We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not recommend this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travellers Oasis Backpackers
Ranked #2 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Do not recommend this place”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in August. The nice things about it was that there was a frig in the room, mostly friendly staff, spacious common areas, great location, and great kitchen supplies. Things I did not like were questionable if they wash the beddings after each guests stay (my pillow had a very heavy scented cologne scent and you do not bring down your bedding when you checkout), ants in the rooms, very thin walls (could hear everything), very odd business hours 8am-12pm & 4-8p, pay 5$/day for wifi, and no free scheduled shuttle bus to take you around town. Would not stay here again, very dissatisfied.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sunkissed o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travellersoasis, Owner at Travellers Oasis Backpackers, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for your time in letting us know how your stay was at Travellers Oasis, you have given us both very negative and positive comments. Your complaints are unique, I will do my best to explain my view

The concern of us not washing our linen is absolutally unfounded, I can guarantee that your pillow case was freshly washed, as for the smell of cologne? unless you came to the office with it I can not say what you were smelling, we do use fabric softner? and would of happily given you another clean one

We ask our guest not to bring down their linen as a service, kind of like staying at a 5 stay resort, I can't imagine them asking us to do that!

Ants in the room, did you leave some food out on a shelf? we do spray the rooms.

Some of our walls are timber, I am sorry you heard other people in thier rooms, but most are Concrete Blocks, we ask everyone to be quite after 10pm

Office hours have worked for us for 14 years, I am sorry for any inconvenience, we do offer a 24 hour after hours number which comes straight to me

A bus service to drive you around town, we are so close to town, everyone enjoys the stroll.

I except we cannot please every one, but we do try our best to give our guest a fantastic stay.

It is great that you noticed we do offer the very best facilities in the Budget end of the Market, we are continuosly upgrading, mattreses,fridges, kitchen supplies, BBQ area, linen etc, thank you for enjoying these while you were with us

I also do all our landscaping to create our wonderful gardens I am glad you experienced them.

Our staff are always there to help with any problems that may arise.

I hope the rest of your visit to Australia was a great one

Kind regards

Gabriel Thallon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    130
    28
    5
    2
See reviews for
21
230
354
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This was the first place i stayed while traveling down the East Coast. I could not have picked a better place. The staff went beyond the customer service, with so many pieces of advise, help and suggestions. When i wasn't feeling to good, they helped me with getting to a doctor. You can also meet a diverse range of fellow travellers. The rooms were clean and tidy, the kitchen, showers and bathrooms were great. But the big tick in my box was the staff. Thank you guys for everything. James

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James-Lich76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We were here just under a week and it was a really great hostel. Loads of showers, toilets and kitchen areas, as well as great indoor and outdoor communal areas. The pool is great day or night and as it isn't in the centre of town it's pretty quiet if you need a good night's sleep! Easy walk into town through the lovely air-con mall! The staff are all really friendly and helpful and will book the reef trips and thigs for you with morning drop-off at the marina. We had a great stay here and definitely recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We don't usually stay at hostels, we tend to stay in cheap hotels, but on our recent visit to Australia we decided based on the reviews here, to stay at Traveller's Oasis in Cairns.

First of all, the location of the hostel is perfect if you are in Cairns for a quieter time. It's not right in the middle of the action, which for us as a couple was exactly what we wanted, yet everything is well within walking distance of the hostel.

As for the rooms, we booked a deluxe double through HostelWorld but only got a double room- this was down to the booking system and not the hostel's fault. Because of this we were offered free wifi throughout our stay, which was a nice touch. The room itself was good, nice and clean with just a few bugs, to be expected in Cairns though really! Nice comfortable bed. Our only issue was the lack of an ensuite bathroom, as we assumed the "shared" bathroom would mean between two rooms not 3/4. Bathrooms and showers were very clean but often busy and it can be tough at times to go when you need to- our only negative really.

Staff are excellent, right from the beginning whether you book tours with them or not. We didn't, but always felt that if we needed something booking then it would be easy to do. Helen was a fantastic member of staff- friendly, helpful and a Liverpool fan as well (which is the most important!). She especially made us feel at home.

Shared facilities were good, clean kitchen and TV room etc and a nice pool but we weren't really there during the day much to use them! Nice hammocks and eating/socialising areas outside too.

There's some good shopping areas nearby, and loads of places to eat too, at cheap prices compared to our experiences in Sydney and Brisbane. We went to the Aussie Barbecue on the Monday night- only 12 dollars and loads to eat- crocodile, emu, kangaroo and loads of salad. Amazing value and hilarious didgeridoo competition with the owner of the hostel who is a real character. Great time was had by all, and got to know a few new people!

Overall, a great stay- if you're a backpacker I wouldn't hesitate to go back at all. If you're a couple who like ensuite, still go!

Room Tip: Room 13 is nice and quiet, nobody walking past the room and a hammock and table and chairs to yourse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Good location (close to the train station), very helpful and friendly staff, tidy and nice rooms, fresh linen & towels, plus free tea and coffee. The beds and blankets were very comfy.... enjoyed staying there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cairns_perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheb
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Me and my husband spent our honeymoon at this hostel in November 2011 and it was the best decision! very nice and clean, stuff is very friendly and helpful, nice and clean equipment, barbecue was fantastic, kitchen as well and it has a very good location

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marketa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights and loved it - staff super helpful, rooms clean, quiet, great travel advice - honestly wouldn't stay anywhere else. Good location, far enough out of town to miss the noise but close enough to go out in the eve.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
592 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.6 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
1.0 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
0.4 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Oasis Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Oasis Backpackers

Property: Travellers Oasis Backpackers
Address: 8 - 10 Scott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Travellers Oasis Backpackers Hostel in Cairns.Travellers Oasis is a charming little guest house offering cosy and clean facilities to the budget conscious traveller, in a friendly and relaxed environment.Centrally located in a quiet area, our guests can relax in our sparkling pool, or lie back in our hammocks and chill out to the music. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Travellers Oasis Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing