code it gets really cheap! We got to drive a good small car from Cairns down to their office in the Gold Coast. Only £13 a day rental!!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TripTommie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamtimehostel, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Hi Tommie , hope thats your name thanks for your review and positive feed back , it alway good to know the staff are doing the right things by helping travellers that arrive very early in the mornings , glad you enjoyed our services, happy travels .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

we've got nothing to complain about! :) our room was clean and well located, the staff was always friendly and really helpful! the showers and toilets were clean and nice. as an extra; they have low priced and super fast wifi (it was perfect to upload pictures to our blog)! :)

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank austravellers9084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamtimehostel, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Hi there aussie travellers thanks for your feed back. as an accommodation provider we also offer other services ie tour bookings and Wi Fi internet at a low cost for our guests convenience . we are happy you enjoyed your stay . safe travels .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Very friendly an helpfull staff, all is made with much passion. Nice as well the events each evening like BBQ with fire show (you should not miss), film nights. Still a quiet place a fare meter outside the probably loud center, but very good lokation, as center is 500m away, railway station for start to Kuranda rail and shoping center is just across the streeet.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolfgang E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamtimehostel, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thanks Wolfgang glad you enjoyed your stay with us ,its been our passion for 21 years its all about creating a comfortable meeting place for like minded travellers .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Enjoyed five nights of clean, basic accomodations. Staff were friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the BBQ night and movie nights. I would stay here again. There are many activities and and near Cairns. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Room 21, by the pool is at twin share and stands alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EXPLORETHEWORLD26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamtimehostel, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Hi Irine , thanks for the review glad you had a wonderful time , i like room 21 too its quite and by the pool , we call it the cabin, enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.6 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
0 mi away
Travellers Oasis Backpackers
0.9 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
0.3 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
0.7 mi away
Caravella Backpackers
Caravella Backpackers
#8 of 84 in Cairns
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreamtime Travellers Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreamtime Travellers Rest

Address: 189 Bunda St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Dreamtime Backpackers)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: $21 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dreamtime Travellers Rest 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreamtime hostel a small backpackers hostel set between 3 beautiful, bright Queenslander homes located just minutes walk from the centre of Cairns. Free wifi 24 hours plus You will find a tropical oasis perfect for relaxing and meeting like minded travellers. Our service is supreme local staff advising and helping you book the best trips and tours. We are here to help you have an unforgettable travel experience.Join us on one of our BBQ nights, fire shows or movies under the stars. Come see why Dreametime is voted #1 best hostel Australia 2012 by hostelworld customer reviews. Do yourself a favour and join in the fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dreamtime Travellers Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing