We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lakes Cairns Resort
Ranked #39 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This residential resort complex has many permanent residents, however we did not experience much disturbance during our recent 8 x day stay here. The pools were all clean and the gardens were immaculate and filled with amazing tropical plants! Our 2 x bedroom apartment had one bathroom which was a good size and separate toilet. The kitchen was well stocked and we used the microwave and stove a few times. Had 2 x meals at Tuscan Table restaurant on the grounds and the staff were friendly and food very good. The rest of the nights we cooked easy meals and found the IGA store out the back gate very handy!!! The only complaint would be that the living room did not have a DVD player and I would have taken along a portable one had I known this...
the shuttle service that runs hourly from the resort into town was a fantastic service which cost us $7 each for a ticket for the day and cannot speak highly enough of Simon the bus driver...he was a wealth of knowledge for all our questions and all round fun guy who really helped us out.
We would have no hesitation in staying here again and whilst it is close to the airport, we only noticed the planes when the first flight out went over about 6am...after that we were up and ready for the day out to yet another amazing place around this area!

Room Tip: 605 was great for us and would stay in this apartment again!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bali2u0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 199 of 621 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

Be warned that most of the residents of this complex are permanent residents, who seem to live a noiser than average life. Parking on the streets is virtually nonexistent (though underneath parking seemed readily available), lots of noise and parties, apartment complexes are cheek to jowl, ground floor does not necessarily mean no stairs, the apartment we stayed in was jaded and dated, hallways and lobby were not airconditioned and were horribly hot and stuffy and claustophobic as a result. Onsite restaurant was a bit pricy for what we got, and the food was predictable, but we enjoyed it. I could find no direct phone number to the complex - just a number which served several resorts, and which went through to an answering machine.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunshine747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This was booked as part of a Qantas holiday package. We were a group of two families, with two different apartments. Both apartments were immaculate and well equipped. The pools were very well maintained. Unfortunately several of the barbecues located by the pools were not working, but this did not particularly bother us given that the apartment kitchens had microwaves, hobs and full-sized ovens. Would definitely return to the resort without hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here for a night before flying out. Very convenient and close to the airport however you do get aircraft noise because of this, but I don't think there are any flights through the night, well not that we heard anyway! I could imagine it would be a bit far from the city and other things to do if you wanted to stay here for a while though. Not that its the hotels problem, but I found the phone service very poor (Telstra) and in the room couldn't get 3G which was frustrating trying to do some work and emails.
Having said that we were there with family and for the one afternoon really enjoyed swimming in the pools, and the kids loved the beach pools which were really well done. We ate at the hotels 'Tuscan Table' and found it a really nice place and they were very helpful with the kids.
The rooms were really nice and spacious (2 b/room) and caters well for our family of 3 kids. Might be on the dearer side, but we found it was the best priced option for our size family and felt very much at home due to the nice size of the apartment. Facilities in the room were really good including full kitchen, laundry etc.

Stayed: October 2012
Thank Nat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My family stayed here for 7 mights in October and the room was magnificent. Spacious and well equipped it was just perfect for a family of four.
The staff do a fantastic job keeping the complex (which is huge) clean and well maintained. People on the front desk are very helpful.The three pools we visited were fantastic! Only problem was that a couple of the BBQ's had either been removed or were not working which was disappointing.

The only problem is that it is a long way from the city. The shuttle bus is great but it does cost ($20 for a family) and stops running at 4:30.
Mind you the driver, Simon, was absolutely the nicest person we met on the trip. Full of helpful tips and information, he was able to help out with a lot of information. It is worthwhile getting a trip into Woolworths or Coles to do some shopping when you arrive so you can stock up on supplies as the prices from the in-house litle shop and even the small supermarket around the corner have limited stock.

The restaurant looked nice but the prices were a bit expensive for the family to use.

Overall it was a great place to base ourselves as all the tour companys pick you up from the front door.
One tip - check the weather forecast BEFORE booking a trip to the reef. Windy weather will result in very bad sea sickness and poor visability at the reef.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussie1Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Just come back from a weeks stay.First time to Cairns.We had 2 apartments which were immaculate and it was a joy to go out and come back to made beds,clean place..heaven on holiday :0)The kitchen had everything we needed.We did day trips to The Kuranda Village and our highlight was Green Island.We had 2 teenagers who made full use of the pools.Had 2 nights at the resort restaurant.The food was superb.Good little shop for all your basic needs.We ended up not even going to the supermarket and just getting things from there.Great lobby with sooo many leaflets on things to do.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shelley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed in unit 1313 on the first floor. Units are arranged in different apartment blocks with 3 floors. Ours was a two bedroom and it looked just like the one on the website.
Unit was very clean and had everything you need, even a coffee plunger! Blanco oven and cooktop, dishwasher, very spacious, comfy king size bed.
As far as the accommodation is concerned my only complaint was the couch was uncomfortable and needed updating but that was no big deal. The outdoor room was sensational and we ate our meals outside every evening.
Check in and out was smooth and we had three included trips, green island, kuranda and the zoo/Hartleys croc farm, in the package we purchased.
The place has 4 pools and beautiful gardens, very clean and well kept.
The resort is in north Cairns which is a little bit out of town but it was a nice 40 minute walk along the esplanade, there is also a shuttle bus that you can use all day for 20 dollars return for a family of 4. Simon the bus driver is very knowledgable and friendly.
The resort has a kiosk with basics and even some alcohol so very convenient.
The restaurant onsite is called Tuscan table, we had breakfast there one morning, it was nice.
We preordered our groceries through Woolworths and had them delivered to our unit the day we arrived which was awesome and saved time and effort.
All in all was a nice place to stay and the weather was 30 degrees every day!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blowey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.8 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
1.6 mi away
Cascade Gardens
Cascade Gardens
#19 of 63 in Cairns
201 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
#20 of 63 in Cairns
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bay Village Tropical Retreat
0.7 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
627 reviews
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lakes Cairns Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lakes Cairns Resort

Address: 2 Greenslopes St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $107 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lakes Cairns Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Lakes Cairns Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lakes Cairns Hotel Cairns
The Lakes Cairns Resort And Spa
Lakes Resort Cairns
Lakes Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing