We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Reef Gateway Apartments
Ranked #53 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed September 27, 2011

stayed for a week on a friends recommendation.
Had a town house type of room for the 4 of us, the room was spotless
and had everthing you would need for aholiday as well as a large plasma/lcd to keep the
kids entertained,fantastic pool with a great bbq area.
Gary and Ange the managers were fantastic, couldnt be more helpful.
Suggested a number of tours, as there are so many to choose from,
we took their advice and each one was better then expected.
An easy walk to the esplanade and all the shops, so didnt have to spend more money on a car.
will definetly go back and have already recommended the place to friends.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 107 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stayed here in apartment 4 (2 bedrooms, one bathrrom) for a week. The apartment is small but has everything you need. It was clean and comfortable. It is a 20 minute walk to the CBD and reef terminal. There is a shop nearby for groceries and a great Indonesian restaurant just 2 minutes walk away. The hospital is directly opposite and we were a little worried about noise but we didn't hear anything. The manager was always helpful and made us welcome. I would stay here again if we were to return to Cairns. All the apartments are privately owned so would probably request the same one so we knew what we were getting. The air con is a little dated and a bit noisy but it was cool at night so we didn't need to use it. There were no ceiling fans either which may be a problem in the height of summer.

Room Tip: Check on what air conditioning/fans are in the apartment before booking in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BalouAliceSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReefGatewayApts, Manager at Reef Gateway Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2011

Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and that particular apartment is the only one in the complex without a ceiling fan. Hopefully when you need a break from the "red dirt" around Alice Springs we will see you again. Cheers, Garrie & Angie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed here while traveling in Australia and found our unit well equipped, extremely clean and had a pleasing decor. The grounds and pool were well maintained and the managers were extremely accommodating ensuring an early check-in as our flight was early in the day. They were extremely informative providing a map with lots of extra info on check in. We were well taken care of throughout our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MWE30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

This is a really good accommodation, particularly if you are travelling with your family (around 4 people). That was my case. We paid around $140 per night for a very good 2 bedrooms apartment, with a nice living room and kitchen.

The managers were relatively helpful with advice about things to do in Cairns. However, not exceptionally good. It seems that they have partnerships with some companies that provide tours, so they try to book for you the ones they are partners with. So, me and my family preferred to arrange our tour bookings by ourselves.

The apartments complex is quite nice as well. They have a good salt-water swimming pool that you can enjoy. It is handy considering the hot weather in Cairns.

The bedrooms were very good. Clean and comfortable. Oh, but bear in mind one thing. This is not a hotel. They do not have housekeeping, and you have to maintain the apartment reasonably organized and cleaned, even at check-out time.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrebello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

We considered the Reef Gateway Apartment to be a really lucky find. The 2 bedroom apartment was spacious, spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished. The kitchen was fully equipped and had a laundry area with washer and tumble drier, a real bonus on a five week trip.The apartment had a balcony with electric barbecue and was a lovely area to sit and eat looking out over the beautiful and well kept tropical garden, pool and communal barbecue.The apartments are well situated for shops, restaurants and only a 10 minute walk to the centre of Cairns. Garrie and his partner were extremely friendly and helpful and Garrie gave us lots of tips on places to shop and eat. We particularly liked P J O'Briens with their meals and a drink for 10 dollars. Thanks Garrie. I would recommend Reef Gateway to anyone looking for a clean,comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisLynn53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Lovely managers, nice tidy two bed unit.
Stayed here a few months ago on business and was happy enough to bring the family back for a short holiday.
Has a nice BBQ/pool area and gardens and is an easy walk down the esplanade to the tour boats, public swimming pool, cafe's and restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BruceWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2010

I have stayed in many self-catering accommodation all over the world with my young family and have never had an experience like it! Firstly they tried to overcharge on the accommodation I booked over the internet, when we got there the manager got us to sign some piece of paper that allows him to charge for excess cleaning if required. When we departed the accom we left the apartment spotless in better condition than when we arrived. The manager mentioned something about a dirty BBQ (that was already dirty when we arrived). I offered to go back and clean it just to be polite, but he declined and said not to worry that he would not charge anything. Then he decided to charge an extra $55.00 on my credit card for excess cleaning without my consent. BE CAREFUL - I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO ANYONE!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sonya_browne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReefGatewayApts, Manager at Reef Gateway Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2010

It's a shame peole like this can have such a large and ongoing impact on people and places like ours. The "piece of paper" Ms Browne mentioned was in fact the "Guest Registration Form" that each and every Guest receives on arrival and if Ms Browne has travelled all over the world I'm sure she would have completed one of these type of forms in every place she stayed; they are nothing new. As with all self-catering accommodation it is the responsibility of the Guest to at least make an attempt to be clean and tidy while in the apartment as well on departure. When you have impressional children with you it really is a matter of teaching them to be clean and hygenic but this wasn't the case here. At departure Ms Browne requested a late check-out which I agreed to for an hour as we had more Guests arriving for the same apartment, but she took over 2 hours which immediately put us behind in our cleaning schedule. I assumed Ms Browne was cleaning up after herself andf family but I was completely wrong. I cannot agree with Ms Browne's description of the condition of the apartment when they departed as it took us more than double the cleaning time to service and the free balcony BBQ in question had to be removed from the apartment, dismantled and took 3 hours to clean. Ms Brown made a formal complaint to our Licensing & Registration body, the Office of Fair Trading, and after looking at my response along with the pictures I took of the mess they explained I was well within my rights to make the extra charge and it was actually with Ms Browne's consent. It really is not difficult to clean up spilt food as it occurs instead of trampling it further throughout the apartment or leaving it behind for us to handle. The extra cleaning charge was very lenient compared to the time and money spent cleaning the apartment to be ready for the next Guest. Ms Browne's comments do not really fit in with the previous comments since my wife and I took over the business so I can only let you the consumer decide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 mi away
Cascade Gardens
Cascade Gardens
#20 of 63 in Cairns
198 reviews
1 mi away
Mid City Luxury Suites
Mid City Luxury Suites
#34 of 63 in Cairns
49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterfront Terraces
Waterfront Terraces
#41 of 63 in Cairns
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cairns Southside International
0.1 mi away
Bay Village Tropical Retreat
0.3 mi away
Sunshine Tower Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Gateway Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Gateway Apartments

Address: 239 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $81 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef Gateway Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We can offer you self-contained holiday accommodation in 1 or 2 bedroom apartments that contain everything that you want to make your holiday as enjoyable as possible. We are located an easy 15 minute walk from the centre of Cairns and the stunning Esplanade Lagoon, and just one block from the Esplanade. Your apartment can be a ground floor apartment with patio, a balcony apartment or a townhouse style apartment. For the person who likes to keep in contact with work and friends, we offer wireless internet in all apartments. All apartments are fully air-conditioned with ceiling fan in the lounge room. Included in each apartment is a full kitchen, laundry and a large lounge room with free Austar cable television. Relax by our floodlit salt water swimming pool complete with spa. The adjoining gas barbecue, surrounded by tropical plants, is in the pool area, and is set in the centre of the property far away from the sounds of traffic. We have an accredited Tour Desk, where we can assist you in the selection of the best tour for you. We do not have preferred operators, so our advice is unbiased and the service is free of charge. All major tour operators will pick you up from our front door and return you to your accommodation at the end of the day. Car hire can be arranged, and we will assist you with maps and advice to help you plan your self-drive excursions. Hire car pick up from the Airport can also be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Reef Gateway Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Gateway Apartments Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing