We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Ranked #7 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Resort”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Had a great time at Calypso. staff and managers were very friendly. They had great events on each night of the week. was all clean, and priced very well. the free airport shuttle bus was the cherry on top.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad F, Manager at Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Hi John b,

Thank you for your review. It seems you had a great time here which is what we try to achieve!

I shall pass on the good news to all the staff.

Hope to see you again.

The Calypso Crew...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    116
    50
    14
    10
See reviews for
3
82
108
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

We originally booked for 3 nights a private room but ended up staying over a week. The accommodation is very reasonably priced. Bathrooms and showers were perfect.Clean and tidy. Staff were very friendly. Free shuttle bus to and from town was great . Also a free bus to the airport which many other hostels dont offer.A really laid back place, cheap drinks and clean. Can't ask for too much more than that :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorrs85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad F, Manager at Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Hi Lorrs85,

Thankyou for your review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay !! We find a lot of people book for a short time and then extend as they have so much fun here.

It is good to hear that everything was clean and tidy for you. I shall pass on the news to our cleaning staff.

All the best

The Calypso Crew...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed here for the best part of a week and was sad to leave. There was a courtesy bus pick up from the airport on arrival and the “courtesy” lifts continued all week! The bus runs into town once every hour collecting and dropping off but the staff also gave me lifts to interviews in the town.

Dave, one of the staff, was able to help me look for work using his knowledge and contacts and Vee was amazing with her knowledge of other accommodation and tours etc.

The showers and toilets were probably the worst at that point in my travels as so many people were using them constantly but the pros far outway this.

The bar had two happy hours per day but drinks were reasonably priced anyway for backpackers. If you did’nt want to leave the hostel you can wile away the days there by the pool or using the internet. NOTE – If you have your own computer you may be able to log onto the Netgear system without buying access. I did this all week!!

The staff make this a very hard place to leave!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerriCasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad F, Manager at Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Hi Terri,

Thank you for your review!!

We are glad you were able to utilize our shuttle service. It is a nice walk down the Esplanade into town but everybody loves the bus!

As you said, toilets and showers are used by a lot of people but we do have staff in them twice daily, and they do their best to keep them up to standard.

I am glad I could help with you looking for work and that you had a good time here at Calypso.

We hope you can make it back to stay with us again !

All the best,

Dave & The Calypso Crew...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aruba
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hostel is the worst ever!! It ruined our whole stay in Cairns!! The bathrooms over floated with poop all over. Then u had to use 3 showers for the whole building on the other side. The bathrooms were disgusting!! The kitchen upstairs had cockroaches walking on the counters! The staff was okay. Only angela was great but at night the guy was to busy smoking and drinking to help us with something! The girl was to busy on facebook to help us work the oven. Just crappy. Its a bit further from the town. I wont recommend this hostel to anyone! There are nicer hostels more near town.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad F, Owner at Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hi,

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Calypso. We had a major problem with the underground sewerage while you were here and unfortunately it was a problem that could not be fixed until Monday. I apologise for the unsatisfactory conditions and that more was not done to make your stay here better.
We have permanent cleaners in order to keep our bathrooms to the highest standards so we are sorry to hear that they were not clean.
I am sorry about the staff who were not very helpful to you and I can assure you this will not be happening again as we usually get good feedback about our staff. This is not acceptable and the staff in question have been spoken too and reprimanded.
We are a bit further from town than some hostels which is why we have a free shuttle bus to and from town approximately every hour.
I hope you are enjoying the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed here on the first destination in our east coast trip. Chose to stay in a double room, room was immaculate, right by the pool so was noisey during the night at times but didn't bother us! Staff were all very friendly and willing to help at all times. Would highly reccomend this hostel to other travelers!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Victoriarhalliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad F, Manager at Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Hi Victoria,

It is great to hear that we could provide you with a good first experience for your trip down the East Coast. Hopefully you enjoy the rest of the Coast as you did here.

Thank you for your review and make sure you stop in again at some point!!

All the Best

The Calypso Team...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

One of the best hostels I've been to in all my travels! It feels like being right in the rainforest.. The rooms are so nice & clean, the bar is really well priced, the staff are amazing & the vibe is awesome!
If you're a couple spend the extra few dollars for a private room.. They are just perfect!
Make sure you book your travel at Reception as they have awesome deals and you can even score money to spend at the bar.
Definitely recommend Calypso to anyone!

Room Tip: Private room for couples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NadineGray111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad F, Manager at Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Hi Nadine,

We are pleased that you had a great stay with us at Calypso! We hope to see you again sometime!

Big Love from the Calypso Team...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I arrived in Calypso Backpackers Inn in November 2012 wanting to stay for a week and ended up staying there for more than 5 months! I just truly love the place and I am planning on coming back soon.
The people in general but especially the residents and the Calypso Team are awesome, very welcoming and I felt at home immediately!
The guys at Reception are very helpful, they have a great Traveldesk and can set you up with all sorts of good deals for Tours around Cairns, to the Great Barrier Reef and even help you organize your travels around Australia!
The Bar Staff is fun and .. well yeah, there is a BAR with really good prices, Happy Hour and nightly entertainment like Pool Competition, Bar Wars, Quiz Night where you can meet people and win great prices, and - my absolute favourite - a reptile show every sunday night 4 FREE!
The Backpackers is a short walk (about 15 Min) away from the huzz and buzz of the town centre which makes it more quiet and the whole backpackers is in a garden setting with palmtrees, big rooms (4 - 6 bed dorms) and bungalow-like singles and doubles. Is has a pool which is really refreshing, especially in the very hot and humid summer months and you can catch an almost hourly bus to town, for free! They also pick you up at the Airport or Busstops and drop you off at departure, again 4 free!
I can totally recommend staying in Calypso, you'll have the time of your life and maybe you'll end up staying there longer than planned, too!

Room Tip: Ask for doubles or singles next to the pool or 4-Bed-Dorms, Female dorms available, too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlinaRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad F, Manager at Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hello Alina,

We are very happy that you enjoyed Calypso so much and we cannot wait to have you here with us again!

See you on your return to us.

The Calypso Crew...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
593 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
1.0 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
0.9 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
0.4 mi away
Njoy Travellers Resort
Njoy Travellers Resort
#10 of 84 in Cairns
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort

Property: Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Address: 5 - 9 Digger St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s a tropical paradise mon! Come soak up the chilled global vibe at Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort, Cairns’ coolest crashpad. Any more relaxed we’d be horizontal! Swaying palms, smooth tunes and swinging hammocks, that’s the Calypso way. Chill poolside with new friends in the Queensland sunshine by day then check out free nightly entertainment at Zanzibar Bar & Grill, our friendly hostel pub. When the taste buds bite, enjoy a pool-side breakfast or Aussie BBQ dinner at Zanzibar, or whip up your own masterpiece in our great communal kitchen. The Calypso crew are here for you and we know our stuff. Between us all there’s over 65 years of hostel and travel know-how so you’re in expert hands from the moment you arrive. We go the extra mile to make you smile, with a free tour booking service, free return transfers to the airport, bus station and central Cairns and WiFi now available in all rooms. Come catch some Calypso chill vibe when you pass through Cairns! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calypso Inn Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing