We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afordable, clean with very friendly service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
Ranked #27 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Afordable, clean with very friendly service.”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We have just returned from a 9 day trip and had a great time staying at the Cairns Queenslander. It was afordable, i block from beach esplanade and we had the lovely clean pool to ourselves on many occasions. Our room was serviced daily ( we did not expect this for the price) with a washing machine and dryer. Sitting on the balcony was perfect and only a $10.00 taxi into city. Car parking for hire car and friendly service always.

Room Tip: pay a little extra for refurbished rooms over looking the pool. Top floor for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 416Janice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    142
    64
    33
    16
See reviews for
118
92
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed here for four nights, we had a large room including a settee and dresser. Large shower room. Shame that there was no free Wifi.
Had breakfast at the hotel on four mornings, good selection of food and the hot food was cooked to order which was a welcome change. Very well run kitchen by a very hard working team.
Hotel very close to the seafront and a pleasant 20 minute stroll into the vibrant city of Cairns.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marrowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cessnock, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place. If you want five star, go somewhere else and pay for it. This was immaculately clean, adequately furnished and quite comfortable. It is a good 20 minute walk into town but you can clearly see this on any map. If you choose not to walk, you can hire a car, walk about three minutes to the bus stop ($3.90 one way) or jump in a cab for about $10.

The air conditioning and ceiling fans worked well, the shower was hot and the bed was comfy. I was able to arrange tours and was picked up and dropped off at the front door. There was a grocery store, bottle shop and various take away outlets within an easy 3-4 minute walk and the apartments are located one street from the Esplanade. I swam in one of the two pools and it was sparkling clean.

I enjoyed dinner in the restaurant on three occasions and found the food to be more than acceptable, if a little expensive. The convenience was worth the price. The waitress was friendly and after the first night she remembered my drink order.

There were a couple of tiny, little issues. The apartment is under the flight path, but this didn't bother me at all. I had no intentions of cooking meals, but there was no stove/oven- only a small microwave. If you're travelling with your family and want to be able to cook, check this prior to booking.

Other than that, go for it! If I ever return to Cairns I would be more than happy to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tlb1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Ma
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

This place was just fine as a place to stay after arriving late at Cairns airport and setting off the next day for Port Douglas. Good price. Close to the airport. Block from the beach and nice walk to downtown Cairns for cafes. Friendly front office.

We were in the back building and there were a few issues -- old and moldy air conditioner in the second bedroom. Second bedroom had a large window onto a walkway with a very bright light that was on all night. Made it difficult to sleep in that room. Mattresses were comfy and seemed new, but the lack of mattress pads made me wonder about how clean the mattresses were.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank lrwilliams84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Definitely not a 4 star somewhere between 2 and 3. Front desk staff very nice but 1 restaurant worker for breakfast quite rude. Breakfast available was fine , don't recommend eating there for dinner. There was mold on the grout in bathroom , didn't look like had been really cleaned in a while.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruski23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQ_ManagementTeam, Manager at Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Bruski23

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay with us. I’m sorry to read that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations.

We have been recognised by the majority of TripAdvisor reviewers, as one of the hotels in Cairns with the friendliest and most helpful staff, we are very proud to receive this recognition. With regard to your issues mentioned we certainly would have really appreciated a reasonable opportunity to correct any issue during your stay.

Cairns as you would no doubt agree is a truly wonderful holiday experience with so much to do and see, we do hope you will return to far north Queensland again in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Kent
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed for two nights either end of a trip further north. The reception was friendly and helpful, an easy check in and out. The rooms are clean and modern, we had a large ,very comfortable bed and there were good bathroom facilities and nice toiletries. We did not eat in the restaurant in the evening but did for breakfast and it was pretty ordinary, not 4star at all, with a very officious manager!

The hotel is close to the beach but a good 20 minute walk to the centre of Cairns which is where we had to go to find the restaurants.

All in all it suited our one night stays but we would not wish to stay for any longer than a couple of nights.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandRKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Staff are friendly. But we were very disappointed when got a room totally different from the pictures on internet. Pictures were from the front renovated building and what we got were in the building behind - maximum 2 star. Extremely old air-con fitted in the rooms. The level of noise at night was unbearable. Felt like a big engine running just outside the window. Rooms were clean but got a strange smell. Wouldn't go back or recommend to friends.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harmony-135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQ_ManagementTeam, Manager at Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Harmony-135

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We truly value the opinions of our customers.

Our reception is open daily 24 hours and unfortunately you chose not to mention any issue during your stay with us. You commented our friendly staff, any of our receptionists would have certainly welcomed an opportunity to speak with you personally and address any issue to your satisfaction.

Thank you for mentioning our rooms are clean, we only use premium linen in all room types and utilise the 'Sleep Easy' natural cleaning system that ensures bedding, mattresses and pillows are thoroughly sanitised before every guest stay.

Cairns being a wonderful holiday destination, I’m sure you’ll look forward to returning to this wonderful region again soon.

Yours Sincerely
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
592 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Village Tropical Retreat
0.6 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
0.4 mi away
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
#17 of 64 in Cairns
341 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#20 of 64 in Cairns
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments

Property: Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
Address: 267 Lake St | cnr of Lake & Charles Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns Queenslander Hotel & Apartments, is situated within Cairns City close to the Esplanade foreshore. Cairns is your ideal coastal setting for your next holiday, short break or overnight stay. Our private balcony rooms are spacious and comfortable; we offer a wide range of affordable room types including Deluxe & Traditional Queenslander style accommodation, many room types featuring kitchenette dining facilities. Great value menu options combined with excellent fresh local cuisine are served in our casual a'fresco style licensed restaurant 'STEAK on LAKE'; Open Daily for breakfast 6:30am to 10am and dinner from 5:30pm. Evening daily meal specials and extensive a'la carte menu available. Wine lovers must try our wonderful selection of boutique Australian & NZ wines. Your accommodation also features 2 outdoor swimming pools, complimentary WiFi and plenty on-site car-parking. Cairns is the gateway to the Great Barrier Reef, World Heritage Rainforest and the adventure capital of the tropical north. With so much to see and do the fun never stops! Our friendly and helpful reception team ( available 24hrs) can provide invaluable tour advice and will book those tour experiences for you. The Cairns Queenslander Hotel & Apartments is proudly Australian owned and operated, suitable for family, single travelers, couples or small & large group stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Queenslander Apartments Hotel Cairns
Queenslander Hotel Cairns
Cairns Queenslander Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing