We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but far from town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar
Ranked #34 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This is quite a nice hostel, but bathrooms are very far from the rooms. Place is very far from town, they have a shuttle bus every hour which is good but somewhere closer to the town centre would be easier.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7_Fitz7_7_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
There are newer reviews for Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

238 - 244 of 433 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2014

Rooms were of an average size. Bathroom were ok. Bed was ok. Food was excellent. I wouldn't stay here again as I would try find somewhere closer to the city centre tho they do run a bus that will drop and pick you up every hour. Very helpful on trips at reception aswell.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
Thank Lewis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

If this hostel has come up as one of the cheapest options on your search, just be aware that there are lots of hidden costs when you get there. Laundry, wifi etc all require additional payment. FYI their 4$ a day wifi doesn't work very well!

A lot of the staff are travellers from non-English speaking countries. They usually haven't been there very long so they don't really have much idea of what they're doing. In addition to this, very few speak English particularly well and so this leads to mistakes when booking tours or giving directions. For example, you might be told that your tour will pick you up at 7:50am when actually it's 7:15am. This can lead to huge problems. I wouldn't recommend anyone to book a tour from their Mad Tour counter. It took me two hours to book a scuba diving trip...

Very few people who work here are friendly or helpful. In fact they are quite stand-offish, rude and when you ask a question they look at you like your stupid for not knowing the answer.

Chose somewhere closer to the esplanade. This nomads is a good 20minute walk away.

Don't often leave reviews that aren't positive, but this place was pretty disappointing!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I love everything about this hostel. The beds are fairly priced, plenty of showers and toilets in the bathrooms, there's a swimming pool, an indoor/outdoor area to lounge in, a kitchen, and the bar is fantastic and has $3 AUS backpacker dinners every night (although I recommend trying the veggie burger.) On your first night, you get a free cocktail from the bar. The staff is super friendly and the place is just flowing with good vibes. My friends and I stayed there for three days and every night was just as great as the night before. There's also a shuttle that takes you to to the CBD every hour and runs until 3 in the morning--and it's free to those stating at the hostel! They will also pick you up from the airport for free and will make arrangements for your trip back to the airport. There is also a free shuttle to the Reef Terminal if you're going on a Great Barrier Reef cruise. If you're going to Cairns, do yourself a favor and stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Arrived early in the morning and the hostel came to pick us up at the airport. Great. First room (8C-6 sharing mixed dorm) had broken air con and smelled bad. Chose to upgrade to a private twin room and that was much better! Bathrooms were shared on each floor and always pretty clean-no complaints here. Great common area, pool and bar! Free shuttle into cairns was fab. Most of the staff were great, a couple struggled to understand us. One staff member (Margo?) was a bit difficult.
I would probably stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank bethanygraceabbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in a private king room which was great value for money. Staff were very helpful and we booked two day trips through mad travel downstairs and both were fantastic!! Wifi was good 12 dollars unlimited for a week. Room was really cosy flat screen tv. Location wasn't a problem for us as we drove but it's quite a walk from centre of town. Free parking on site. Good pool area. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

I love this hostel. From the cheap meals and fairly priced beds, to the clean showers and toilets it's comfortable to stay. Some of the guests can take the Mickey drinking late but all in all it's a good place to stay in cairns. I'll definitely stay again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Thank grandmaaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.6 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
0.0 mi away
Edge Apartments
Edge Apartments
#50 of 84 in Cairns
37 reviews
0.6 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Njoy Travellers Resort
Njoy Travellers Resort
#11 of 84 in Cairns
356 reviews
1.1 mi away
Caravella Backpackers
Caravella Backpackers
#8 of 84 in Cairns
488 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Cove Waterfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar

Address: 341 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: $29 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nomads Cairns backpackers resort is a 4 ½ star AAA rated budget accommodation with resort style facilities and onsite Serpent Bar, and has been designed to provide you with a great night's sleep. Located only minutes away from the Cairns Esplanade, gateway to the Great Barrier Reef, it includes everything you need to enjoy Tropical North Queensland in style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Serpent Cairns Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing