We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirtiest place we've stayed.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Bohemia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bohemia Resort
Ranked #74 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dirtiest place we've stayed.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

I always try and write a good review for other backpackers. Unfortunately on this place I can't, it is cheap, but we had to pay for taxis because it rained one day and it's over half an hour walk to the city, and don't walk back in the dark, it's unsafe. Our room was crawling with bugs big and small, every morning we had new bites! There is free wifi and the pools nice but so not worth it! In the slightest.

Room Tip: The toilets had no toilet roll and were grubby, if you stay get an ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zrachel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    55
    57
    42
    50
See reviews for
35
81
30
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

+
Cheap, got a deal on Wotif.com
Family room (6 beds available)
Free wi-fi
A/C
Towels included
Kettle + tea/coffee + sink in room
Allowed late/night check in

-
Cockroaches in room
Far from Cairns central (rented a car)
A/C loud
Limited parking
Shared bathrooms & showers with rooms on the same floor

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachelilse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Smithers, Canada
Level Contributor
194 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Great stay there. Free wifi, free pool table, and swimming pool. Air con in rooms, big kitchen area (missing some cooking tools). Private room was big with tv, fridge and sink. A little laxed on hallway floor cleanliness but the choice of floor tile is to blame. All in all pretty good deal if your willing to walk 20 - 30 mins to town.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Webeetravllingmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Lovely customer service the reception and very helpful friendly cleaner) My children loved the pool and slide the facilities her are fantastic.
The rooms were a good size and with awesome air-con.
Close to Cairns city and the lagoon. Thank u for making my family feel welcomed.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

I couldn't recommend this place less. It is a 30 minute walk from anything interesting ie central cairns and there are plenty of better hostels closer. The wifi is extortionately priced (20 dollars a day) and the facilities are limited. The rooms were far from clean as were the bathrooms. Dirty and stained floors, rocky beds and poor A/C. Don't stay here, there are far better places in town.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwt12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Enjoyed my stay here ! Clean, comfortable and the staff are very helpful and friendly. The reception staff helped us to book tours and advised us where to go.
Good value for money. 15 minuet walk to Restaurants and amenities

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

I booked here with 4 of my friends in a room all together. It was surprisingly comfortable and we enjoyed having our own space including a sink, fridge and sofa as it allowed us to relax in our room, and also store our food to reduce our costs.
My only qualms with the room itself was that the beds were a little 'cheap feeling' with thin mattresses and the noises; the air conditioning was surprisingly loud for the actual amount of cool air it produced (very little) and this, coupled with a weak ceiling fan, made for a stuffy room (the door onto the patio was also broken) and being in a room positioned right next to a shower meant loud hissing noises from pipes at all hours of the night.
Outside the room, the pool was always kept clean and had long hours of operation which was good.
Unfortunately a few things bugged me about the communal areas of the resort; the bar often closed very early (on two or three nights we wanted beers with the meals we had cooked and would have given the bar business if they'd been open at 19:30-8 when we usually ate), but i guess that's their loss. The main annoying thing was that in spite of the sign on the door, the kitchen didn't open at 7am meaning we were never able to make the hot breakfasts we so craved before our day-trips each day we stayed. Also, if you are going to cook your own food in the large, well kept kitchen, make sure you have your own plates, cutlery and knives and a strainer as the only things provided were a few saucepans, pots, and chopping board.
An otherwise enjoyable stay, I think some of the reviewers on here are way too picky. If you're a backpacker, this place is a luxury!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.8 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#30 of 64 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#58 of 64 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
1.1 mi away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#62 of 64 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aspect Central Motel
Aspect Central Motel
#33 of 64 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.9 mi away
Caravella Backpackers
Caravella Backpackers
#6 of 85 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crystal Garden Resort & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bohemia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bohemia Resort

Property: Bohemia Resort
Address: 231 McLeod St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bohemia Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bohemia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bohemia Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing