We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice modern hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
Ranked #29 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Kent
Level Contributor
152 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice modern hotel”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed for two nights either end of a trip further north. The reception was friendly and helpful, an easy check in and out. The rooms are clean and modern, we had a large ,very comfortable bed and there were good bathroom facilities and nice toiletries. We did not eat in the restaurant in the evening but did for breakfast and it was pretty ordinary, not 4star at all, with a very officious manager!

The hotel is close to the beach but a good 20 minute walk to the centre of Cairns which is where we had to go to find the restaurants.

All in all it suited our one night stays but we would not wish to stay for any longer than a couple of nights.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandRKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    137
    58
    33
    16
See reviews for
114
88
15
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Staff are friendly. But we were very disappointed when got a room totally different from the pictures on internet. Pictures were from the front renovated building and what we got were in the building behind - maximum 2 star. Extremely old air-con fitted in the rooms. The level of noise at night was unbearable. Felt like a big engine running just outside the window. Rooms were clean but got a strange smell. Wouldn't go back or recommend to friends.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harmony-135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQ_ManagementTeam, Manager at Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Harmony-135

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We truly value the opinions of our customers.

Our reception is open daily 24 hours and unfortunately you chose not to mention any issue during your stay with us. You commented our friendly staff, any of our receptionists would have certainly welcomed an opportunity to speak with you personally and address any issue to your satisfaction.

Thank you for mentioning our rooms are clean, we only use premium linen in all room types and utilise the 'Sleep Easy' natural cleaning system that ensures bedding, mattresses and pillows are thoroughly sanitised before every guest stay.

Cairns being a wonderful holiday destination, I’m sure you’ll look forward to returning to this wonderful region again soon.

Yours Sincerely
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Disley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We had booked a two bedroom apartment and were offered an upgrade on arrival for a reasonable price. The apartment has recently been upgraded and was clean and bright. The kitchen area was challenging as it was poorly laid out and would have been difficult to make a full meal as there was no oven. However good and friendly staff and a good base for the local attractions. Approx 15mins walk to the main town

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQ_ManagementTeam, Manager at Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to submit the review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we see you again.

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Room was very average, not the same as pictures on internet, room was clean , but stairs leading up to room in side the apartment needed hand rails, very dangerous. Staff were friendly enough. A little out of town, decent 20 min walk into town, taxis are available but not that cheap. Pool was ok, did not use the restaurant , we bought room at special price, would rather pay that little bit more for a nicer room and closer to town.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabba404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had four in our room which had a queen bed and pull out couch as well as one single bed. Our room had a small refrigerator. Almost too small. Well actually yes too small. Our stay was for three nights. The floors are tile and clean. The room was VERY clean when we arrived but when the house keeping came each day they refreshed things but not clean. No washing or vacuuming the floor or the counter tops. Since there is nothing in the room for us to do it ourselves this was quite annoying. We had booked tours on all three days so we left each day very early and returned fairly late. So we did not spend much time in the Hotel or we probably would be rating it lower. The shower did not drain right. Had a HUGE shower head which was nice but then this itty bitty drain which caused it to over flow and go out the next drain in the bathroom. ( could not put down the shower mat until you were finished showering or it would soaking wet. Only one room key. We could not leave our electronics in the room charging because we needed the key to run the electricity and we also needed it obviously to get back in the room. The drier was awful. It took way too long and did not dry. Estimation of a 45~50 min cycle we had four beach towels that we washed and 2 cycles which cost 3 dollars each barely dried them half way. Also the washer and drier opened to late and closed too early :(
We did not have time for the pool which looked just ok. I think there may have been another one on site as well. The continental breakfast was enjoyable ~ fresh fruit, boiled rice (which we were told is an Asian thing :) I really liked it with milk and sugar. Lots of selections and the staff were very friendly : ) Seats filled fast during the 7-8 am hours.

Room Tip: Room 122 has direct access to pool which was nice because there was a small waterfall on the pool gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalby
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a Mimosa 2 bedroom appartment and although this was one of the older style appts it was perfectly suitable for our 3 day stay. The extra space of lounge dinning and kitchenette was great for 4 adults. Rooms could do with a fresh coat of paint in the near future but were clean and staff were very friendly and helpful. We would certainly stay again if in Cairns

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank GwendaC_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed here a few nights and the hotel itself is very nice. The room was huge and we had a very nice balcony. The bathroom was simple but clean. Staff was very friendly. Safe is available at reception. There are 2 small pools which we did not try but looked nice.
We did not really like the location - it takes you a good 20-30 minutes to walk to all the restaurants and bars. We ended up taking the taxi back to the hotel because we did not really like the distance and the area we had to walk back. But other than that it was really good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Si73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#19 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Village Tropical Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
0.6 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments

Property: Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
Address: 267 Lake St | cnr of Lake & Charles Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cairns Queenslander is one of Cairns most popular accommodation & restaurant properties and is your ideal comfortable base from which to discover the surrounding natural beauty of the Great Barrier Reef and World Heritage Rainforest. Property location is ideally situated within easy walking distance to the Cairns Esplanade waterfront, numerous restaurants, convenience shopping and for our corporate clientele close to Cairns Central Business District. Conveniently divided into two separate buildings, you're offered a superb choice of accommodation options. The east wing provides AAA rated 4 Stars (DELUXE) modern contemporary designed hotel rooms, one & two bedroom serviced apartments. Separated by undercover walkway is our west wing AAA rated 3.5 Stars (STANDARD) traditional Queenslander style suites & family two bedroom serviced apartments. All guest rooms are styled for comfort and your convenience; include air-conditioning, ceiling fans, refrigerators, flat-panel TV, FREE Wi-Fi access and your very own private balcony where you can sit out and enjoy Cairns tropical climate. We also certainly take your health and wellbeing seriously; bedroom mattresses and pillows prior to your arrival have been naturally sanitized using the 'Sleep Easy' revolutionary cleaning system. Property features include two swimming pools, 24 hours manned reception, on-site car parking and Cairns favourite char-grill restaurant (Steak on Lake) open daily for breakfast & dinner. Excellent location: the Cairns Queenslander is ideally situated only a short stroll to the North Esplanade parklands, from there you can enjoy a pleasurable walk along the Esplanade walking track (enormous variety of native birdlife, including wild pelicans & lorikeets can be seen daily) towards the lagoon swimming pool and heart of the city. Our friendly staff look forward to welcoming you. Enjoy Your Stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Queenslander Apartments Hotel Cairns
Queenslander Hotel Cairns
Cairns Queenslander Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing