We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Oasis Inn(Cairns)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reef Palms(Cairns)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (346)
Filter reviews
346 results
Traveler rating
66
153
72
37
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
153
72
37
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssingle bedlake stlate flightair contown centrespacious roomwashing machinethe ground floorfresh towelscairns esplanadenight staythree nightslaundry facilitiespleasant staypoolskitchenetteaustralia
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
240 - 245 of 346 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We have just returned from a 9 day trip and had a great time staying at the Cairns Queenslander. It was afordable, i block from beach esplanade and we had the lovely clean pool to ourselves on many occasions. Our room was serviced daily ( we did not expect this for the price) with a washing machine and dryer. Sitting on the balcony was perfect and only a $10.00 taxi into city. Car parking for hire car and friendly service always.

Room Tip: pay a little extra for refurbished rooms over looking the pool. Top floor for views.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 416Janice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed here for four nights, we had a large room including a settee and dresser. Large shower room. Shame that there was no free Wifi.
Had breakfast at the hotel on four mornings, good selection of food and the hot food was cooked to order which was a welcome change. Very well run kitchen by a very hard working team.
Hotel very close to the seafront and a pleasant 20 minute stroll into the vibrant city of Cairns.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marrowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place. If you want five star, go somewhere else and pay for it. This was immaculately clean, adequately furnished and quite comfortable. It is a good 20 minute walk into town but you can clearly see this on any map. If you choose not to walk, you can hire a car, walk about three minutes to the bus stop ($3.90 one way) or jump in a cab for about $10.

The air conditioning and ceiling fans worked well, the shower was hot and the bed was comfy. I was able to arrange tours and was picked up and dropped off at the front door. There was a grocery store, bottle shop and various take away outlets within an easy 3-4 minute walk and the apartments are located one street from the Esplanade. I swam in one of the two pools and it was sparkling clean.

I enjoyed dinner in the restaurant on three occasions and found the food to be more than acceptable, if a little expensive. The convenience was worth the price. The waitress was friendly and after the first night she remembered my drink order.

There were a couple of tiny, little issues. The apartment is under the flight path, but this didn't bother me at all. I had no intentions of cooking meals, but there was no stove/oven- only a small microwave. If you're travelling with your family and want to be able to cook, check this prior to booking.

Other than that, go for it! If I ever return to Cairns I would be more than happy to stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tlb1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

This place was just fine as a place to stay after arriving late at Cairns airport and setting off the next day for Port Douglas. Good price. Close to the airport. Block from the beach and nice walk to downtown Cairns for cafes. Friendly front office.

We were in the back building and there were a few issues -- old and moldy air conditioner in the second bedroom. Second bedroom had a large window onto a walkway with a very bright light that was on all night. Made it difficult to sleep in that room. Mattresses were comfy and seemed new, but the lack of mattress pads made me wonder about how clean the mattresses were.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank lrwilliams84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Definitely not a 4 star somewhere between 2 and 3. Front desk staff very nice but 1 restaurant worker for breakfast quite rude. Breakfast available was fine , don't recommend eating there for dinner. There was mold on the grout in bathroom , didn't look like had been really cleaned in a while.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruski23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQ_ManagementTeam, Manager at Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Bruski23

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay with us. I’m sorry to read that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations.

We have been recognised by the majority of TripAdvisor reviewers, as one of the hotels in Cairns with the friendliest and most helpful staff, we are very proud to receive this recognition. With regard to your issues mentioned we certainly would have really appreciated a reasonable opportunity to correct any issue during your stay.

Cairns as you would no doubt agree is a truly wonderful holiday experience with so much to do and see, we do hope you will return to far north Queensland again in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews