We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cairns Queens Court
Ranked #25 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

The staff there are friendly and helpful. They have free courtesy bus service which directly picks up us from the airport. The breakfast is simple and nice. The location is not bad, 20 mins walk to the central.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank CHEN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    176
    112
    47
    19
See reviews for
81
197
51
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

arrived by greyhound with our backpacks so it was a little far to walk however the room was spacious, lots of hot water in a lovely bathroom and there was a great breakfast, the staff was helpful in suggesting who to book with for our Great Barrier Reef trip and they were right,and we got free wi-fi because of it. The kitchen staff was very nice, the pool needs a good scrub so we didn't use it. There was a free shuttle to the airport which was very handy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is a " Travel Lodge" type of hotel. Our room was a decent size with a queen sized bed, single bed, fridge, microwave & tv. The walk- in shower was a really good size. There is on-site parking & a guest laundry facility. Please be aware that there is no lift. Wi-fi is available at a charge but if you book a trip through reception they give you free wi-fi, as they also give you a discount on the trip it is well worth doing. The staff were extremely helpful at all times & knowledgeable about trips. The hotel is well situated, about 4 minutes from the airport & 3 minutes from the Esplanade. Within walking distance of a range of restaurants & pubs

Room Tip: Choose a superior room & if you are not up to lugging your suitcase upstairs you may wish to as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sacha10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessenderlo, Belgium
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

It is away from the Night Market and Esplanade. They charge extra for wi-fi which is strange considering the price. Prior to our live-aboard dive trip we stayed closer in by about 4-5 minutes walk in an older place that was less money, with much larger rooms and was much preferred by us all (five adults - three rooms).
The place is much newer than where we have stayed before, but stale in comparison.
We won't be going back here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RCJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a good value for your money. However, the SERVICE needs a lot of improvement which is very essential in the hospitality industry.

To start with the receptionist, the old lady to be exact has a rude ,unhelpful and unprofessional character . Upon our arrival we were hurriedly briefed with what the hotel has to offer. Observing her and her body language while she was talking, We felt like we were being rushed to get out of the reception! ..
Since it's our first time to visit Cairns, we asked her as to where will be the best place to shop. To our surprise, she bluntly told us that " people do not come here to shop, they come here for sight seeing"... Then she started rattling about the shops being too expensive and some have closed down and shops don't really have nice stuffs to sell and that locals are not supporting these shops... We were taken aback by her negative comment. But that didn't stop us from finding our way to the shops...

The following morning, around 630am, we rang reception requesting for a replenishment for coffee, milk and sugar sachets, and again that old lady receptionist was on duty and rudely told us that we have to go to the restaurant to get it ourself as no one is available to do the request. What a way to start a day!!!! Had it been with other motels or hotels, even the receptionist on duty will get up from her seat and attend to the guest request. This old lady surely doesn't anticipate guests need or neither exceed the guests expectations!!!!!!.

On check out day, we rang reception and requested for a late checkout, same old lady receptionist was on duty and without hesitation she rudely replied " we don't do late checkouts on weekends". What??????? This is the only motel/hotel we ever heard of such thing as no late checkouts on weekends even if they were not full!!!!!! She didn't even bother to put me on hold and check the system if it's possible... A straight NO answer from a front of the house personnel in a hotel industry is totally insane and absurd!!!!! Exactly at 10am, housekeeping knocked on our door asking us if we were leaving?????

As we were settling our bills upon check out, we requested for an airport transfer , and the same old lady rudely replied " we don't do airport transfers on weekends!!!!" What????

It's disappointing to have encounters like this especially coming from the first person you deal with upon your arrival... Service really needs. Big time improvement!!!!!!


Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Roshan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Hapert, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We booked a self contained unit with kitchen and we got a great room. There was a dining table in the kitchen, two seat and a table, and a desk. The decoration of the room is nice and the bed is large and I slept well.

Beforehand, we read some reviews about cooking being a problem because of the sensitive smoke detector. I asked about it at the reception and the woman reassured me that I could cook as much as I liked, you just shouldn't let the food burn or overcook. So I went on cooking and no smoke detector went off (just keep the room ventilated).

The free continental breakfast was good and there was more variety compared to the continental breakfasts I enjoyed at other hotels.

Overall I had a good stay and will return here when I'm in Cairns again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maurice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed at Queens Court for 3 nights and the hotel suited our needs. We had free pickup by Susan from the airport which was really handy and convenient. We called the hotel to tell them we were ready to be picked up and they said they would be there in 15-20 minutes, but Sarah seemed to be there in about 7 minutes which was great (the free shuttle may not be available on weekends though, not sure). Check in was easy and everything seemed orderly and neat. We had two rooms that were attached and it was exactly what we were looking for. The hotel is about a 15-20 minute walk from the main scene in Cairns, which was perfect for us. We like to walk, especially after meals so walking back in the evening was nice. The complimentary breakfast was a nice touch and the service at the breakfast was so nice and friendly. You are able to order a warm breakfast for extra money if you choose. The breakfast included 4 different cereals, two different types of toast, different fruit options, juice, and some other options. It was great. The hotel was very clean and they are trying to be Eco friendly. They have a plastic key chain that slides into the wall plate system so it only allows you to use the electricity when the key chain is in place. It prevents wasted electricity because you must remove it when you leave. Also, another great option which we regrettably didn't take advantage of was that you can BBQ your own meals if you like. The hotel will sell you a well priced BBQ package of meat and you go out to their nice grilling area and have fun. If you want to buy your own fish or meat, you can and grill it. They provide all the condiments as well. What a brilliant idea. Unfortunately, we didn't realize it until the day we left, so we never got to do it. But, if you choose to do this, they have a great place to sit and eat and they also have a small pool, which many of the kids seemed to enjoy. The staff at the front office was super helpful and patient because we asked a lot of questions. For the price, this hotel was perfect. We thank them for making our stay in Cairns really nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns_Queens_Court, Manager at Cairns Queens Court, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hello Brian,

Thank you for taking the time to review Queens Court. The time you have taken to give such a thorough and positive review of our property is much appreciated and I hope it serves other perspective travelers well when considering staying with us here at Queens Court.

I'm glad you found the airport transfer service convenient and efficient. We do operate a courtesy pick up shuttle from 7am Monday to Friday (excluding public holidays) and we do two return transfers from Monday to Friday (excluding public holidays) at 10am and 12:30pm.

The hotel is located around 15-20 minute walk from the city center but as you mentioned it is a great way to walk off a meal and stroll down the beautiful esplanade whilst doing so.

The breakfast we serve is complimentary and I'm happy to know that you found it adequate. We have recently started to include congee (a rice porridge) which many of our Asian travelers are fond of and a savory bean mix to add something a little different to the various cereals and toasts that are already available.

We are trying to be Eco friendly here at Queens Court while thinking of the environment and this is the reason why we have the plastic key tags for use when in the room to try and save on electricity.

The barbecue facilities are available for guests to use for a small fee to cover gas and cleaning costs and many customers seem to like this idea as the setting is tranquil and is a nice way to wind down of an evening once coming off a tour or what have you...

Again I appreciate your honest time and feedback. We look forward to see you again someday in sunny Cairns!

Warm regards,

Michael Roszak

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#18 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#16 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
0.7 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Cairns City
Comfort Inn Cairns City
#29 of 64 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Queens Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Queens Court

Property: Cairns Queens Court
Address: 167 - 173 Sheridan St | PO Box 7234, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cairns Queens Court 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queens Court is a family run hotel in Cairns ideally located to explore the tropical north of Queensland. It offers varying room styles to suit all levels of guest comfort and affordability. Accommodation options range from budget, moderate to premier rooms and self contained suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairns Queens Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Queens Court Hotel Cairns
Queens Court Hotel Cairns
Queens Court Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing