We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Caravella Backpackers
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveler rating
147
245
93
18
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
245
93
18
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate roomair confree wififree shuttle from the airportswimming poolcommunal areasown bathroomwe stayed in a double roomminute walklaundry facilitiessmall fridgebars and restaurantsnice poolfantastic hostelkitchen areaceiling fanrecommend staying here
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
225 - 230 of 511 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I stayed here in a private room for 5 nights. The room was nice & spacious with really good air conditioning. Bathroom wasn't far away & I never had to wait for the toilet or a shower. Some advertising materials & reviews mention free breakfast & evening meal but this is no longer offered. They do give you a voucher each day though for a meal & a drink at a nearby pub for $6.50 - this is a really good deal as the food is delicious. There is always a massive queue though as a lot of hostels have this deal. Location is good - only a 5-10 minute walk down the esplanade to the main area & lagoon. There isn't a big supermarket very close by, it's about a 15 minute walk. There are 2 kitchens which are really big with all the basics you need. Wifi near the kitchen area is good. Pool is nice and clean. The owner is a really nice guy - he even stopped us & asked if we were happy with everything. I would definitely recommend

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I stayed a couple of nights in the privat room. Very pleasant atmosphere. Free wifi around the kitchen which is also a good spot to meet people. Good kitchen faciliteit and I loved the garden, very nice. Staff is very friendly and helpfull. Will definitely go back there next time I visit Cairns.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Had a wonderful time in this place. We stayed as a couple in a private room. Great facilities, helpful staff, clean and organised.
We could rent a go pro camera through the help of the staff, which is definitely a plus.
Great location, a short walk to everything you need....
Owner is very friendly and on top of everything which makes you feel comfortable.
Definitely recommend it.
Only thing that can be improved in the private room could be the isolation of the toilet from the room, a better wall system possibly =))

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L2D2-FOODLOVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We had such a nice time at Caravella's. The atmosphere is really good, it's a social hostel and plenty of backpackers who enjoy the nightlife of Cairns, but because of the curfew everyone can get the amount of sleep they want.
2 kitchens is very handy and there is plenty of space for everyone to cook.
Free pooltable, swimming pool and free internet! (Not really skype-internet but you can buy global gossip for that)
Staff is very friendly and have an answer to all your questions.


All in all great hostel and would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Fab little hostel feels like a proper hotel compared to most hostels I've stayed. Plug sockets everywhere, lovely swimming pools and very spacious rooms with good air con! Staff were friendly and 10 min walk to all shops/bars. Very happy with my choice!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Grace R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews