We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good backpackers with friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Caravella Backpackers
Ranked #7 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good backpackers with friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed 4 nights in their private room with shared bathroom. The room is reasonably sized and there is a fridge and air-conditioning. There is also a pool, large kitchen/dining area, laundry, pool table although I never used them. Good value for money.

The thing I'm most satisfied with is their staff. They're all very friendly and helpful. They helped me booked all of my tours. Additionally, I got 10% discount on the tours and that saved me quite a bit of money. They also assisted with hiring an underwater camera for my reef trip. The camera guy delivered both the camera and then the DVD to the backpackers.

Will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    227
    84
    15
    8
See reviews for
13
176
114
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nantes, France
Level Contributor
154 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Actually this place has got everything we need as backpacker...

The only wrong point I can talk about is that They advertise on a free dinner but it´s actually not free (need to buy at least a 2,5 dollars soft drink) and it´s not a diner but more an appetizer. I would eat 3 like this one to feel full and I am not a big eater :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabien M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We have stayed in en suite for 6 nights at the hotels and were very happy with the stay. The room was really large, it had a fridge, air conditioning. Also, we were lucky as we got kind of private yard, no one could come or see us, so it was a nice place to read the book in early mornings or have our breakfast, lunch. The hostel is located 10 min walk to town to all the bars and restaurants, away from all the noise. They also picked us up at the airport when we arrived.
The staff was very nice and gave all the info we were looking for. Did not use that much of a kitchen or other facilities.
The only con was the cleanliness. When we first entered the room it did not look that it has been cleaned, accept that sheets were changed.
However, in general we were very happy with our stay and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goshke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights whilst in Cairns and were generally very happy with our stay. The private room was modern, clean and large and came with air-conditioning, a ceiling fan and a fridge, which was brilliant value for money. The bathrooms whilst clean were not brilliantly thought out...for instance, in a shared bathroom you would need space to hang your clothes in the shower to change into or at least somewhere to put your shower gel! The pool was nice and there are a couple of a large kitchens as well as laundry facilities, meaning that really, this hostel has absolutely everything you can need. We were particularly impressed with the brilliant service on the reception regarding tour bookings. We booked a day-trip to the Great Barrier Reef, but they also offered bookings for the Daintree Rainforest, Port Douglas, skydives and bungees and even ventured as far down as trips to the Whitsundays. There is a cafe on the premises that serves a great mix of hot drinks, breakfast and both Indonesian and Australian food at a very reasonable price. As for location, Caravella is well situated on the Esplanade, and it is only a 5/10-minute walk to access all of the shops, supermarkets and bars as well as the swimming lagoon and harbour. All in all, we were very impressed with our stay in Cairns and would definitely recommend it to others.

Room Tip: From what we saw, it is worth the money to upgrade from a dorm to a private room as the price differ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Hostel Location: Really good. A couple of minutes from the waterfront, 5mins to the restaurants, 10mins from The Lagoon and 15mins from Cairns Central Shopping Centre.

Postives:
+ Rooms have air-con and a fridge.
+ Onsite swimming pool (But make sure you visit The Lagoon too).
+ Large communal areas.
+ Lots of advice for trip bookings.
+ It's location.
+ Free meals at The Woolshed (You must buy a AUD$2.50 drink and these meals are what you'd expect for the price!)

Negatives:
- The biggest drawback is the number of younger guests staying that, despite the signs, don't wash up after themselves and leave sinks and sides full of dirty plates, cutlery, pans etc or leave everything drip drying in huge piles.
- The wifi and internet access is the very expensive Global Gossip.
- The kitchen is pretty sparse on utensils.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liver_Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We'd booked nearly 10 days at Caravella, so naturally we were worried that it might not be good...from the moment we arrived, Caravella was so homely and friendly.

We were upgraded from a six bed dorm to a twin room, for our entire stay! This is the type of hostel that literally does everything it can to make its guests at home. The owner is a lovely man who walks around the hostel often, chatting and joking with the guests. The reception staff are just as friendly and helpful.

Facilities are good. Two big kitchens, a pool and laundry. The toilets weren't the best, as the showers had just a curtain...but they were kept very clean. There's toilet and shower facilities dotted around the hostel by the different blocks, so the showers are rarely busy. The only downfall of Caravella is the price of the wifi. $40 for a week is just too much for backpackers. We had to walk up to Peterpan's everyday to use their wifi for free. If they made it $10 many more people would buy it, and the hostel would probably make more money. The hostel gives out free meal tickets at the Woolshed every night. You have to buy a drink for £2.50 to get the free meal, ask for it without ice, or you don't get much coke. The meals are vegetarian pasta, chilli and bolognese, quite bland, but it's a meal you don't have to cook! The meal upgrades were very good, steak for $7, fish and chips for $5.

The location of the hostel was very good. Most of the other hostels are quite a walk from the centre of Cairns. Being on the Esplanade at Caravella it's a really pleasant walk into the centre, past all the lovely restaurants and the lagoon. It's just 15 minutes from the airport, the hostel can arrange a cheap shuttle bus for you.

Overall great stay at Caravella, would definitely stay again and would definitely recommend! We loved Caravella!

Room Tip: Each of the rooms has it's own fridge!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this hostel in December and we thought it was great. We wanted a private room with en-suite and ended up paying for a 3 bed room for the two of us but it meant we had some extra space. I liked the decent sized fridge in the room so you could keep your food safe and drinks cold. The kitchens were a bit sparsely stocked of cooking utensils but we managed. Communal areas were well used and had a curfew which was good so there was no late night partying outside your bedroom door. The laundry facilities were good. The best thing about this hostel was the staff. I received a few emails before we arrived advising on transfers from the airport and they went above and beyond during our stay. They booked a trip for us and helped with booking return airport transfers. Nothing was too much trouble. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.0 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.2 mi away
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravella Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravella Backpackers

Property: Caravella Backpackers
Address: 149 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Caravella Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Caravella Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravella Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing