We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hostel EVER!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travellers Oasis Backpackers
Ranked #2 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best hostel EVER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hostel is something special. What makes it extra special us how friendly and helpful the staff are. Nothing is too much. As well as this, the rooms are clean as are communal areas. There is FREE wifi, tea/coffee, games, DVDs and computers to use. The atmosphere is nice and relaxed. If you're looking or a party than this hostel isn't for you, but if you want a great, chilled out piece of hostel paradise, this is the place! Great location, right near Coles and the town centre.

Quite possibly the best hostel I've ever stayed in :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    743
    127
    28
    5
    2
See reviews for
21
224
347
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is really as good as they come. The staff are incredibly friendly and will help you as much as they can. When I arrived, they showed me around briefly before taking me right to my room and made me feel very welcome. Everything is clean, the facilities are good, they're very good with giving advice on tours and other things you can do around town, and the location is pretty good too. I was there for two nights in two different rooms (did a live-aboard tour in between). The first night I was in a four bed room on the first floor closer to the BBQ area, so it was a touch noisier than some other rooms might be. My second room was a 3 bed on the second floor above the reception, which I much preferred, so maybe book a 3 bed room. All in all, a great place to stay, I would come back.

Room Tip: A little further away from the BBQ area, where people hang out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JToaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travellersoasis, Owner at Travellers Oasis Backpackers, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your stay, and writing a positive review..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I would totally recommend this hostel which is very pretty, totally look like an oasis, well chosen name. The facilities are clean and the staff is the friendliest youll ever find. They were super helpful when my friend was sick and they were able to cancel a tour for her. They also give awesome advice about tours.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allegra1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

What a wonderful place. Quiet, chilled out atmosphere, nice rooms very clean. The staff are just brilliant: friendliest people ever and go out of their way to accommodate you and help you with booking trips - they are so knowledgable and enthusiastic.
Kitchens are clean, well equipped, loved the free tea and coffee, spices and free wifi is speedy. Great BBQ area and outside eating areas.
The hostel BBQ on Monday night was great!
A slight walk from town but nicer for it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonLouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

The staff were great, everyone was friendly and the place is so cute and different compared to the other backpackers in Cairns. We were there as holidayers for the weekend but I can imagine that if you were there for a few weeks and on a budget, this would be the type of place to get stranded in! Pool, laundry, everything you could want. Rooms clean and showers good for the price.

Will definitely be going back if I visit Cairns again!

Room Tip: There are 2 buildings (I think), we were in room 12 which was private but the other block seemed to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bamberbritabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Brilliant place to stay.
The staff are all awesome - really friendly and willing to help with anything you need. Helen the manager really cares about her job and you can tell she enjoys it.
It's only a short walk to the main centre and being further out adds to the chilled out factor.
The rooms are clean and cosy, and there's a homely feel as a lot of the rooms don't have bunks.
There's free tea and coffee, wifi and the computers are available to use free during reception hours.
Overall I'd highly recommend staying here, or if it's full, the sister hostel Tropic Days is just as nice, although a bit further out of town :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

I can't say enough good things about this place. I've stayed in a lot of hostels throughout the world and have been generally shocked by the price, quality and lack of care in Australian hostels. This place is what they should all strive for.

The woman at reception was wonderful. So friendly and informative, and it was made clear that nothing was a hassle. The dorm rooms were spotlessly clean and cosy. No bunks, all single beds with cosy blankets and fluffy, clean towels. A safe under ever bed was useful. The wifi and computers are free, as are a good selection of DVDs to borrow. There's a lovely kitchen. The whole vibe of the place is so positive and therefore everyone there was happy and chatty. They give you vouchers to the Green Ant Cantina, a little mexican place over the road, where you can eat a selection of yummy food for $5- $10.

I'd stay here again in a flash and I'd highly recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.6 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
0.4 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
0.4 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Oasis Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Oasis Backpackers

Property: Travellers Oasis Backpackers
Address: 8 - 10 Scott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Travellers Oasis Backpackers Hostel in Cairns.Travellers Oasis is a charming little guest house offering cosy and clean facilities to the budget conscious traveller, in a friendly and relaxed environment.Centrally located in a quiet area, our guests can relax in our sparkling pool, or lie back in our hammocks and chill out to the music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Travellers Oasis Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Oasis Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing