We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travellers Oasis Backpackers
Ranked #2 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had a great stay here! We stayed two nights before our tour began. They had a shuttle pick us up at the airport. He was late but not a big deal. We arrived while reception was closed, and since our arrival time had changed due to a flight change, they had no room ready for us. However the cleaning staff was there and set us up in another room temporarily. We explored Cairns for a bit and upon our return they had organized our amazing double room! We had a shared balcony, our own hammock, table and chairs. We had to pay for air conditioning but that was alright. Also had a little fridge for drinks. The shared shower was nice. Bed was comfortable and kitchen facilities were very good. Staff was so helpful and friendly!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MME178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    129
    28
    5
    2
See reviews for
21
229
354
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Travelers Oasis is the best place I ve been.The staff and owner go the extra mile.like with Christmas ,they prepared and served a fine breakfast for everyone.there is only one thing you should consider:after staying overthere,every other hostel will slightly disappoint you...
AC

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AcAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

This is a really great hostel with a relaxed feel and excellent service! We were really made to feel welcome. Helen and Kerri on reception were outstanding - often juggling talking people through tour options, answering the phone and checking people in! They were really helpful in advance as well, corresponding by email to help us book a Great Barrier Reef tour at quite late notice. . Our double room was of a fine size and very clean, as were the shared bathrooms and kitchens. The communal areas are very pleasant, though we didn't really use them as we were only there for two nights and ate out. It's also quiet at night - it is an easy ten minute walk from the main restaurant and bar strip in Cairns, so you don't get disturbed by the noise from that area. All in all, a fantastic hostel! Thanks to the team for all their help.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HB274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

My friend and I stayed at Traveller's last week for 3 nights in a double room with 2 single beds. We had a really great time! It was a very welcoming place to stay, very clean, comfortable, relaxed and we met some of the nicest people. Don't plan on sleeping in too much though as you can hear everything when people are up and about - we were up early anyway so this didn't bother us at all! We also liked the fact that mostly everyone we met was around our age - 25 to 35. The staff are incredibly helpful and full of great advice! The bbq night was a really awesome way to meet people and the food was delicious:) We would highly recommend and will stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirlcanada84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Helen and Kerri, who worked at travellers oasis when I visited in December, don't have to bend over backwards to be helpful. It's second nature to them to make visitors feel welcome and at home. They sorted out a couple of day trips for me. The sky rail to Kuranda and the cape tribulation trip with George, who provided much entertainment throughout the day. I would highly recommend both of these trips. The passions of paradise boat trip to Great Barrier Reef is another good one to consider, although worth bearing in mind there are some 'extras' that you may have to pay for such as a stinger suit for jelly fish season.

The location is right next to the shopping centre, which I found very useful as there's a food hall and its nicely air conditioned.

When I had issues with another hostel, Kerri gave me info of other hostels in the area (port Douglas) that I could potentially move over to.

On coming back to cairns from port d, Helen kindly let me store my luggage there while I had to run to the shopping centre to sort a few errands before heading down south.

The staff here are amazing and you won't find service anywhere else that compares to these guys!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12gabrielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We had a very nice stay at the Travellers Oasis. We had booked a delux double, since we were just coming from overseas to start our Australia tour in Cairns. We were greeted very friendly by the two Helens, who took good care of us. We liked the relaxed atmosphere when checking in, we felt welcome and we were given a map and some advice where to go and what to see etc.
Our room was in the second building on the site, which was behind the pool. The room was spacious with TV, fridge and safe. We also had a balcony which was nice with chairs on it and a small table. We did not use the hammock.
The bed was also very nice and comfortable after our long trip.
On the site there is everything you need, e.g. kitchen, laundry, driers, BBQ area, pool, luggage storage and there is always somebody at the reception to help you, although we think the female staff was nicer than the male staff.
The whole site is very nicely decorated. Definitely use the vouchers they give you for bars/food.
It is also nice and quiet and clean and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zwipsel1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Helen really seemed to care about making sure that we had a great time in Cairns. She gave us incredibly helpful advice on rounding out our itinerary and the whole staff was genuinely friendly. Pizza night was also a godsend after trekking around the Atherton Tablelands. Shout out to Rhea for saving us each a pie even though we were late getting back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astrosprout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.6 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
509 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
0.0 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Oasis Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Oasis Backpackers

Property: Travellers Oasis Backpackers
Address: 8 - 10 Scott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Travellers Oasis Backpackers Hostel in Cairns.Travellers Oasis is a charming little guest house offering cosy and clean facilities to the budget conscious traveller, in a friendly and relaxed environment.Centrally located in a quiet area, our guests can relax in our sparkling pool, or lie back in our hammocks and chill out to the music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Travellers Oasis Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Oasis Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing