We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best backpacker ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Ranked #9 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“best backpacker ever”
Reviewed November 17, 2010

the first night we got a room just in front of the bar, the music didn't stop before 1 :00am and the people laughed and yelled all night long so the next morning but we asked at the reception for a quieter room and they nicely gave us THE perfect room: large and comfy bed, plenty of light, so peaceful and just next door to the bar and the bathroom, clean....for only 45$/night for 2.
just one last advice: Cairns is full of great bars and place to go party don't stay at the zanzibar (the hostel's bar) which is kinda lame.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank croissantcafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    113
    50
    14
    10
See reviews for
3
80
103
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2010

On arriving very late here the bar was closed at 12pm so the atmosphere was quiet. The next morning the reggae style jungle theme area was filled with part style people and groups of guys out on party/stag weekends. The Ibiza style hostel has a kitchen area for guest to cook something.

The staff.
The backpacking, holiday working politeness gave us no problem (or) nothing special, However 24 guard service.

Hostel rules.
No alcohol allowed in (but) you can buy it from the in house bar.
Reception closes and the side gate with code must be used.

The pool is not the cleanest but ok for drunken guests. washing and drying machine at a cool 3 bucks each. Vending machine available 24/7. Air con in my double private room with fan , no tv, clean tidy and bug free. linen included.

Free 1 hour shuttle bus into town with a wait if the 7 seater is full. (again the backpacker crazy driver) seat belts on!

Their is a small gap above the shower room toilet and WC which means when people walk up the stairs they get a good glance.

I would recommend week day stay and 2 night at most.

Other items
Internet at $4 per hour (cheaper in town)
Happy hour - $3.50 (ok for 1)
Quiz night (Thur win a bar tab)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillTravelMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Me and my travel partner, who are used to staying in YHA's across Australia were rather disappointed with this place. although cheaper, you get what you pay for. few amenities, unclean. They have a very convenient shuttle which brings you into town and picks you up every half hour but don't be fooled. We were taken into town and never picked up. we ended up waiting for a long time and then walking back to the hostel. It is not close to any good shopping or grocery stores We were planning to stay more than one night but soon changed our mind

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0rdanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Place is full of character!! Awesome staff - always willing to help and also great for solo traveller have met the most amazing peeps at this plc as they do activities at nite but also stops at decent hour :) didn't want to leave this place as they make you feel right at home.thanks and will def recommend this to all my clients (I was an agent staying their)

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorie_Raymundo_TC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

excellent value
very helpful and friendly staff w. lots of travel tips
great food and cheap
only complaint was v loud dj music EVERY night - same songs, played, too!
otherwise, v good

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstmarshmallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2010

We stayed in this hostel for 7 days. It was one of the best hostels we stayed in while travelling. The Hostel has a really nice atmosphere, a good tourbookingsdesk with friendly staff. They have a nice swimmingpool and a bar with 8 dollar jugs of beer! The music stops at 11 pm and after that its really quiet every night. The rooms are clean and look nice. The only bad point of this hostel was the location (20 min walk to centre) but they have a shuttle bus that drives every half hour! (and the kitchen could be some better).

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judithjahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2010

This hostel has a really sociable and freindly atmosphere. Although I wasn't travelling alone, I would recommend this hostel to people travelling alone because there's always something happening every night and the staff will make you feel welcome and help you with anything. This was the first place my husband and I stayed when we arrived in Oz and they helped us with everything like tax file numbers, bank accounts, job advice, trips etc There are hostels that are in the town centre, but don't be put off because there is a bus every half hour to and from the hostel for free. If you're looking for something really quiet then I wouldn't recommend, but believe me, there are much louder hostels.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferAnneLockyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
1.0 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
0.9 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
0.9 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort

Property: Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Address: 5 - 9 Digger St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s a tropical paradise mon! Come soak up the chilled global vibe at Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort, Cairns’ coolest crashpad. Any more relaxed we’d be horizontal! Swaying palms, smooth tunes and swinging hammocks, that’s the Calypso way. Chill poolside with new friends in the Queensland sunshine by day then check out free nightly entertainment at Zanzibar Bar & Grill, our friendly hostel pub. When the taste buds bite, enjoy a pool-side breakfast or Aussie BBQ dinner at Zanzibar, or whip up your own masterpiece in our great communal kitchen. The Calypso crew are here for you and we know our stuff. Between us all there’s over 65 years of hostel and travel know-how so you’re in expert hands from the moment you arrive. We go the extra mile to make you smile, with a free tour booking service, free return transfers to the airport, bus station and central Cairns and WiFi now available in all rooms. Come catch some Calypso chill vibe when you pass through Cairns! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calypso Inn Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing