We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recommend this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
Ranked #28 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Staff are friendly. But we were very disappointed when got a room totally different from the pictures on internet. Pictures were from the front renovated building and what we got were in the building behind - maximum 2 star. Extremely old air-con fitted in the rooms. The level of noise at night was unbearable. Felt like a big engine running just outside the window. Rooms were clean but got a strange smell. Wouldn't go back or recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harmony-135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQ_ManagementTeam, Manager at Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Harmony-135

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We truly value the opinions of our customers.

Our reception is open daily 24 hours and unfortunately you chose not to mention any issue during your stay with us. You commented our friendly staff, any of our receptionists would have certainly welcomed an opportunity to speak with you personally and address any issue to your satisfaction.

Thank you for mentioning our rooms are clean, we only use premium linen in all room types and utilise the 'Sleep Easy' natural cleaning system that ensures bedding, mattresses and pillows are thoroughly sanitised before every guest stay.

Cairns being a wonderful holiday destination, I’m sure you’ll look forward to returning to this wonderful region again soon.

Yours Sincerely
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 331 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2014

We had booked a two bedroom apartment and were offered an upgrade on arrival for a reasonable price. The apartment has recently been upgraded and was clean and bright. The kitchen area was challenging as it was poorly laid out and would have been difficult to make a full meal as there was no oven. However good and friendly staff and a good base for the local attractions. Approx 15mins walk to the main town

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQ_ManagementTeam, Manager at Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to submit the review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we see you again.

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Room was very average, not the same as pictures on internet, room was clean , but stairs leading up to room in side the apartment needed hand rails, very dangerous. Staff were friendly enough. A little out of town, decent 20 min walk into town, taxis are available but not that cheap. Pool was ok, did not use the restaurant , we bought room at special price, would rather pay that little bit more for a nicer room and closer to town.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabba404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had four in our room which had a queen bed and pull out couch as well as one single bed. Our room had a small refrigerator. Almost too small. Well actually yes too small. Our stay was for three nights. The floors are tile and clean. The room was VERY clean when we arrived but when the house keeping came each day they refreshed things but not clean. No washing or vacuuming the floor or the counter tops. Since there is nothing in the room for us to do it ourselves this was quite annoying. We had booked tours on all three days so we left each day very early and returned fairly late. So we did not spend much time in the Hotel or we probably would be rating it lower. The shower did not drain right. Had a HUGE shower head which was nice but then this itty bitty drain which caused it to over flow and go out the next drain in the bathroom. ( could not put down the shower mat until you were finished showering or it would soaking wet. Only one room key. We could not leave our electronics in the room charging because we needed the key to run the electricity and we also needed it obviously to get back in the room. The drier was awful. It took way too long and did not dry. Estimation of a 45~50 min cycle we had four beach towels that we washed and 2 cycles which cost 3 dollars each barely dried them half way. Also the washer and drier opened to late and closed too early :(
We did not have time for the pool which looked just ok. I think there may have been another one on site as well. The continental breakfast was enjoyable ~ fresh fruit, boiled rice (which we were told is an Asian thing :) I really liked it with milk and sugar. Lots of selections and the staff were very friendly : ) Seats filled fast during the 7-8 am hours.

Room Tip: Room 122 has direct access to pool which was nice because there was a small waterfall on the pool gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a Mimosa 2 bedroom appartment and although this was one of the older style appts it was perfectly suitable for our 3 day stay. The extra space of lounge dinning and kitchenette was great for 4 adults. Rooms could do with a fresh coat of paint in the near future but were clean and staff were very friendly and helpful. We would certainly stay again if in Cairns

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank GwendaC_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed here a few nights and the hotel itself is very nice. The room was huge and we had a very nice balcony. The bathroom was simple but clean. Staff was very friendly. Safe is available at reception. There are 2 small pools which we did not try but looked nice.
We did not really like the location - it takes you a good 20-30 minutes to walk to all the restaurants and bars. We ended up taking the taxi back to the hotel because we did not really like the distance and the area we had to walk back. But other than that it was really good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Si73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We booked two appartments for 8 people, but got two rooms with four beds. They were large rooms, but it was a bit a feeling of a dormitory.
The staff asured us that this was the order, but we said that we only came there because they are called 'Hotel and Apartment'.
They didn't offer to change and we had to rent another toom.
WIFI is extrely expansive!

Room Tip: Maybe apartments are better. Ground floor at front wing was noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmatsiaKashti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
620 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Village Tropical Retreat
0.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#15 of 63 in Cairns
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cascade Gardens
Cascade Gardens
#20 of 63 in Cairns
198 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,151 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#21 of 63 in Cairns
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments

Address: 267 Lake St | cnr of Lake & Charles Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $84 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns Queenslander Hotel & Apartments, is situated within Cairns City close to the Esplanade foreshore. Cairns is your ideal coastal setting for your next holiday, short break or overnight stay. Our private balcony rooms are spacious and comfortable; we offer a wide range of affordable room types including Deluxe & Traditional Queenslander style accommodation, many room types featuring kitchenette dining facilities. Great value menu options combined with excellent fresh local cuisine are served in our casual a'fresco style licensed restaurant 'STEAK on LAKE'; Open Daily for breakfast 6:30am to 10am and dinner from 5:30pm. Evening daily meal specials and extensive a'la carte menu available. Wine lovers must try our wonderful selection of boutique Australian & NZ wines. Your accommodation also features 2 outdoor swimming pools, complimentary WiFi and plenty on-site car-parking. Cairns is the gateway to the Great Barrier Reef, World Heritage Rainforest and the adventure capital of the tropical north. With so much to see and do the fun never stops! Our friendly and helpful reception team ( available 24hrs) can provide invaluable tour advice and will book those tour experiences for you. The Cairns Queenslander Hotel & Apartments is proudly Australian owned and operated, suitable for family, single travelers, couples or small & large group stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Queenslander Apartments Hotel Cairns
Queenslander Hotel Cairns
Cairns Queenslander Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing