We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hostel I stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travellers Oasis Backpackers
Ranked #2 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
1 review
“best hostel I stayed in”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I spent 4 nights in Traveller's Oasis 3 in the dorms and one in a room. This is a great hostel, and if I ever wander back in Cairns, it will be my first choice no question asked. Rooms, bathrooms and facilities are all very nice and very, very clean. The place itself is very welcoming. The staff is great and incredibly helpful, and if you need to book some day trips, you really should have a chat with them: their advices were pretty much right on the money as far as I was concerned.

As for the hostel's special events, I only got to try the aussie BBQ, but it was pretty cool and affordable, so no black spot there either.

Definetely a place I recommend eyes closed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    130
    28
    5
    2
See reviews for
21
230
354
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Me and my friend Jess have been staying at Traveller's Oasis for the last 2 months whilst we have been working and have absolutely loved it! It is a home away from home and we have felt so welcomed and relaxed whilst actually being so far from home! We cleaned at the hostel as well and know how high their standards are when it comes to cleanliness. The staff are so friendly and helpful and will help you with any planning or queries when it comes to your trip in Australia. Kerri and Helen have helped us plan and book everything for our adventure down the east coast to make sure we have the most amazing time! The hostel has all the facilities you need, swimming pool, bbq area, living room area with free DVD's, wifi and towels. It is over the road from Cairn's central and around a 10 min walk to the lagoon, perfect for anyone looking for a relaxing and quiet stay but still only a walk away to the center of cairns. Great restaurant/bar directly over the road, called the Green Ant Cantina, which serves such good mexican food and boutique beers! Also definitely try the bbq night if you are staying on a monday night at the hostel to try kangaroo, croc, emu and then have a go in the diggeridoo competition to win a swing bungy! Thursday night is pizza night as well for unlimited pizza and a beer for $10. We will miss all the staff here (and pepper ding ding) very much and will be back! X

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Me and my friend arrived in Cairns and began working at Travellers as cleaners for accomodation for 2 months. It is the nicest hostel we have ever stayed in, it is so homemade made and unique. All the staff are incredibly helpful and friendly and there is a real family atmosphere which makes it a great place to stay when you have been travelling for a long time. The office staff were amazingly helpful when planning our trip down the east coast and know all the best places to stop and stay. There is a BBQ night on a Monday where the owner brings Travellers Oasis and their sister hostel Tropic Days together and everyone tries Kangaroo, Emu and Croc, you can also join in the Didgeridoo competition to try and win a bungee swing. I will definitely recommend it to anyone coming to stay in Cairns.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica_Flavell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orebro, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Yea, it's an amazing place, been here for 5 nights, could EASILY stay for several more if it wasnt for the campervan Ive rented. Great place, superb and friendly staff, room was clean and very relaxing, pool is clean...pizza night was damn affordable! Just a very worthwhile place to do between your moving around. Check out the sister hostel Tropical days if this is full, which it seems to be alot, quite popular place indeed!

Room Tip: Book a head!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matusala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Wien, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed for 6 nights in total, 5 nights in a single room, 1 night in a 4 bed dorm. The hostel is clean with lovely decoration, nice music outside and excellent staff. I had the best time since I started travelling and meet lovely people. the staff was very helpful concerning organizing trips and I really enjoyed my stay to the fullest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights in sept 2012. Was our first stop upon arriving in Australia and really set the tone and standard for hostels on our trip.
The staff were excellent, they couldn't do enough and went out of their way on several occasions to help the guests. They also were really helpful in booking trips and were very knowledgeable.
The rooms were clean and a towel was provided, the only thing lacking was maybe your own lockable locker, however there was a facility at reception. The toilets were fine and cleaned daily.
The kitchen and common areas were ideal with plenty of space and storage.
It's a little walk to the main strip maybe 10mins which was no problem really. If your looking for a nice quiet hostel in a tropical setting then this is the one for you! We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunchaser100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in this hostel for 4 nights whilst visiting Cairns. First impression on arrival, staff were really friendly and keen to help, giving lots of advice about what to do and where to go. Rooms are spotless, no cupboard or locker space but a fridge in each room. Nice communal areas. Short walk to the esplanade. Only negative I'd say was that travelling on my own, some evenings hostel was a bit quiet for my liking, lacked atmosphere but at the same time, pretty relaxing!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirstyL29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
593 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.6 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
1.0 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
0.4 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Oasis Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Oasis Backpackers

Property: Travellers Oasis Backpackers
Address: 8 - 10 Scott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Travellers Oasis Backpackers Hostel in Cairns.Travellers Oasis is a charming little guest house offering cosy and clean facilities to the budget conscious traveller, in a friendly and relaxed environment.Centrally located in a quiet area, our guests can relax in our sparkling pool, or lie back in our hammocks and chill out to the music. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Travellers Oasis Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing