We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castaways Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
$244
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$155
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hilton Cairns(Cairns)
$130
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$187
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mantra Esplanade Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$122
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cairns Plaza Hotel(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$93
$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$123
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reef Palms(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$107
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveler rating
184
64
21
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
64
21
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree wififree pizzamovie roombungee jumpinghostel offersfree pool tabledouble roomsecond homenice kitchenenjoy your staymin walkbooking toursthe east coastclean roomsfree tea and coffeehome away from homestayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
249 - 254 of 280 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2010

Castaway's Backpackers is a nice family owned hostel in Cairns. the staff is very friendly and helpful. My single room was quite big for one person - it contained a single bed, an overhead fan (very useful!), a coin operated aircon (which I never used), a small fridge (also very useful), a shelf, a desk and a plastic chair.
The room, the bed sheets and the showers were always clean - no bedbugs etc...
It took me about 20 - 30 minutes to walk from the hostel to the city centre but there are also buses.
I liked that it isn't one of those noisy party hostels!
Another plus: they pick you up from the airport for free!
There is also a small pool - but it's a very very small pool!
->summing up:
+clean
+quiet but not too quiet
+friendly stuff
+free pick up service
+city centre in walking distance

- very very slow internet computers (you can go on the internet for free but it takes ages to load a site, so I preferred to pay for an internet cafe with fast internet!)

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vw888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

Stayed here for several days and felt very comfortable and at home! Quiet and nice. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Kitchen and bathrooms clean. Airport pickup, bus service to/from town, though 15 min walk are not that far away. I really enjoyed my stay there and will stay here again whenever back in Cairns!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wobbegong05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

3 of us stayed for a total of 3 nights with one night away after the 2nd night, and booked a triple room. We were promised a triple room. However on the final night (after we'd been away for the night) we were told there was no guarantee of a triple room. We were a bit annoyed, but in the end we ended up with a triple room. It was clean, with a fridge, 3 single beds. The kitchen was clean as were the bathrooms. The staff were fairly helpful. It was a good half an hour walk into the centre of cairns though, but did offer a free meal at the woolshed pub in town, with a free shuttle bus to and from. Overall we were fairly satisfied with the hostel, just disappointed with the city itself.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suddabmp01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2009

First, the positives...
1. It's clean.
2. They provide a ride from the airport. And they provide occasional lifts into town.
3. It has a nice open kitchen, and several bathrooms in the main unit.
4. It's quiet.

Now, the negatives.
1. Not enough working bicycles. I wouldn't have stayed this far out of town, but not for the promise of free bicycles. Yet, when we arrived, they only had one working bike... and it was in horrible shape. I'm not sure I would have used it even if I had the opportunity. They need to either fix the bikes or stop advertising them on their site.
2. It's WAY out of town. It's a good hike into town. Next time, I'd choose a place closer to the restaurants.
3. The staff was fairly pleasant... but they screwed up our reservations. After booking a certain tour, we were entitled to a "free night's stay." They refused to give us this "free night" before our tour. After we returned, they had screwed up the reservation and thus had no room for us. UGHH!
4. The internet is SLOW! If the two available computers were any slower they'd be going backwards.
5. The pool is a tad bigger than a bathtub.
6. It's not very close to many restaurants. (though there is a small grocery store nearby.)

All in all, this place could be much better, but for the price we paid, it didn't come close to meeting our expectations. We'll go elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samoamurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

We like this place. It was quite and well kept. We got a double bedroom with fridge, tv, and bathroom for $70 AU a night. It was clean. It was a little far from the center of town, but they have a free shuttle that can take you around and they have free pickup from the airport. They also have free internet.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sampsonchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews