We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very good and very bad -depends on what you consider important” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cairns Holiday Lodge

Cairns Holiday Lodge
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cairns Holiday Lodge
Ranked #55 of 68 Hotels in Cairns
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very good and very bad -depends on what you consider important”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Now I understand why the reviews for this place are so contrasting. The owners are lovely and can't do enough for you. The location is close to town but also a short distance from the airport.

However, our particular room is in need of maintenance. The door lock is only home style and you need to remember to push the lock in. The kitchen equipment was not clean. There is a sign saying you will be charged $10 if you don't was dishes. Our room had an overwhelming odor of cleaning chemicals. The room is only cleaned every 6 days and towels replaced every 3 days..

There are no lifts so you need to lug the bags upstairs. Ask for ground floor if stairs are an issue.

Wifi was patchy even if you stood under the router. But patchy wifi is common in cairns. I stay in cairns often and still can't find accommodation with wifi that is good enough for work purposes.

Overall this place is ok if you decide to overlook some discomfort but I do not think they can justify the room rate. There are better facilities for the same price nearby. Having said that, some travelers need to stay where they feel love and companionship and support - if that is the case, stay here. I can imagine that if you came to Cairns for health treatment, this place would be ok.

Room Tip: No lifts so ask for ground floor if this is an issue. Stairs are steep and can be slippery if it rai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank _iJane_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Darwen, UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The Cairns Holiday Lodge is a great motel on the edge of Cairns. The motel is only a 15 minute drive from the airport and a 15-20 minute walk from the middle of Cairns. The area is quite apart from the main road but the traffic noise is hardly noticeable. There are fast food restaurants and mini-supermarkets just down the road from the motel so food getting is no problem.
The motels rooms are tidy and have a small kitchen area with cooker and a fridge. The motel also has 2 laundry rooms which were a godsend after arriving with a suitcase of dirty washing (after a tour of Java and Bali). There is even a small pool if you want to relax after a hard days sightseeing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andychem18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed here for a week and thought it was great. Clean rooms, very quiet. About a 25 min walk to Cairns city centre. Suzie was very helpful with all aspects of our stay, including booking tours for us. Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sbug79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

Once again Susie and Mike have excelled. They were more than attentive to our needs, always available. Rooms were spotlessly clean. Sure air conditioner was loud but ceiling fans were more than adequate. See you next September!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank watto67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

This motel is a little outside the centre of Cairns (about 30 minutes walk). Very helpful and nice owners, and reasonable sized room. The downside is the air-con which is very loud, but you really need to use it in Cairns.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UkOscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

Booked into this motel after booking out of an absolute abhorent lesuire park (that had 4 stars). Managers couldn't have been more helpful, I was on my own with four children attending a soccer carnival. Rooms were more than adequate, infact my room was the central room for early morning meetings with the boys. Central to everything...even night markets. Only complaint was the lack of off street parking. Recommend this hotel

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank watto67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

Friendly people, very nice welcome. Organise trips for you, very informative. Some noise at the week-ends but we called them and they sorted the problem. Called us and helped us with our luggage at 3am for our flight. Could not have asked for a nicer more relaxing stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lola2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment
0.7 mi away
Sunshine Tower Hotel Cairns
1.0 mi away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#64 of 68 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cairns Southside International
0.1 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#6 of 68 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 495 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aspect Central Motel
Aspect Central Motel
#30 of 68 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Holiday Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Holiday Lodge

Property: Cairns Holiday Lodge
Address: 259 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 68 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairns Holiday Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Cairns Holiday Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing