We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best Value for your money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bellview

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cairns
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bellview
Save
You added The Bellview to your Saves list
Ranked #33 of 68 Hotels in Cairns
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best Value for your money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

I have stayed at the Bellview Hotel many times over the past 23 years and have always found the hotel to be clean, friendly, and the location could not be more perfect. The hotel, while located in the middle of the busiest street in Cairns, has most rooms set back from the street and is quiet at night. The hotel is ideally located to allow quick access to the harbor (to get to your tour boat to the reef) quickly and is a across from the lagoon swimming pool. The rooms consist of anything from a hostel dorm to nice single en suite rooms, and the cost is very reasonable. The staff are mostly Cairns' natives who are thoroughly knowledgeable about every attraction and tour in the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    63
    25
    8
    4
See reviews for
11
47
37
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Location on the Esplanade offers easy access to all parts of town. Restaurants, the Night Market (with all-day food hall), and cafes with Wi-Fi at
just a stone's throw. Very competent staff can willingly arrange trips of virtually any description and price range. Pleasant swimming pool, never overcrowded. There is a good variety of rooms, all immaculately clean and well cared for. We had a small double, with twin beds. Efficient overhead fan. Wash basin in room, and shower room close by.
Fridge for guest use on each floor. Communal kitchen is small but adequate, with large fridge and plenty utensils. Pleasant lounge area with TV, and quite a good selection of books Just one draw-back. The hostellers in the next-door establishment can be very noisy late at night. The Bellview night staff, however, are not slow to complain on their guests' behalf!!!! Transport TO airport can be easily arranged by staff.
Booking on the net efficient

Room Tip: As a couple ,ask for room on first floor( in same block as kitchen) overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ianmiln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

stayed at bellview twice since the first time, nothing has changed, perfect position, perfect rooms, and very hospitable staff, excellent price, highly recommended to anyone

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twoofusVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at the Bellview and chose it because of its reviews in Trip Adviser and its location AND because one of the owners was extremely helpful with advice on email to help us to maximize our time in Cairns during our 2.5 day visit. She was a jewel!

In addition, the hotels staff is super competent and knowledgeable in providing addition advice about the different touring possibilities (with some discounts as well; the location on the Esplanade could not be more central yet the hotel is well-run, very clean, and incredibly quiet. They have a common kitchen facility which was well used and a common laundry room which was very convenient. They did not have any wifi but the McDonalds at the end of the block (3 minutes walk) did have wifi. And you get all of this at a very reasonable price!

Room Tip: Lots of room variety so just ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1sma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

We stayed in a double room with air conditioning for $65 p/n. Room a good size. Generally the decor needed updating but OK value for money. Clean and light rooms. Outer walls onto balcony seemed to be made of overlapping metal plates, although not a problem as the communal areas were quiet at night (I had ear plugs in anyway just in case and couldn't hear a thing!) but this is just an example of how the Bellview is simple, budget accomodation, nothing plush. Facilities included tea and coffee, fridge, communal kitchen, swimming pool, lounge with TV and tour booking service. We didn't book anything through them though, we got a good discount on our trip to the Whitsundays through Travel Bugs and there are many, many agents to choose from in Cairns. Staff fairly helpful. Excellent location right in the centre of the Esplanade with the marina and seaside just over the road. A good base for a couple of nights in Cairns.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Weeza25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria au
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

I took two teenage boys to cairns last week, we got two motel type rooms at the Bellview Backpackers that had everything you would expect, tv with good reception, comfy beds, clean room, no bed bugs, fridge and a aircon that did work not forgetting a nice pool to cool off in. the staff are great, they will organize your Great Barrier Reef diving trip, Ski diving. Jet Skis, Cable Skiing, White Water Rafting and your Daintree Visit, you gotta try Quad Bikes in Carranda, that was great fun too, these are just a few things we did in cairns and it was very well priced, Cafe;s are not cheap so use the kitchen at the bellview for all your meals. Thanks Bellview for a great stay

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eontee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

I discovered this hotel while walking down the Eslpanade in Cairns. The staff was very friendly. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The location can't be beat.Right on the Esplanade in the center of everything.
Options for every budget.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MiamiTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#64 of 68 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#58 of 68 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 stars 308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairns Aquarius
Cairns Aquarius
#22 of 68 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aspect Central Motel
Aspect Central Motel
#30 of 68 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cairns Waterfront Backpackers
0.1 mi away
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
#13 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bellview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bellview

Property: The Bellview
Address: 85 - 87 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
The Bellview Hotel Cairns
Bellview Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing