We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caravella Backpackers
Ranked #8 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Welcoming and comfortable.”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We found the hostel to be really welcoming, the staff and owner were very friendly and went out of the way to help with any little issues we had.

We stayed in a double room, it was basic but the air-con was good (if a little noisy) and had the great addition of a personal fridge in our room, meaning we could stock up on food and drinks easily. The room and bathrooms were very clean and the pool was great too. They also have a good deal for half price food at PJ O'briens pub, which we made use of more than one night.

The only negative might be the kitchen facilities, plenty of plates, cups saucepans etc but the tea-towels were very dirty by evening and the dish washing sponge had seen better days and should really have been changed daily!

All in all a great place and we had a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claribunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    234
    86
    16
    8
See reviews for
13
182
115
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a double room here for three nights. nice clean hostel , room had nice clean bathroom and comfortable double bed and fridge and single bed. Only minor issue was noise of aircon. Kitchens well kept. Generally had a nice atmosphere. Another couple had a twin room and shared bathroom again very clean neat. Less than 10minutes from main area and lagoon. We walked everywhere. Owner was lovely and very interested in our impression of the place. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. Nice hostel with okay rooms. There is free wifi and a free pool table. Right on the esplanada and only a short walk to the main street or the lagoon. And you've a free meal everynight at Woolshed.

Only downside are the ants, that where everywhere

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Backpacker1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mougins, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed at the caravella for 4 night. The 1st room we had was weird, the wall was missing a bit so we could hear everything from the next room :/
Then we had a better room.
In both, the fan was very noisy and the AC hardly helping.
The staff was very helpful. They made a mistake with our shuttle booking but were very cool at sorting it out and in the end, it was all good.
It's a bit far from the center, especially as it rains quite often...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adelaide L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agnes Water, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We had actually booked a 5 bed dorm but got a 4. The AC is free and super nice in such a hot season. Wifi is free but only works til 6 after that you have to go to the lagoon which is only an 8 minute walk or so. We had such a good time here we actually ended up staying 9 days. Sofie was amazing and helped us book the best tours. All in all, this is the place to stay at!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happiiponi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Right after I booked my room at the hostel, I got a personal e-mail asking about my arrival. When I told I'd arrive late nigth (11pm), I was instantly provided with a late night check-in procedure, the code to enter the hostel, map to the reception, key and room. Also, a free shuttle service from the hostel was organized. The room and bathroom were very clean, towels were provided, there even was a fridge in the single room. The kitchen was well equipped and also clean. The staff was extremely helpful and informative. They booked 3 tours for me, all was fine. The location of the hostel is a bit off the main party area, which was one of the reasons why I chose it. Nevertheless, you're still within a short walking distance to restaurants, bars and shops. I really enjoyed my stay there, was maybe one of the best hostels on my Australia holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mika_1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimanalo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

We arrived early in the morning and were told the room was not ready and to return later. We can back at 2pm and were checked in with our keys. When we got to the room it was obvious it had yet not been cleaned. After explaining this to reception, they responded with "the girls will get to it soon". I understand that it might not have been ready because of the official check in time was 3pm, but I wish they had not let us go into a dirty space. It was not a good first impression. Once in, the AC unit did not work and there is a standing fan that had been placed on the ceiling. It was not enough to keep the room cool. The bed was comfortable enough, the bathrooms were kept very clean. There is a huge pool and lots of outdoor seating. If the hostel wasn't a ten minute walk from town and had AC, we might have been more inclined to stay there longer than one night as it was a good price.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maitizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.0 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,080 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.2 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravella Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravella Backpackers

Property: Caravella Backpackers
Address: 149 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Caravella Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Caravella Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravella Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing