We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better late than never”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Reef Gateway Apartments
Ranked #53 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at the Reef Gateway last year in October and promised I would write a review. As the title says better late than never I guess and I'm finally doing it. At the time there was not many positive reviews about the apartments but from reading current reviews I am so glad this has changed. We have been visiting Cairns for the past 5yrs or so and have stayed in a few different places. The week or so we spent at the Reef Gateway was fantastic. I could not fault the apartments themselves or the friendly service from Tony. They are perfect for a family getaway without breaking the budget. We were in #6 I think from memory at the rear, one flight up. The apartments were roomy, modern and most importantly clean. Swimming pool kept our daughter amused every day. Maybe the only thing I could possibly fault was the water pressure. Not a big deal though. We are not heading to Cairns this year but will definitely be staying here next time. Like the old saying goes - when you're on a good thing stick to it!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 107 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

From the outset booking this apartment was a pleasure. The apartment was great and very affordable. We had one small child and a baby and the manager offered to pick up all our hired baby things to save us a delivery charge and to put away our groceries that we booked on line when they arrived. The apartment had everything you expect with managers that really care about their guests. If you are going to visit Cairns STAY here and you will be happy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Arrived late but we were met with a friendly smile, given good information for local shops, restaurants and takeaways. The accommodation was very clean and tidy in fact it looked like the photo we saw on the internet. The air conditioning was a unit per room so you could have your bedroom cooler than the living area and good parking for the higher car. After we left we received an Email thanking us for leaving the accommodation as we found it, which was very nice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BobG57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReefGatewayApts, Manager at Reef Gateway Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

We very much thank you for your review. We try to make everyone's stay as comfortable as possible and we have no problem giving advice to the best of our knowledge or we will find out for you. We hope you had a safe trip home and have fond memories of Cairns. Garrie & Angie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I am currently staying here for leisure purposes, and would highly recommend it to anyone in Cairns. The rooms are fitted with air conditioning, laundry and kitchen. Upper level (level 3) are townhouses, and I have found this has been fantastic, as it provides that little bit of privacy. There is a nice BBQ and swimming pool in the garden area. A little out of town, but worth the 20 minute+ walk to catch the nice ocean breeze from the esplanade.

Room Tip: If you want privacy ask for the top level town housed styled-apartments. These in fact are slightly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SydneyAngel_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReefGatewayApts, Manager at Reef Gateway Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Hi Alicia, Thank you for your excellent review and we hope the remainder of your stay is as enjoyable. We also find the townhouse style apartments are popular because of the privacy aspect and also they tend to be quiter as well as being much larger than our other apartments. Hopefully we will see you again in the future. Thanks again....Garrie & Angie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I have stayed at the Reef Gateway Apartments on my last 3 trips to Cairns. The prices are very competitive, the units are spacious, the managers Garrie & Angie are welcoming and helpful and it's in a great location. The Cock & Bull is very close and has great value meals that are huge and the Esplanade is only a few minutes walk away.

I am a sales rep so just use it as a place to sleep but when I have a holiday in Cairns with my family we will be staying at the Reef Gateway Apartments.

Cheers,

Shane Ervin
CA Australia

Room Tip: The units on the top floor (3rd floor) are a townhouse style with the main bedroom upstairs and ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank knackers32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReefGatewayApts, Manager at Reef Gateway Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Hi Shane, Thank you your review and it is always a please having you with us. Hopefully we will see you and your family next time. Stay safe! Garrie & Angie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

This had to be one of the kids favorite places. First we had two separate bedrooms with a kitchen, living room, and in suite laundry. Next we were right next to the pool which was great for the kids. They loved it! Biggest difference from a hotel is that we had to do our own dishes, but that was easy compared to the value. Two very enthusiastic thumbs up!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dweebman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReefGatewayApts, Manager at Reef Gateway Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for your comments and yes the apartments can be handy to the pool and BBQ area. The apartments contain everything you need and a more personal service than a hotel. Thank you again for choosing Reef Gateway Apartments. GArrie & Angie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed in the Reef Gateway Apartments Nov 28 - Dec 03 2012. It is located 20 min walk from the city center where the big food store, souvenir shops and restaurants are located. It may be inconvenient to stay there without a car. There is a construction site not far from appartments, while it produced some noise starting relatively early in the morning it was not big problem for us. We stayed in a standard room which was spacious with full kitchen, washer, dryer, plenty space to cook and eat. Overwall the room had everything that we needed. Air Conditioners were of quite old model and could have been better. The room was located on 3rd store and there is no elevator. It was getting very hot during the day. BBK area is very nice. Managers(or owners?) are very nice people, they took good care of us and had very good answers to our questions and recomendations on top of that.

Overall we were very happy with the apartments. I think it is great value for money. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IlyaDergalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReefGatewayApts, Manager at Reef Gateway Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and you were happy with your apartment. Thank you for your excellent review and please come back again if you are in Far North Queensland. Garrie & Angie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.0 mi away
Mid City Luxury Suites
Mid City Luxury Suites
#36 of 63 in Cairns
47 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cascade Gardens
Cascade Gardens
#20 of 63 in Cairns
195 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cairns Tropical Garden Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
614 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coral Towers Holiday Suites
0.5 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#22 of 63 in Cairns
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Gateway Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Gateway Apartments

Address: 239 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $81 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef Gateway Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We can offer you self-contained holiday accommodation in 1 or 2 bedroom apartments that contain everything that you want to make your holiday as enjoyable as possible. We are located an easy 15 minute walk from the centre of Cairns and the stunning Esplanade Lagoon, and just one block from the Esplanade. Your apartment can be a ground floor apartment with patio, a balcony apartment or a townhouse style apartment. For the person who likes to keep in contact with work and friends, we offer wireless internet in all apartments. All apartments are fully air-conditioned with ceiling fan in the lounge room. Included in each apartment is a full kitchen, laundry and a large lounge room with free Austar cable television. Relax by our floodlit salt water swimming pool complete with spa. The adjoining gas barbecue, surrounded by tropical plants, is in the pool area, and is set in the centre of the property far away from the sounds of traffic. We have an accredited Tour Desk, where we can assist you in the selection of the best tour for you. We do not have preferred operators, so our advice is unbiased and the service is free of charge. All major tour operators will pick you up from our front door and return you to your accommodation at the end of the day. Car hire can be arranged, and we will assist you with maps and advice to help you plan your self-drive excursions. Hire car pick up from the Airport can also be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reef Gateway Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Gateway Apartments Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing