We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Most other reviews are accurate: great hostel but not for everyone” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hostel

Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hostel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hostel
Ranked #42 of 87 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Most other reviews are accurate: great hostel but not for everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

I stayed at Asylum for a bit over a week and loved it. But would'nt recommend it to everyone, you'll find that all Asylum "inmates" are all similar in the sense that they're all very laidback, chill, love to party hard, very social, and kinda crazy.
Jeremy, Dave, and everyone else at reception are all very nice. From the moment you walk in you feel welcomed and part of the family. It's a small hostel so everyone gets to know everyone, there's quite a few long term stayers which is great if you wanna make close friends. There's always people sitting around drinking on the patio at any time of day. And by evening everyone in the hostel is gathered around getting drunk. Sometimes a bunch of people go out and sometimes just a few. No one hangs out in their rooms everyones always downstairs with everyone else, you'll never be lonely here. This hostel is unlike any other hostel I've ever stayed at.
Mad Monday is fun and known as one of the most wildest pub crawls in Cairns. Plus if you sign up for Mad Monday (which you will because everyone else is going) you get free wifi for the week for only $5 extra.

The actual building is kind of old and grimey, the washrooms/toilets arent the nicest. Some rooms are really small and some are fine, you can't really be picky. So if you're someone that's bothered by that kind of stuff, and likes their privacy, and isnt that social, and doesnt like being around drunk people, then Asylum isnt for you.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    26
    17
    13
    23
See reviews for
1
22
42
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

We had the best time in Asylum it was the first and only hostel where we've been made to feel really welcome. It's almost like one big family, although it's not the cleanest of hostels that didn't bother us, the amazing time we had totally made up for it.

The mad monday night out was brilliant, one of the best nights out we've had so far. All the staff are really helpful and friendly. It is amazing value for money at $18 a night which includes free breakfast, free dinner, free internet and a damn good time. One thing we also loved was no bunk beds!

We are over half way down the east coast and this is by far the best hostel for us yet :)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimmi_1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Asylum is most definitely a party hostel, although thankfully there's no bar to keep you up to the wee hours, meaning that I got a pretty decent night's sleep.

As soon as I walked through the doors, another guest handed me one of his beers and persuaded me to come out on the 'Mad Monday' bar crawl. As you can tell, it's a really friendly hostel. The mad monday bar crawl was great value, as it came with a t-shirt, three drinks, a meal, a pizza slice and free unlimited internet all week. FYI if you don't do Mad Mondays, then there's still free internet in 15 min sessions, or $3 for an unlimited session.

The hostel is not sparklingly clean but it was far cleaner than some of the reviews on here had lead me to believe. Even the kitchen lacked the pile of dirty plates in the sink that seems to characterise some hostels (although bizarrely there was no kettle?)

The staff were really nice and friendly, and seemed to know everyone by name.

I have to say that it's pretty cheap all things considered - $18pn for a 4-bed dorm - I've paid far more for far less elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CupOfTeaAndASitDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

the table of death, time out and mad monday!!! Evryone has fun at Asylum!!! There is a curtsey bus to town but a little far out but to make up for it there is a free meal at the Woolshead for dinner!!! Very good value for money!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jefiner3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

I usually go along with the "if you don't have something nice to say, don't say anything at all", but this place holds a special place in my memory. After six months of travelling and staying in several hostels in various countries, this place still shocks me. It's advertised by backpackers as a great value and wonderful way to meet people with all the social events. When my boyfriend and I checked in, we had high expectations. Crackers (receptionist) was incredibly friendly and offered a lot of help. Then it all went down hill.

The room we stayed in didn't have lockers and the four other people in our six bed dorm had stuff littered across the room (clearly had been there for a long time). The air-con unit didn't work properly and the bunk beds were really squeaky, which were annoying when bunk-mates arrived at 2AM drunk to go to bed. We were happy that the place was only a short walk to the main area (but so are many other hostels).

Then, on the second night, I was attacked by bed bugs. If it were just a few bugs and a few bites, I probably wouldn't have cared, but the bed was infested with both large and infant bed bugs that were even crawling in broad daylight (not normal). I asked one of the guys at the desk if we could change rooms and he told us that he'd switch the mattresses for us instead. We didn't want to cause a fuss, so we said sure, as long as the problem was fixed.

He stripped the bed and put the sheets (still with visible bedbugs) on the floor and took the mattress outside. We left the hostel to give him time to change the bed. Four hours later (and 100+ bites itching) we went back to the hostel to find the same sheets with the same bedbugs on the floor and my same mattress outside. He either gave up on the idea of helping us or just forgot. When we said that we were going to switch hostels, he started giving us excuses about how you can get bed bugs at the best of hotels and it's not the hostels fault. I agree...no place can prevent bedbugs, but a hostel/hotel can take responsibility for their beds/ bedrooms.

They kept our deposit and made us bring the bedbug ridden sheets to the front desk in order to get the key deposit back. Once they realized that we were miserable and less than satisfied, the same guy that was complacent to help in the first place offered to drive us to the YHA a few blocks away.

Aside from my personal catastrophe:
The kitchen was pretty gross and dishes were stacked in the sink with bugs for the two days we were there. The showers / bathrooms were a bit rundown, but manageable. The sitting area was always clustered with "residents" more so than backpackers and the internet was only free in 15 minute intervals (and was fairly slow). I hope they changed, but I wouldn't stay there if it were free.

Room Tip: stay at the YHA
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Globalmischief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Cairns
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

I cant believe the bad ratings i see here. this hostel is the best one and no doubt. you got sooo much free stuff and the fun factor is amazing. the staff is the most friendly and professional i ever met, they helped me with tours and everything. this hostel is very very old and it has its character but it is clean! it looks tared down and it is in some parts but you can really feel the history in the walls of this place. i felt really home here and i know that others did too. most of the people who checked in for a couple of days tended to stay for weeks! beautiful huge backgarden and hammocks. even tho its a party hostel, the party was always in the front so it was nice and quiet in the back. best memories of all! thx Asylum!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FiffiCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

Read some of the reviews, Its either the worst or the best... haha! Depends who you are. This is a Party house. This is where you come to let loose and forget everything, where you could care less about the little ants crawling up and down the walls or that the A/C is non exising. This is not for the "Princess" light hearted traveller. If in your luggage you have more hair gel or mascara than food, this is not the place for you.

Would i recommend this hostel to a friend??? Depends on the Friend. ;)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yomofo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.6 mi away
Corona Backpackers
Corona Backpackers
#34 of 87 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lazy Duck Hostel
Lazy Duck Hostel
#68 of 87 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
0.5 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
#13 of 87 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cairns Girls Hostel
Cairns Girls Hostel
#51 of 87 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
0.4 mi away
Castaway's Backpackers
Castaway's Backpackers
#16 of 87 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hostel

Property: Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hostel
Address: 149 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 87 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing