We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful and convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Terraces Cairns

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
City Terraces Cairns
Ranked #33 of 88 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful and convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

We spent 4 nights there.
The Owners, Phil and Cheryl were very friendly and helpful.
The accommodations were excellent and very spacious. We had a separate bedroom, bathroom and a kitchen / living room area as well as a great balcony overlooking the pool. The parking garage was under the hotel and very secure.
The location was fabulous. Various activities in the area provided shuttle service from the hotel to their facility. And we were just a few blocks away from downtown and oodles of great restaurants and stores.
Phil and Cheryl have walls of brochures of activities to do in the area and are able to help arrange them for you.
We had a wonderful time there.
I would, however, want to give advance warning to Americans . . .
In Hotels in America the front lobby is open 24/7 and there is a hotel employee manning the front desk for your convenience 24/7. Apparently it is somewhat common for hotels in Australia to close at 6:00 pm. You need to arrive before that, as the front desk will be closed. We, unfortunately had met with 3 such situations. You may want to get a copy of their policies. Phil and Cheryl were most understanding, but . . . be prepared.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony over the pool - It is so relaxing to sit out there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gerielou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    26
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
23
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

I spent two weeks in Cairns on business, and the one bedroom self contained unit is perfect for me.

City Terraces is 5 minutes from Cairns Central Shopping Centre, and also within walking distance to the Esplanade. It's surprisingly quiet and the rooms are recently done up. The bedroom, bathroom and the living area is quite spacious. The unit I stayed in has balcony that overlooking a pretty decent sized swimming pool. I particularly enjoyed the natural light in the living room, so I didn't need to switch on light during daytime.

The manager Phil and his wife Cheryl are wonderful hosts, they are always cheerful and ready for a chat. Each morning on my way to work I always get a big smile and cheerful greetings from Cheryl. They made my stay so much more enjoyable!

Will definitely stay here again on my next visit to Cairns.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank kitliao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

From initial check in to departure, the piece of mind not to mention the service was outstanding . On a very short list the location, the service and the facility get a sincere " would definitely stay again" rating

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuitep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Our stay here was wonderful, we were greeted fantastically and everything surpassed our expectations. Being able to walk past lizards, and toads and watch the flying foxes overhead come dusk was absolutely divine! Phil & Cheryl were an absolutely wonderful couple to deal with and their first hand experience of tours and trips was perfect when it came to going out and about was perfect! Couldn't have asked for anything more. Our stay here was amazing and we will definitely be coming back again. :)

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazizaspaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Lovely spotlessly clean spacious apartments in a nice quiet area but still within walking distance of all the bars and restaurants.
Phil and Cheryel the managers were lovely,extremely helpful with any information and booking trips to the local attractions
They are very careful to match your needs to the correct company and do not just try and sell you anything,nothing was too much trouble for them and they ensured our stay was very comfortable.
If ever I was to return to Cairns in the future I would definitely stay here again.
I would recommend the City Terraces without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richardod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Very helpful and friendly staff, arranged local trips at very good prices. Very clean and had everything i needed for a memorable stay. Help was always available with planning excursions and where to go for the best shopping deals.
I will definitely be staying there when i return, very relaxed atmosphere and will highly recommend the City Terraces

Room Tip: My room was facing the police station but had a good view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 34Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Whenever I return to Cairns for a few days R&R, City Terraces is the place for me to stay. Close to all things Cairns has to offer with quiet comfortable spacious apartments. With friendly management who make you feel welcome, this is the place for me to unwind.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.5 mi away
Mid City Luxury Suites
Mid City Luxury Suites
#40 of 68 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cairns Central Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Citysider Holiday Apartments
0.5 mi away
Koala Court Holiday Apartments
0.5 mi away
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Terraces Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Terraces Cairns

Property: City Terraces Cairns
Address: 63 - 65 McLeod St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites City Terraces)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 88 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Terraces Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SELF CONTAINED APARTMENT COMPLEX IN CAIRNS CBD.... 1 Bedroom Apartment - sleeps 2pax - additional/separate bedding (sofa) can be provided with charges applying (max3). All apartments are SELF CONTAINED with separate BEDROOM - Queen Bed, separate BATHROOM (shower over bath), KITCHEN, LIVING/DINING area leading onto a spacious BALCONY. 2 Bedroom / 2 Bathroom Apartment - sleeps 4pax - additional/separate bedding (rollaway) can be provided with charges applying (max5) Bedding is a King and 2 Singles Beds Self contained with FULL KITCHEN includes cooktop, separate oven, dishwasher, microwave, LIVING/DINING area - all apartments have a PRIVATE BALCONY Main BEDROOM (King Bed) with ENSUITE (shower), Second BEDROOM (2 Single Beds) spacious Main Bathroom (shower). City Terrace Apartments - location is extremely important and CITY TERRACES is in the ideal location.... a short walk to the Cairns Central Shopping Centre, the Esplanade tourist precinct and the commercial business offices. COMPLEX is an elegant Queensland style building set back from neighbouring building making it extremely quiet and peaceful. There is a range of facilities to make your stay a pleasant and enjoyable such as the large saltwater swimming pool set in tropical gardens, BBQ area with outdoor dining, ample FREE UNDERCOVER and SECURE car parking, guest laundry, tour desk and FREE internet access (limits apply). Self Catering apartments are not serviced daily. A mid-stay freshen up is included for all stays of 8ns+. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your City Terraces Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing