We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hostel with a familiar atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castaways Backpackers
Ranked #16 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I was really content and had a wonderful stay at castaways. This hostel isn't located in the center but this is worth it! The crew was really lovely and careful . The rooms were good as well: more colourful than other hostels and, which is the most important thing: it was clear!!
The bathrooms as well,they underlined the good atmosphere.
You can walk into the center and there are also shuttlebusses. All in all thank you to the castaways crew for giving me a nice home while staying on cairns.
Cheers

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neli_auf_Reisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 279 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

Basic backpackers accommodation, without being loud or scuzzy. We were out all day everyday so did not want to spend a lot on someplace to rest our head. Castaways fit the bill perfectly.

Super friendly staff who drove us in and out of town when necessary, and recommended/booked trips based on what we were looking for. The little fridge in the room was a nice touch, and even contained 2 XXXX's upon arrival!

Would have liked the option of a private bathroom for extra cost but oh well, if they don't have it I'm happy to share and pay less.

Know what you're getting (hint: not luxury) and Castaways is a.o.k.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank wise_rita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Arrived in Cairns and had a booking at another crowded hostel. Switched to Castaways the next night, and so glad I did !

Great staff, Ash, Charlie, and Sam, were always available when needed. Helped me book a trip to the Great barrier Reef and Skydive, and they gave me very helpful advice.

Hostel was extremely clean and the bed very comfortable. This Hostel seemed to do all the little, important things, right. I plan to return to Cairns one day and will definitely stay here again. Chris D

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christopher d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

You get to sleep in actual beds and not bunks which is amazing, hostel is very clean, staff are quite friendly, lots of activities you can book with them, but a very quiet hostel, good if you want sleep but not so much if you want a lively atmosphere. Free shuttle bus that takes you to town and free very basic meals ( that do not cost much at all to upgrade your meal) which is brilliant. Overall, enjoyed the stay a lot just wish it had more of a lively atmosphere.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Anjalee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is the best hostel in Cairns to stay! I stay on this hostel with my girlfriend from May - July. We both was here on a Working Holiday Visa, and we was looking for a hostel that is quit and not like a party hostel. Which this hostel was perfect to stay on. All people is nice, friendly manager, staff and the hole hostel is beautiful and clean. Cleaning every day!

I would more call this Hostel for a Motel/Hotel or clean share house. I can't even complain at any single thing.

So if you going to stay in Cairns with a partner, friend or a single person, the only place I can recommend is Castaways Backpackers! You will not be disappointed =)

Thanks for giving us the best time in Cairns!
Alexander

Room Tip: All rooms is really nice! You will get happy with any room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandersweden342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hostel 3 nights.

Positive:
Rooms are basic and ok. The hostel is clean. Facilities are great: huge kitchen, home cinema place to relax and watch movies. Free shuttle to city center.

Negative:
Can be really noisy during the night with the other backpackers partying outside. We had to call someone of the staff at 2 am to ask backpackers to stop their party.
Far from center. 30 min walk.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snaessens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hostel is located a 15 minute walk from town. The rooms are clean and simple, they each have a bar fridge inside. The people at reception (Ash and Matt) are friendly and super helpful and are able to book tours and reef trips which is handy.

Room Tip: There are no bunk beds so you don't have to worry about bumping your head anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shark432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.1 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
0.2 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
0.1 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
0.5 mi away
Caravella Backpackers
Caravella Backpackers
#7 of 83 in Cairns
499 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaways Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Backpackers

Address: 207 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: $30 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Castaways Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Castaways Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing