We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to start in Oz”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Ranked #6 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2009

The Calypso Inn was the first place my girlfriend and I stayed in when we arrived in Australia. The hostel had a mixed bunch of reviews but I am pleased to say we had a good time whilst staying there.

The hostel staff were always friendly and helpful during our stay, arranging a free airport pick up on arrival, and booking us onto a great barrier reef tour (Ocean Free). They also refunded our first night as we had been delayed in Singapore by 24hours so didnt arrive in Cairns till the a day later than planned.

The hostel itself is a fun place with a big communal area where there is a pool, bar/restaurant, games room and the hostel puts on a different event each night such as live bands, karaoke, and pub quizzes. We stayed in a private room which was just big enough to contain the double bed but its all we needed so no complaints there. The communal washing areas are big and reasonably clean. The location of the hostel isnt the best but there is a very frequent hostel shuttle bus to and from the town centre meaning you shouldnt ever have any worries getting about Cairns.

Cairns itself wasnt as great as I was expecting, but the lagoon was a great way to spend some time, and to be honest it was all about the barrier reef for us! All in all we spent a great couple of days here and the Calypso Inn is great place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TBakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
There are newer reviews for Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 346 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2009

We had an awesome stay at Calypso. It was the first hostel we stayed in when we arrived in australia and was a nice suprise as we had heard some bad things about hostels in Oz. We stayed in a dorm by the pool and though it was basic, it was clean and spacious. There is a nice pool and though there isnt much room for sunbathing, it was really good not to have to go all the way down to the centre of cairns for a swim to cool off.

The staff are lovely and always willing to help with anything you need! The reception area has sofas for chilling out and also loads of computers with global gossip internet so we didnt have to wait around to use the internet. They bar and pool area was great and the food was really nice and for a good price. Loved the pool competition!

The hostel is situated a bit out of town but they have a regular bus service going into the centre and also do free pick up and drop offs to the airport. If you do feel like walking down or back after a night out it is only about a 10 minute.

All in all we had a lovely time and would definately stay in Calypso again!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cg111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2009

we stayed here for 2 weeks and it was extremely hot and humid in November. The air conditioning didnt work very well and was vey noisy so it wasnt great, rooms were small but big enough for your bags and you to get in. Was cheap and offer a great free shuttle into the town and to and from the airport which is really handy. The showers wernt great but ok, food was good and there was planty fresh fruit on offer when we were there. Lots of computers to use internet which is great and loads of activities on offer.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo908jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

From the minute we checked in we were made to feel at home. The staff are super friendly and know EVERYTHING about Cairns! They had a party whilst we were there with DJ's and live music which was awesome - great atmosphere but it finished by around midnight so we weren't kept up all night.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieMay19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

After staying in some hell holes in Australia I wasnt expecting much from Calypso. However the staff were very friendly from the start- picking us up from our campervan rental place. The hostel has a very laid back feel and is decorated in funky colours, I loved the paintings on the walls. When I wanted to book a scuba diving trip the staff were very helpful and I ended up haveing a great time! The food is also really cheap and I loved the bbq nights! They also have a kitchen upstairs if you wish to use that. There is also a pool to use, which is a must in the summer heat of Cairns! The only problem I had with the hostel was that the smoking are was around the pool. As a non-smoker myself I hated having to leave my towel there and then it stinking of cigarettes when I got out the pool. I stayed in both a dorm and a private room and both were very clean and comfortable. In the dorm the bunk beds were clean and new there was also plenty of electric sockets! The private room was beautiful, we even had our own little seating area outside, it also had air-con. The toilets and showers are also very clean.
The hostel also has a bus running into town evey 2 hour or so which was handy, although the town is only about a 20 minute walk away, they also took us to the airport!
Overall a great experience, if you're going to Cairns stay at Calypso!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissLoreleiLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2009

We spent four nights here and found it to be exactly what we were looking for.

Yes, it is a youth hostel. Yes, there are lots of "young & lively" people staying here. And yes, if you go with an open mind and a sense of fun you WILL have a great time.

The property is great value (something like £10 a bed a night in a dorm room) and the staff extremely friendly. Food and drink here was well priced and seemed very good. We paid extra for a private room - with shared bathrooms - which I think was a good idea, however, many people enjoyed their stay in the shared rooms.

The location is good and you all the sights of Cairns are readily available in a short (10 to 15 minute) walk.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KennyM83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2009

This place is simply AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!
It's a little slice or paradise away from home. I wish i could have stayed here much much longer!!!!!
The staff are so friendly, you feel like you've known them for years!!!! Thanks so much Vee and Buds. You helped make my trip so memorable!!!!!
The advice is great both on tours and about nightlife from Nate and Margo!!!!!
The rooms are cosy and thankfully A/C!!!!
The bar and restaurant there are superb, food is scrummy and they have 2 happy hours!!!
There is also always something going on!!!
I miss you all dearly!!!!
Thanks so much!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Nateie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
601 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
1.0 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
0.9 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
1.2 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort

Address: 5 - 9 Digger St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: $33 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s a tropical paradise mon! Come soak up the chilled global vibe at Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort, Cairns’ coolest crashpad. Any more relaxed we’d be horizontal! Swaying palms, smooth tunes and swinging hammocks, that’s the Calypso way. Chill poolside with new friends in the Queensland sunshine by day then check out free nightly entertainment at Zanzibar Bar & Grill, our friendly hostel pub. When the taste buds bite, enjoy a pool-side breakfast or Aussie BBQ dinner at Zanzibar, or whip up your own masterpiece in our great communal kitchen. The Calypso crew are here for you and we know our stuff. Between us all there’s over 65 years of hostel and travel know-how so you’re in expert hands from the moment you arrive. We go the extra mile to make you smile, with a free tour booking service, free return transfers to the airport, bus station and central Cairns and WiFi now available in all rooms. Come catch some Calypso chill vibe when you pass through Cairns! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calypso Inn Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing