We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay in Cairns”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travellers Oasis Backpackers
Ranked #2 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Cairns was the first place we headed on entering Australia to start our one year working visa. We had read some really good reviews of the Travellers Oasis and they were all totally right! The place itself is well located, comfy, friendly and absolutely spotless, a total home away from home.

The thing that makes this place stand out from the rest though were the staff. We had a number of things to sort out when we arrived including setting up bank accounts, getting medicare cards, buying a car and all of the things that go along with that. This is where Helen, the manager of the hostel Helen went truly above and beyond what we would have expected. She gave us the pearls of her wisdom on all of the above and even called the hostel owner Gabe for a few bits of info on the car that she couldn't answer herself.

There are a number of live in staff members also who clean the hostel daily (this is why it is so pristine). These individuals were also very friendly and helpful in the advice they gave. Most of the staff had done the majority of the trips also so excellent advice can be had with regards to this.

If we return to Cairns, this is the only place we would stay.

Many thanks,
Lucy

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knottlucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (930)
There are newer reviews for Travellers Oasis Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

480 - 486 of 930 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

We didn't spend too much time with Traveller's oasis, passing through on our way to our dive trip, and then passing back before flying out. We stayed a total of 2 nights. Clientele is primarily younger crowd, with the occasional older couple.

What's nice about this place:

FACILITIES - There are only 2 showers/bathrooms that we've found (there might be more) but they were very clean and well kept. The decor of the area is overall very pleasing and relaxing, and certainly feels like an 'oasis' - hammocks strung everywhere, orchids flowering on the palm trees, and a lot of greenery and colourful painted buildings. Kitchen and fridges available for food storage, and stove tops/microwaves for cooking (which we didn't use). Clothes lines available for hanging dry swimsuits/scuba gear, and washing machines available for a charge.

STAFF - SUPER accommodating and helpful. Let us store luggage here for 3 days while we were on our trip, and also very nice on the phone. We cancelled a few nights stay, and they were totally okay with it. This is definitely the highlight of this place.

ROOMS - relatively spacious rooms. AC is $1 for 3 hours, which is reasonable, but we didn't need it with the ceiling fan in September. Clean, tidy, and towels are provided.

LOCATION AND PRICE - very reasonable prices and location is slightly off central, but town is just a short 10 minute walk away, through the shopping mall. It is also right next to the Kuranda rail station for scenic rails to the forest.

What we didn't like as much:
NOISE - occasionally noisy, especially the room on the second night (room 11). Our back window faced towards a walkway, where people were banging about all throughout the night doing god knows what. If you care about this, try and request one of the more secluded rooms (our first night was perfect in room 13)

SMOKERS - personal preference. As I write this I'm sitting at one of the few shaded areas and people are smoking next to me. Not to be a wiener, but it would have been nice to have a designated smoking area, so that the rest of us non smokers can stay in the shade and also breath.

OVERALL - really enjoyed our stay here, and would definitely consider staying here again!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, choose room 13 was great.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Urbangecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hostel ticks all the boxes - we stayed in a double room which was really spacious, the pool area is small but lovely, kitchen is great with plenty of utensils, the location is right beside the shopping centre and a short walk to the esplanade but also nice and quiet for sleeping. The best thing about it though is the level of organisation among the staff and how friendly they are with helping to book tours and activities, particularly Helen and Mickey. They are great for coming up with suggestions of things to do and can book everything, from your buses to your bungee jumps. Don't miss the fantastic BBQ on Monday nights!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrazyPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed at both Traveler's Oasis, and their sister hostel up the road, Tropic Days. Probably the best hostels I've ever stayed in -- ANYWHERE.

I ended up staying at both, interchangeably, over a period of two weeks. I was in town for a few doctor's appointments, and staying at both was great for when I needed a little recovery time, and from when I returned from a 3-day diving trip.

Why?

Excellent staff -- Helen at Traveler's Oasis is a gem of a human being and clearly enjoys her job thoroughly. She's a wealth of information on the area -- anything from local hiking to themed tours to live-abord dive boats-- and was helpful in finding me a place elsewhere when both hostels were full later. Everyone who works there is kind, friendly, and patient. Owners are very cool.

Great rooms -- they're clean, fresh, comfortable and creatively decorated.

Several communal kitchens, very cheerfully designed grounds complete with swimming pools and lounge areas.

Free Internet -- a HUGE plus in Australia!

Pizza and BBQ nights on certain weekdays. Had the privilege of meeting one of the owners the night of the BBQ --after the digeridoo contest-- when I had my first taste of crocodile, emu,and kangaroo meat. No better way to do it!

Great, mellow vibe - and peaceful. Both have a 10pm courtesy hour, but it's till nice and social.

Seriously, I was spoiled.

Fantastic places!

Room Tip: Just go ahead and book it!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFSpaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed in early August 2013 for five nights in a three bed dorm and was impressed by the facilities, cleanliness, quietness and helpfulness of the staff. Good mix of domestic and overseas travellers and young and various ages. David

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidHM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Arriving into Cairns for the first time and it was a great place to start!
The staff are very friendly and full of useful information.

It's a quieter hostel than the others you might find in cairns centre but it's just what we wanted.

Room were clean and spacious. The dorms were either a 4bed or 6bed so it wasn't over crowded.

Kitchen facilities were good and there was a BBQ to use for all guests.

Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Room 1 was good!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaneandKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in a double private with a balcony and I have to say it was a lovely hostel very clean, friendliest staff in oz they couldn't do enough for you and nothing was to much trouble I would recommend this hostel to everyone. Thank you for making our stay in cairns so pleasant I hope we can come back again! X

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam_wildy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travellersoasis, Owner at Travellers Oasis Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thanks Guys so glad you enjoyed your stay!! Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
601 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.7 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
0.0 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
1.0 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Oasis Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Oasis Backpackers

Address: 8 - 10 Scott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: $23 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Travellers Oasis Backpackers Hostel in Cairns.Travellers Oasis is a charming little guest house offering cosy and clean facilities to the budget conscious traveller, in a friendly and relaxed environment.Centrally located in a quiet area, our guests can relax in our sparkling pool, or lie back in our hammocks and chill out to the music. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Travellers Oasis Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing