We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travellers Oasis Backpackers
Ranked #1 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Stayed here in a private double and in a 3 bed dorm. Both were good and they were really helpful and knowledgeable in booking us a great barrier reef trip. BBQ was good for cooking dinner and 2 kitchens means we didn't have to wait to cook.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna-gsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (943)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

790 - 796 of 943 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2010

stayed at travellers either side of my trip to the GBR... the admin was great as I arrived outside office hours on both occasions and could enjoy the stay... stayed in a dorm and it was very clean and spacious, well maintained... very popular backpackers...

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hermanjvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

I stayed here for 4 nights with my husband on our honeymoon. We spent 3 months travelling around Oz and NZ and this is undoubtedly the best place we've stayed. We booked a double room, there was a little noise at night but nothing that would keep you awake. Facilities were clean, and we never had to wait to use a shower or toilet. The staff are fantastic, so helpful - we booked all our trips from here, and John arranged our car hire. Fantastic hostel - you're mad if you go to Cairns and stay anywhere else. Keep up the good work guys.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank IrishGal010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

I stayed at travellers oasis while visiting Cairns this summer. Both as a solo traveller in their dorms and later again with a friend in a double room. On both occassions i found the rooms and the facilities to be very clean and the setting to be great, even if getting back in the evenings from towncentre meant walking down some quieter roads.

But why i would recommend this backpackers to anyone is above all their staff. I found them to be really helpful and friendly, and they treat everyone like an individual not just a room number.
And they were always happy to go the extra mile to help out if any problems arised as when my friend's flights got cancelled and they arranged alternative transport for her to join me in Cape trib tour.

Great guys, thanks for making our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koolblu3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

...but still okay. The place itself is very nice and the staff is nice and helpful. We had a double room. The bathrooms and toilets are not ensuite. And that is where the problem starts. Sometimes it's hard to find an available shower or toilet. There are simply to few of them. At night is was quite noisy. Other guests were singing and laughing until 3 am. You can very clearly hear others walking around on the upstairs floor. Our room was very small and for 64 Dollars per night we still had to pay extra for the air condition.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Achim02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

This hostel is great, amazing atmosphere, super friendly staff, and they will arrange all your needs and seem to enjoy it als well ;-). We will definitly recommend it to our friends .

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patriciaholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Staff were excellent in planning a perfect romantic gesture by adding champagne and roses to our room to suprise my new fiancee after becoming engaged just days before! Thanks to John, Helen and all the staff for a fantastic 5 days and i would definitely stay there again!!! Perfect room with the hammack and the private balcony, beds very comfy and room was ideal for backpackers!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colandkez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.6 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
0 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
1 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
1 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
0.4 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
The Northern Greenhouse
#13 of 83 in Cairns
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Oasis Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Oasis Backpackers

Address: 8 - 10 Scott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: $22 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travellers Oasis Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Travellers Oasis Backpackers Hostel in Cairns.Travellers Oasis is a charming little guest house offering cosy and clean facilities to the budget conscious traveller, in a friendly and relaxed environment.Centrally located in a quiet area, our guests can relax in our sparkling pool, or lie back in our hammocks and chill out to the music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Travellers Oasis Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Oasis Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing