We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff but hostel was nosiy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travellers Oasis Backpackers
Ranked #1 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Helen at the front desk was extremely helpful and informative. We stayed in room 2 which is very close to the main gate. Not the best room as we could hear all the footsteps from the stairs above and travelers checking in late or returning late in the evening were very loud from the main gate. Close to other backpacker lodgings and near the main city streets. Across the street from rail station and supermarket. Each room had a ceiling fan and fridge. No free internet.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lianelau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (936)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

736 - 742 of 936 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2011

I have nothing bad to say about this place. Period.

I'm so glad that this was the first backpackers I stayed in Australia. It's such a nice, cosy and relaxing environment that I really felt so good when I got back there after a long day out or after being away on a 3 day tour. Firstly, the free airport pickup was a great help for people on a budget!

Many thanks go out to John who helped me tremendously with the planning of my Australia trip (Cairns segment). All promises were kept, everything was nicely sorted out when I arrived and I had little to worry about. Helen is also a wonder host in TOB :)

The 12AUD BBQ on that Tuesday is one of my most memorable meals of the whole trip! Croc, emu and roo meat all at once! Not to mention the handy backpacker dinner deals they offer. The kitchens are kept in good condition and are generally clean. I did not use the BBQ grill but many other backpackers used it and it smelt really good!

All is quiet by 10pm. Really peaceful and you get a good night's rest. Cosy bed and sufficient warm stuff are provided to keep us snug through the cool winter night.

Thank you for making the Cairns segment of my trip so delightful :)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela_K09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We stayed in a double room which was very nice and not too expensibe. Just a short walk to the centre, especially during the day when you can walk through the train station. There is a very warm atmosphere in the hostel and the owner is very helpful. He gave us some great tips on things to do in the Tablelands and at the Cape.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BartMarleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Stayed in a single room during my trip through Queensland and it was by far the best hostel on this trip. Extremely clean (never seen a hostel so much cleaner in every respect than my home), nice helpful staff, nice building, fair prices...
Also the location was perfect, close to Cairns Central, but just enough away from the troubles for a good night sleep without noise... On my next trip to Queensland, this hostel is a must!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcus_re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

What a place, this hostel is by far one of the best if not the best!! The staff are welcoming, friendly and extremely helpful. John, Helen and Laura all helped to make our trip to Cairns amazing! The hostel itself is immaculate. There is always somebody keeping the place clean. The rooms are a perfect size and the beds are very comfi!! The common area it superb. It is designed so people mingle together and have a chat. The hostel organises different things during the week to keep you entertained, if you want to take part. We went to the BBQ / Digeridoo competition, it was probably the most fun night ive ever had, gas crack!! Overall, I would highly recommend this hostel and we will certainly be returning at some stage! ; )

Room Tip: Book in advance! popular hostel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ciarabreen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Thanks to John who helped us find somewhere else to stay when the Oasis was full! What a legend! This hostel is clean, cool and cosy! You couldn't ask for more. The rooms are priced well and you will enjoy your stay here. John and Helen in the office have thorough knowledge of the local area and can point you in the right direction on just about anything. If ya looking to chill then this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Single rooms are cool if travelling solo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FASTNET2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Fantastic hostel, great staff, especially John, very helpful and friendly.
Great tour desk there, lots of help with places to go and see. Hot air balloon ride was fab!
Room's are nice, very clean, no bunk beds, yay and my room was quite big with 4 beds.
Hostel located just behind Central shopping centre and is about 10-15 mins to walk to the esplanade.
Only negative thing i have to say is that because it's such a great hostel it's always fully booked and I had to leave for a few nights and go to Dreamtime hostel before coming back for my last night, so i'd recommend booking early to avoid disappointment!
I'd really recommend staying here if your staying in Cairns

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elmz24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
609 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.7 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
0.0 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
1.0 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Oasis Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Oasis Backpackers

Address: 8 - 10 Scott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: $26 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Travellers Oasis Backpackers Hostel in Cairns.Travellers Oasis is a charming little guest house offering cosy and clean facilities to the budget conscious traveller, in a friendly and relaxed environment.Centrally located in a quiet area, our guests can relax in our sparkling pool, or lie back in our hammocks and chill out to the music. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Travellers Oasis Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing