We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hostel in Cairns”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Ranked #3 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
“Best hostel in Cairns”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

This hostel made my stay in Cairns. After switching hostels three times before I found myself at Dreamtime, I can easily say it is above and beyond the rest. Their great staff, amazing rooms and facilities and great atmosphere make for a very special stay, even when travelling solo. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    185
    39
    12
    6
See reviews for
29
211
267
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We spent 4 days at Dreamtime Travellers Resthouse. Enjoyed every bit of being here. The staff, especially the manager, Chris, were always very helpful. The garden is gorgeous with a little pool. The rooms and the common arieas are spotlessly clean. There is something for every night. Either eat as much as u like from 10 dollars (in Oz this is a very good price!), e.g. pizza or Oz barbaque, or there are film nights. Yesterday we even got free popcorn for the free film :-))

All in all from my heart I can suggest to come here and spend some nights.

Room Tip: If you do not want to use aircon, choose from the rooms at the rear where you dont hear the aircond...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brancsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Dreamtime and found it the best place we have stayed in in Australia. Chris, the owner, and his staff were unfailingly helpful throughout our time there. It is a quite, friendly place, though very nicely located. They are also very helpful with advice on tours etc and we can recommend you book through them as they are very trustworthy.

Not at all noisy and rowdy like some places we stayed in in Australia. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Good:
1) Absolutely friendly, patient and helpful staff to help with tour bookings and recommending you what to do. Stayed in 4 different places in Australia, Dreamtime probably had the best staff.
2) Nice and cosy decorations which make you feel at home. With many comfortable common areas, it's a good place to make friends with other travellers.
3) Location was quite convenient with a big shopping mall just opposite. Most places that you will need to go are within walking distance, such as the Esplanade, swimming lagoon, reef terminal, night market, shopping mall, eating places etc. Airport is just about a 15min drive away.

Bad:
1) Cleanliness. Toilet bin wasn't cleared, there were used sanitary pads inside (gross). Room was dusty enough to make my friend complain about accommodation for the first time in Australia. My bed (no idea if its the bed frame, mattress, or bed sheet) was obviously not clean. I had bug bites all over. Initially it was just me but eventually 2 of my friends also got the bug bites. I requested to change the bed sheet on my third day and the staff immediately changed my bedsheet for me, very helpful indeed. But I don't know if it helped because my body was still itching, not sure from old bites or new ones.
2) There's this particular bathroom on level 2 beside the kitchen which females should really refrain from using, especially at night. I walked past it one night and was shocked to see a clear silhouette of a body, the curtain used was almost semi-transparent. Guess the light was shining from inside the bathroom and outside was dark, so people outside could see quite clearly what's going on in that bathroom.
3) Some of the rooms are connected and separated by a door, which in our room's case, didn't lock properly on one of the days. It didn't cause any inconvenience to us though, just that I thought the privacy part could be compromised a bit.

Well, finally, I wouldn't call this following one a "bad" one, but more of it made me doubt the credibility of some of the reviews. The hostel had this "write a review on tripadvisor and get free internet/free hostel world gold card" deal, and I guess naturally most people would write nice things if they knew the other party is going to read it and know who you are. I mean most stuff are true - the friendly staff, the convenient location.. but the cleanliness part just didn't work for me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamdonggua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
41dug, Manager at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your time at Dreamtime.

We would have loved to have fixed those concerns for you whilst you were still here. Our staff are always ready to address individual guest requests. Thanks to your feedback we have acted and improved those features.

Best wishes for many more travel adventures.

Tropically Yours.
Dreamtime Cairns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed five nights here and had a great time! The hostel is very relaxed, clean and quiet. Shopping is just around the corner and the centre only a short walk away. You can also book your tours here and we got some great advices (and discounts!) here. The staff is very friendly and helpful and made it a memorable experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

We were there last september and we enjoyed our stay. Although a saturday night we couldn't sleep properly due to people shouting in the garden, other aspects were completely right.

You've got plenty of brochures and information, so If you need to book an activity, they'll call and book it for you. It's specially useful when you're abroad and don't know how it works.

On the other hand you must pay for wifi and air-conditioned, which we think should be included, at least wifi because it's pretty cheap for them and quite expensive for guests.

In contrast, rooms were completely clean and there were showers enough so as not to be waiting more than 5 minutes to have a shower.

People working there were very pleasant and they're used to help guests: the owners (a couple) are often there and that's the clue. Besides, there's a great history behind Dreamtime's foundation.

To sum up, we were in Queensland for around a month and this was our favourite backpacker.

Room Tip: Best rooms, at least the more quiet, are from 14 to 16.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CataloniaIsNotSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Flew up from Canberra, travelling ln my own, I had never stayed in a place like this before, but what a great place, lovely staff, pizza and bbq nights a bonus if you are too tired to venture out, all in all what a great experience for me would visit sgain some day

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.7 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.6 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.6 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreamtime Travellers Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreamtime Travellers Rest

Property: Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Address: 189 Bunda St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Dreamtime Backpackers)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dreamtime Travellers Rest 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreamtime hostel is 3 beautiful, bright Queenslander homes located just minutes walk from the centre of Cairns. Free wifi 24 hours plus You will find a tropical oasis perfect for relaxing and meeting like minded travellers. Our service is supreme local staff advising and helping you book the best trips and tours. We are here to help you have an unforgettable travel experience.Join us on one of our BBQ nights, fire shows or movies under the stars. Come see why Dreametime is voted #1 best hostel Australia 2012 by hostelworld customer reviews. Do yourself a favour and join in the fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Dreamtime Travellers Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing