We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool Cairns” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Ranked #7 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Cool Cairns”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Ended up at Calypso at the end of my east coast trip. It was definately the most friendly hostel that I stayed in. The staff were always keen for a chat. The place has a reggae vibe going on and a nice layout with all the social areas in one place (bar, kitchen, pool). Which meant that you can make friends easily. I ended up staying much longer than I intended. if you are prepared to compromise a little on location (however the free bus takes you to town or 15mins walk). You can enjoy a real gem of a backpackers. I have recommended Calypso to many of the backpackers that I have met.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    108
    50
    13
    10
See reviews for
3
79
98
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Kilda, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

The staff are really friendly and welcoming here, and I felt right at home STRAIGHT away, great! The only sucky thing about this place is how ridiculously far out it is from absolutely everything, if it weren't for that I'd give it a full-on rating. I didn't care in the end that I was sharing a room cause the person I was sharing with was nice- the place has a pool- there are evening activities and two kitchens, which is handy too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kittentravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

This place is super chill! I was only there for 2 nights but I would defiantly like to go back and stay longer. the staff where very friendly and helpful. The overall vibe of the place is very chill. during the day they had reggae music playing which was great. In the evening the bbq was great vale for a cheap feed and the staff organised a pong tournament which was really fun. The drinks were also great value and cheaper then the bars in town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pirotechnics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here for two nights over a weekend in early Feb and loved the chilled out, balmy vibe. I felt super comfortable and was reminded of the QLD caravan parks we used to stay in as kids. It's open-plan, friendly and quietens down at a reasonable hour in the night (but the big old diving pool stays open til 12pm - love it)! As everyone else has said - the shuttle service is handy because it is a fair distance from town, but sometimes this is a good thing, and from memory a taxi from town centre was only about $10. It's defs not a 5*, but that's one of the main reasons I loved it. I'd crash here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was the final stop of my trip & the worst place I could have stayed, OK its not terrible just didn't like the sick stain on the bed & the fact there was no ladder for the bunk so I had to use my case to get up with. I used the shower upstairs which was unisex & didn't lock so that was a scary experience. There were much better ones downstairs with locks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SalJackPops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad F, Owner at Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear SalJackPops. Thank you so much for your feedback. We are truly sorry that you were not happy with some of the facilities during your stay. The Calypso Crew strives to attend to maintenance issues and we encourage our guests to talk with us whilst still in house, so that we can attend to any concerns immediately. Regarding your bed, we have permanent housekeepers who are responsible for checking all the beds daily. However, with 55 rooms to check, on occasion beds are missed as people check-in to a dorm prior to the housekeepers getting around to that dorm. Our bed-check procedures will be reviewed to ensure all bedding is kept to our usual high standard. We are also saddened to hear that you did not feel comfortable using some of our shower facilities. We do have dedicated male and female shower facilities available for those who would rather not use the unisex facilities. Your review has prompted us to examine all shower stall locks and ensure all are in working order. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

The staff are excellent and I liked the activities like the snake show and the BBQs. Unfortunately the layout with bathrooms in a separate building and most things exposed to the outdoors, i.e. bar/kitchen means you have to wear insect repellent which I really hate. I ended up with a lot of bug bites.$8/day for WiFi.

Being outside of the central business district they have an hourly shuttle to/from the city every hour or so. Every few hours they have a free run to the airport as well which was nice.

Room Tip: far from the bar... I lucked out but other travelers told me it was hard to sleep in rooms near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fitzroy, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed here over the weekend and loved it! The staff were all amazing and it had a very chilled out and relaxed atmosphere.
Can organise all your day trips and activities for you and also provides shuttle bus into the city. They also have regular events such as BBQ's, etc.
Would definitely stray here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
0.9 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
1.0 mi away
Gecko's Backpackers
Gecko's Backpackers
#9 of 89 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort

Property: Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Address: 5 - 9 Digger St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s a tropical paradise mon! Come soak up the chilled global vibe at Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort, Cairns’ coolest crashpad. Any more relaxed we’d be horizontal! Swaying palms, smooth tunes and swinging hammocks, that’s the Calypso way. Chill poolside with new friends in the Queensland sunshine by day then check out free nightly entertainment at Zanzibar Bar & Grill, our friendly hostel pub. When the taste buds bite, enjoy a pool-side breakfast or Aussie BBQ dinner at Zanzibar, or whip up your own masterpiece in our great communal kitchen. The Calypso crew are here for you and we know our stuff. Between us all there’s over 65 years of hostel and travel know-how so you’re in expert hands from the moment you arrive. We go the extra mile to make you smile, with a free tour booking service, free return transfers to the airport, bus station and central Cairns and WiFi now available in all rooms. Come catch some Calypso chill vibe when you pass through Cairns! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calypso Inn Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing