We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Cairns!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castaways Backpackers
Ranked #17 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2010

There is nothing about Castaways which does not recommend it! Wine and cheese night. Free airport pickups/ city drops in nice vehicle. Free pub meal each night. Free internet and wifi. Clean comfortable rooms. Good kitchen facilities. Fantastic staff who bend over backwards to make your visit to Cairns the best it can be. Pool - small, yes, but really, who comes to Cairns to swim in the hostel pool?!
I personally applaud the coin-operated air con - prevents people from overusing it and three hours for a dollar is plenty when you also have open windows and a ceiling fan.
If we come back to Cairns this will be my first choice - great budget accommodation (unless free toiletries and a fluffy bathrobe are your priority!)

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ispnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
There are newer reviews for Castaways Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 278 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2010

This is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. The staff is excellent, everything is clean, and the hostel has a great atmosphere. The hosts provide "Canadian hospitality away from home"!

Yes it is a 10-15 minute walk to downtown (they do provide a free shuttle if you don't want the short walk), but in Cairns you WANT to be away from downtown in my opinion!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mastasteepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

From the moment the Castaways minibus picked me up for freee from the airport I felt welcomed and at ease. The hostel is impecably clean and everyone working there went out of their way to be helpful, everything from borrowing a hairdryer to booking Whitsunday adventures!
Free cheese and wine evenings and the free meals in town help everyone to bond and the laughter was genuine! An excellent place to stay with a very pleasant atmosphere. Quiet nights for good sleep and comfy beds - what more could you want?

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyheids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

This is the first hostel we stayed in in oz, we phoned to make the booking from brisbane airport, we got a free pick up from the cairns airport. You get a free evening meal from reception each night you stay at the hostel for the woolshed, a bar that everyone in cairns goes for a wild night out. Castaways is about a 15 minute walk from the clubs and restaurants but you dont mind this coz your usually drunk. The staff were all lovely and the hostel itself is like a small house rather than a hostel, so you get to know everyone pretty quickly. We loved our stay here and would reccommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank handsaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

I came to stay with a friend, they picked us up from the airport for free which was very helpful. we were paying for a 4 bed dorm room but when we arrived we were told that we have been upgraded to a en suite room with a double and a single bed. we were chuffed. it was so clean and the beds were decent. the people were all very nice and were helpful. the free bus service into town was also handy as the hostels about a 20min walk from the town, however it means it was very nice and quiet. they also helped us with booking tours and things and ensured we had the best deals for what we wanted. we had booked to stay at castaways for 4 nights then to move to another hostel in cairns but as castaways was so nice we ended up extended our stay another 4 nights, we thought that we would have to move rooms but they even let us stay in the larger room. This was the nicest and cleanest hostel i stayed in whilst on my travels. The free internet is a plus too!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbie224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2010

I stayed here with a group of friends for 4 nights. We thought that the hostel was so clean, bathrooms and rooms were immaculate as well as the common room. The service was great, they really went out of their way to help us out and gave us great advice about tours. We got a free pickup from the airport which was so handy and they gave free lifts into the town centre at certain times of the day. Also there are no bunkbeds in this hostel which is just brilliant, finally I didnt bang my head on the bunk getting up in the morning. Beds were also really comfy. Also the free cheese and wine nights were great to have a drink and a chat with other travellers. Overall fantastic place to stay. Keep it up guys!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smilygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2010

Best hostel in Oz.. Really clean and a pleasure to stay in! Staff are really friendly and helpful. A 10-15 walk from the city centre but they provide bus drop offs and pick ups through out the day so its not an issue really. free meals and internet too!
Great value!
Keep up the good work Castaways!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjacksonU_s_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
601 reviews
0.1 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
0.2 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
1.1 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
0.3 mi away
Njoy Travellers Resort
Njoy Travellers Resort
#11 of 84 in Cairns
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaways Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Backpackers

Address: 207 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: $23 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Castaways Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Castaways Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing