We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lakes Cairns Resort
Ranked #40 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent resort”
Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 6 years ago so we hoped it would be just as good, it was just as I remembered except even better as our room opened out into the pool ☀️ we luv it here, great value for money and lovely staff, thank you,

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angieNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakesCairnsResort, General Manager at The Lakes Cairns Resort, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Good Afternoon

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
Your opinion is greatly sppreciated. We are exremely happy that you enjoyed your stay & that you feel you received value for money.
Thank you for the lovely comments & we hope our lovely staff can help you again in the future.
Please call us direct so we can offer you a return guest discount. We look forward to you reutrning.
Kind Regards
Debbie Brighton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    189
    87
    40
    42
See reviews for
271
132
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Superb resort, beautiful gardens & four stunning pools & a very large spa to chose from. We stayed for 5 days in a two bedroom apt, very close to the airport and a 5 min drive to central city. When I booked I asked for a ground floor apartment if possible, which I was given, the apartment was great, the pool was right outside our patio. Very quiet and secure. During the week while we were there we had the pools to ourselves most of the time. Definitely the only place we will stay at if we go back to Cairns. We stayed at 2 other places in the Daintree & the last night in Cairns before flying out but these were no match for The Lakes.
the only fault was there was no wifi.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSPortStephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakesCairnsResort, General Manager at The Lakes Cairns Resort, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Good Afternoon

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
We agree our grounds & pools are stunning & it is wonderful to know we meet your expectations

Your comments are very much appreciated & we are working on the wifi so by the time you next visit us it should be available.
Please call us direct to receive a return guest discount.

Kind regards
Debbie Brighton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Terrible visit to this resort!
On flying in to cairns the resort 'forgot' to come and get us despite us calling them 24hrs before our trip to confirm plans. They simply told us to get a taxi to the resort.
Room was nice but very far from reception and we had a guest with an injury to their leg. Had to go to reception for everything as you couldn't call reception and get what you wanted.
Had a restaurant but was too limited in food and very expensive!
Tried to play tennis multiple times but it was either booked out or the times to play were unrealistic.
Staff were rarely helpful and very rude to other guests in front of us.
I would recommend you find anywhere else to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank angel_5587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for a week. The resort is large and consists of individually owned apartments with central management. There seemed to be a lot of permanent residents too. Note that the apartments are only serviced when you leave, so if you are staying for more than 2-3 days you'll need to buy supplies such as shampoo, dish detergent etc. an initial supply is provided.
Our apartment was lovely - well appointed and very clean. It was on the ground floor, facing one of the pools. It was in the centre of the resort, so well away from any road noise. It was 1304 - recommended!
It's about a 30 min walk or a $10-13 taxi ride from downtown Cairns. There's a small IGA supermarket on the nearby main road and a selection of restaurants. The Thai restaurant was good.
The resort is near the airport, so the planes are quite low, but they stop at about 10 pm and don't start until 6 am. We only really noticed them during the day and they didn't really bother us. If you close the doors and windows you'd have no trouble with the noise keeping a baby awake.
There are multiple pools at the resort and they are all stunning - beautifully kept and designed for all needs and abilities. There's sandy beaches for little ones and a lap pool for competent swimmers, plus several other general purpose pools.
We were stranded indoors while Cyclone Ita passed through Cairns. If we had been in a single hotel room we would have gone stir crazy.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mitch0064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I have mixed reviews about this place. Location great. Pools and gardens were beautiful, have to say.
When I booked I asked if I could have one of the renovated rooms, as other reviews stated they were better. Sadly upon arrival, we obviously got one of the older rooms. The bathroom was in need of update as the tiles were grotty and stained. The washing machine and dryer were temperamental and the ants loved any food left in the kitchen. We quickly learnt to place food scraps in the fridge before throwing in the skip bin. Our allocated parking bay was taken by someone else and it took some time for something to be done about that. Only one night did party goers continue into the wee small hours, which was annoying.
For the price it was a good deal.

Room Tip: It doesn't seem to matter if you have a request...they don't seem to care whether they accom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katcagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

If your traveling with kids this place is amazing. We stayed in a beautiful 2 bedroom apartment. 2 adults and 3 kids and had plenty of room. Ours was 1503 incredible ground floor directly in front of the best pool of the 4 there. Our own pool fence for direct access was so convenient. The room was extremely clean and the main city only 5 mins away. Air con is great in all bedrooms as well. If you need a 2 bedroom ask for 1503 you will not be disappointed :)

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunsetbreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.8 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.7 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
2.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.6 mi away
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
#19 of 64 in Cairns
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lakes Cairns Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lakes Cairns Resort

Property: The Lakes Cairns Resort
Address: 2 Greenslopes St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lakes Cairns Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lakes Cairns Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lakes Cairns Resort And Spa
The Lakes Cairns Hotel Cairns
Lakes Resort Cairns
Lakes Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing