We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best place to stay in Cairns!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castaway's Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castaway's Backpackers
Ranked #16 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Simply the best place to stay in Cairns!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

A wonderful family run hostel in tropical Cairns. We extended our stay time and time again here and did not want to leave! Everything is spotlessly clean and the staff are super friendly and helpful. All the rooms are spacious and the dorms have no bunk beds which is a huge plus. It's a ten minute easy walk to town and there is also a shuttle bus throughout the day.

A gem - don't miss out!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    62
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
6
78
83
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Spent 8 days in this hostel while doing all of our trips in Cairns. Could not have asked for anymore. Free wifi is such a nice change to other hostels, and the free shuttles were reallly convenient.
The kitchens and bathrooms were all really clean and well stocked and the staff helped us out every way possible, even inviting us out for meals and drinks with them.
No problems sleeping and the dollar aircon is worth it in the summer heat!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Excellent value for reasonably quiet private room here after adjusting to its location on busy road. Great place to come back and forth after excursions to reef, rainforest etc. Friendly staff works to make you happy. Booked excursions with pickup at motel and even borrowed snorkel gear and towels. Decent wifi. Fed the coin-operated AC in the room all night but it did the trick. 20-min walk to/from town unless you catch their occasional shuttle. Swimming pool is tiny, really just for a dunk from heat. Good clean kitchen with nice deck. Great atmosphere for backpackers and adventurers.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moosetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
84 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Nice and quiet hostel. It's a bit of a jungle to find proper accomodation in Cairns, and if you have to stay in the town (Go to Port Douglas if you can), then Castaway's is a decent pick.
Clean, quiet, friendly. Kitchen area is large and spacious and a nice porch to sit and eat your breakfast on.
We had a double room and in comparison to many other hostel double rooms, this one rated well above average.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Farcin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in a ground-level room just off the parking lot. At $55 a night, the room was acceptable though the mattress had evil bed springs that sometimes dug in your back and the air conditioning was coin-operated ($1 for three hours -- only one coin at a time). The bathrooms were spotless every morning and the staff was friendly and provided a free shuttle bus to and from town (a 20-minute walk on Sheridan Street). There is free Wifi but the signal isn't great. My only real complaint is with the obnoxiously loud guests who hung out on the balcony every night and blasted the shared TV. There were quite a few party-minded college kids when we were there and they seemed to always be making noise. Not a relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CompassWhistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angusthescot
Level Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed in this hostel for 7 nights in a double room.The rooms are excellent and come with a fridge and plenty of storage space.
The hostel has adequate kitchen facilities,tele room,balcony,free wifi,washing facilities,shower facilities etc.
They also have a travel agency on site.

It is about a 10 minute walk out of town but they do have a free mini bus to shuttle people about.

The staff are fantastic.Chris and Laura who run it are both travellers.They run a excellent hostel and are a great help in arranging and reccomending trips to go on.

This is not a party hostel but is ideal for those after a quieter stay.Even though there are plenty of social nights plannedA weekly in house quiz.Also the hostel provide free food vouchers for the woolshed in town which can be upgraded for a small fee for abetter meal.

Defo stay here again and "TO BE FAIR" you'd struggle to stay at a better hostel.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angusthescot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for our 5 days in Cairns and were very happy. The staff know the area and can provide great advice and help with getting the most out of your stay.
We had a hire car and they were very happy for us to park it on site (when a space was available) without any extra charge.
The room and the bathrooms were clean and tidy, the kitchen is new and kept clean and the little fridges in each room were fantastic. The veranda is a nice place to sit, but closes at 10pm so the hostel is quiet when you're wanting to sleep.
There were trivia and pub nights while we were there and everyone was very inviting of us.
Overall very happy with the friendly staff and good facilities.

Room Tip: Rooms off the kitchen/tv area may be noisier, but not too bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
1.0 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
0.8 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
0.1 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway's Backpackers

Property: Castaway's Backpackers
Address: 207 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Castaway's Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Castaway's Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing