We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip of my life”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castaways Backpackers
Ranked #15 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Hello there, that's Neil from Norwich ere. Ruddy lovely little hostel this is! Stayed ere for roughly 3 weeks! The staff were tremendous and them rooms were bloody bootiful! As for that shuttle, I avent seen nothing like it! If you like a chilled out hostel with a great vibe then I suggest you come see these! Let's be Avin ya!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 279 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Spent just over 2 weeks here.. Nice friendly little hostel where all the staff were fantastic and very welcoming. Free shuttle was a nice touch and they did their best to find us the cheapest rates with trips and rental cars. Hoping to come back again sometime later this year!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank chris22safc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I spent almost a week at Castaways and had a great time there. Staff was very friendly and helpful (btw thank you Callum for throwing in my postcards - they all made it to Germany :-)), rooms, bathroom, kitchen etc. were always very clean. Plus: no bunkbeds!!! Unfortunately the location is a bit of a walk from downtown (20 min to Esplanade) but the frequent free shuttle rides makes it a non issue. All in all I had a wonderful time and would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LinchenM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I spent nearly two weeks in this hostel and it was by far the best time I ever had in Australia. The staff are so friendly and helpful, the hostel is always clean, the rooms with real beds, a really nice atmosphere... Everything you need !

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Had an excellent experience at Castaways in Cairns this past May! I traveled here with a group of students and found the accommodations to be extremely comfortable during our stay. We were able to book 2 spacious rooms. The location is a bit of a walk from downtown, but that allows for a better chance for exploring more of Cairns than what the noisy esplanade has to offer. My only chief complaint is a lack of outlets in the rooms. Even so, the staff were out of this world and extremely helpful, patient, and knowledgeable. They felt more like friends then folks working at a hostel. I would recommend Castaways to anyone visiting this special corner of Queensland!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mei H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Castaways backpackers is a great hostel to stay at weather your looking for a good time or for some peace and relaxation. The staff are welcoming and very friendly. They also have an abundance of knowledge about the trips they have on offer ranging from the dives on the reef to the rainforest tours, plus they will always try and get you the best price. The communal facilities and rooms where very clean and tidy. The hostel isn't bang in the middle of the city centre but the frequent free shuttle rides makes it a non issue. You ask for nothing more from a hostel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

What a great, small, friendly hostel! Our stay in cairns got extended due to the cyclone but castaways did everything possible to make our stay great, from poker nights to pool partys!
The staff are really friendly and make you welcome!
Would defo recomend this hostel to anyone traveling to cairns!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
609 reviews
0.2 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
0.1 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
1.1 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
0.5 mi away
Caravella Backpackers
Caravella Backpackers
#8 of 82 in Cairns
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaways Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Backpackers

Address: 207 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: $17 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Castaways Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Castaways Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing