We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere & staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Ranked #4 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere & staff”
Reviewed July 23, 2008

Very helpful staff, with a great atmosphere. Good location near Cairns Central Train Station/ Shopping Centre. Even saw some local wildlife, with a snake slithering up the stairs into the luggage storage area :)

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank AnonymousPerthGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    187
    39
    13
    6
See reviews for
29
213
273
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2008

Stayed here in Jan. Great place, walking distance to everything needed in Cairns. Staff on reception are super helpful and friendly. Prue basically booked everything for me for while I was in Oz. It's clean, good facilities and will pick you up and drop you off places if needed. Superb.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DunkB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2008

Stayed here for 2 nights, loved the place, right across the road from the train station (handy for Kuranda railway and tilt train), very close to restaurants etc in the town (less than 10 mins walk).
Weather was very hot but the room had air con, very handy for us as we werent used to the heat!
Laundry facilities were great. Small hostel so no queueing for bathroom, laundry, kitchen etc.

  • Liked — close to railway station and city
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GalwayTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2007

We used this hostel as a base while we were visiting Cairns. The place is really relaxed with helpful staff. They gave us different options for all the various tours and did all the booking for us. Tip for tours in Carins, try Vagabond for sailing and diving on the Reef and On the Wallaby for a tour up to the Tablelands (and do two days). The place is very clean which is always an important feature.

  • Liked — The staff and the atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Feelgood77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2007

We found this hostel very warm and friendly, the staff were very helpful and gave us a lot of advice about our plan for travelling down the east coast. The room we stayed in was very nice and was very reasonably priced. I would definitley recommend this hostel.

  • Liked — Helpful staff
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank fairycakeBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2007

Stayed here for a week. Believe it has been done up since, but even before it was lovely, small and friendly. Couple that run the place were great, and helped out with any tours you want to book. The only common area they had when we stayed was some tables outside, which was great. It made it easy for people to mix. This hostel probably had less facilities than most we stayed at but it was favourite of all our travels.

  • Liked — Friendly Atmosphere
  • Disliked — Kitchen quite small
  • Stayed April 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank D7211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2006

This hostel is small and friendly. It is in a characterful older building (particularly interesting upstairs - have a look even if you are staying on the ground floor). I stayed there twice before and after a tour, and found it an excellent base for Cairns. Although it is not in the centre of town, it is just the other side of the large modern shopping centre/station, and is only a few minutes walk to the main shopping streets of Cairns.

I initially stayed in a female 3 share on the ground floor. The room had single beds, made up with linen, and a towel. Air conditioning cost 1 dollar for three hours, and worked well in this room. There were also ceiling fans. Toilets and showers were clean.

Following my tour, I was in a mixed ensuite 6 share (some beds, some bunks). Again, the beds were made up with linen and a towel. Unfortunately, one of the air conditioning units wasn't working, but powerful ceiling fans stopped us from sweltering completely. Hopefully, the air conditioning unit will be fixed soon.

I saw at least one twin room, in a little separate cabin, and I'm sure there were some others.

The manager is helpful, and remembers your name, even when you have been away for a few days. He offers advice about tours, and will make bookings for you.

There is a small kitchen, with a fridge to store food. There are washing machines and dryers. There is a small pool. The rooms do not have lockers, but the doors to the room are lockable, and there is a locked cupboard in which to leave bags if you need to downsize during a tour.

The hostel is attached to a cafe, which has internet. The hostel seems to attract friendly guests (a range of ages), who are happy to chat. I would recommend staying in this hostel.

  • Liked — Duvet covers are washed after every guest - v. unusual in hostels - usually you get 2 sheets
  • Disliked — One air conditioner not working in large 6 share dorm
  • Tips/Secrets — Try and get into a 3 share dorm, these rooms are really nice.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank NorthWestLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
509 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.6 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
0.3 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
The Northern Greenhouse
#10 of 84 in Cairns
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreamtime Travellers Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreamtime Travellers Rest

Property: Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Address: 189 Bunda St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Dreamtime Backpackers)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dreamtime Travellers Rest 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreamtime hostel is 3 beautiful, bright Queenslander homes located just minutes walk from the centre of Cairns. Free wifi 24 hours plus You will find a tropical oasis perfect for relaxing and meeting like minded travellers. Our service is supreme local staff advising and helping you book the best trips and tours. We are here to help you have an unforgettable travel experience.Join us on one of our BBQ nights, fire shows or movies under the stars. Come see why Dreametime is voted #1 best hostel Australia 2012 by hostelworld customer reviews. Do yourself a favour and join in the fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dreamtime Travellers Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing