We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Queens Court: Well worth it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cairns Queens Court
Ranked #25 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed at Queens Court for 3 nights and the hotel suited our needs. We had free pickup by Susan from the airport which was really handy and convenient. We called the hotel to tell them we were ready to be picked up and they said they would be there in 15-20 minutes, but Sarah seemed to be there in about 7 minutes which was great (the free shuttle may not be available on weekends though, not sure). Check in was easy and everything seemed orderly and neat. We had two rooms that were attached and it was exactly what we were looking for. The hotel is about a 15-20 minute walk from the main scene in Cairns, which was perfect for us. We like to walk, especially after meals so walking back in the evening was nice. The complimentary breakfast was a nice touch and the service at the breakfast was so nice and friendly. You are able to order a warm breakfast for extra money if you choose. The breakfast included 4 different cereals, two different types of toast, different fruit options, juice, and some other options. It was great. The hotel was very clean and they are trying to be Eco friendly. They have a plastic key chain that slides into the wall plate system so it only allows you to use the electricity when the key chain is in place. It prevents wasted electricity because you must remove it when you leave. Also, another great option which we regrettably didn't take advantage of was that you can BBQ your own meals if you like. The hotel will sell you a well priced BBQ package of meat and you go out to their nice grilling area and have fun. If you want to buy your own fish or meat, you can and grill it. They provide all the condiments as well. What a brilliant idea. Unfortunately, we didn't realize it until the day we left, so we never got to do it. But, if you choose to do this, they have a great place to sit and eat and they also have a small pool, which many of the kids seemed to enjoy. The staff at the front office was super helpful and patient because we asked a lot of questions. For the price, this hotel was perfect. We thank them for making our stay in Cairns really nice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns_Queens_Court, Manager at Cairns Queens Court, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Hello Brian,

Thank you for taking the time to review Queens Court. The time you have taken to give such a thorough and positive review of our property is much appreciated and I hope it serves other perspective travelers well when considering staying with us here at Queens Court.

I'm glad you found the airport transfer service convenient and efficient. We do operate a courtesy pick up shuttle from 7am Monday to Friday (excluding public holidays) and we do two return transfers from Monday to Friday (excluding public holidays) at 10am and 12:30pm.

The hotel is located around 15-20 minute walk from the city center but as you mentioned it is a great way to walk off a meal and stroll down the beautiful esplanade whilst doing so.

The breakfast we serve is complimentary and I'm happy to know that you found it adequate. We have recently started to include congee (a rice porridge) which many of our Asian travelers are fond of and a savory bean mix to add something a little different to the various cereals and toasts that are already available.

We are trying to be Eco friendly here at Queens Court while thinking of the environment and this is the reason why we have the plastic key tags for use when in the room to try and save on electricity.

The barbecue facilities are available for guests to use for a small fee to cover gas and cleaning costs and many customers seem to like this idea as the setting is tranquil and is a nice way to wind down of an evening once coming off a tour or what have you...

Again I appreciate your honest time and feedback. We look forward to see you again someday in sunny Cairns!

Warm regards,

Michael Roszak

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

302 - 308 of 510 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

We recently spent three days here, and for the price, this met, but did not exceed our expectations. The most annoying feature in the room is the bathroom always flooded when you used the shower because there's nothing but a shower curtain and a tiny strip of metal to keep water from splashing around. But the free continental breakfast they served was great -- simple fare, but nicely provided in a patio setting. Other than that there are no extras -- wifi or pool towels. There is a laundry there ($7 to wash and dry a load) and it's a 15-20 minute walk to the esplanade and 25-minute walk to the reef boats.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Calif_trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns_Queens_Court, Manager at Cairns Queens Court, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review Queens Court.

I understand your frustration with the bathrooms. Unfortunately this is an ongoing problem in some of our rooms as there was a problem in the design stage. We are however in the process of renovating and fixing these issues and hope to have all bathrooms renovated with a brand new look, optimized for guest comfort in the very near future.

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast.

We do have a guest laundry for guests to use if they wish. It's $3 to wash and $4 for the dryer. There is a communal clothesline guests can use if they choose or prefer to hang there clothes.

Thanks again for taking the time to review Queens Court. We hope to see you again someday in sunny Cairns.

Warm regards,

Michael Roszak

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Recently stayed here on a two nights stay in Cairns. I found this property comfortable, friendly and quiet. We were greeted by Susan (I'm sure it was Susan) who checked us in promptly and was able to provide is with information about Cairns itself and how to get around.

The room itself was clean and well presented upon entering. The only thing I did notice was that the two drinking glasses weren't clean as they still had lipstick marks from a previous guest. This didn't bother me that much so I didn't report it to reception. Apart from that everything else was fine.

Towels were provided for the bathroom but pool towels came at a hire fee of $1. The continental breakfast that was included also came as nice touch, and came in handy especially when I didn't really need to eat a big breakfast.

The property itself was a bit away from the CBD area but it was easily accessible by foot within 15-20 minutes max which did not bother me one bit. If you fit and able to walk in the Cairns humidity, it shouldn't be a problem. Might be an issue if you are not prepared to walk 15-20min in each direction.

The other thing I wanted to mention in my review was the complimentary airport pick up upon arriving. This came in very handy and was a nice surprise to hear that they offered this service! I'm not sure if this service needs to be pre-arranged before arriving but we did email before arriving and we were instructed to call when we had arrived.

Thanks Cairns Queens Court for a comfortable stay :) :)

Room Tip: Call in advance to see if you can be picked up from the airport with the complimentary shuttle bus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cammyjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns_Queens_Court, Manager at Cairns Queens Court, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Hello Cammyjs,

Thank you for taking the time to review Queens Court. Your time and feedback are much appreciated to us and fellow travelers to follow.

I'm glad to hear you found the complimentary breakfast sufficient for your needs. We have extended our range of whats on offer to try and cater for all bases. It now includes four types of cereals, assorted fruits, white and multi-grain toast, assorted spreads, congee (rice porridge), various condiments to go on the congee, savory beans, tea, juice and coffee.

The walk into the city as you mentioned is about 15-20 minutes. If heading directly up to the waterfront from the hotel and heading in from there you are treated to the beautiful views of the esplanade and surrounding hills. I find this often takes ones mind of the time and treats you to a bit of Cairns beautiful landscape.

We do offer a courtesy airport shuttle pick-up service. This operates from 7am - 5pm Monday to Friday (excluding weekends and public holidays). We do ask that guests call once they have landed and collected their luggage and we send a driver out to collect them.

Again I thank you for taking the time to review Queens Court. We hope to see you again someday soon in sunny Cairns!

Best regards,

Michael Roszak

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Our family of four (2 adults and 2 teens) stayed here for one night in a family room (interconnecting with 1 queen, 2 singles). The rooms were tiny and much like cells as another reviewer suggested. The bathroom was small and was not ventilated so everything got very wet when each of us showered. We had to pay for wifi per device ($15 each!) which was intermittent at best and quite slow when it did work - bad for our teens who couldn't live without communicating with friends back home but also for us trying to communicate with family we needed to meet up with the next day. The place did not resemble the beautiful modern photos on the website. The only reason I am giving it an "average" rating as opposed to a "poor" is that it was inexpensive. We had to park quite a way from our room and then lug our suitcases up stairs as there wasn't an elevator. The breakfast was fine but crowded with fellow travelers. We did not use the pool as it didn't look very clean (algae?). I wanted to like this place, I really did! I hate giving bad ratings.

Room Tip: The front desk only wants to sell you tours and is not interested in giving you general traveler inf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingWeichels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns_Queens_Court, Manager at Cairns Queens Court, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review Queens Court and offering your feedback on your stay.
Our wi-fi charges are currently $5 for 500 megabytes of useage or $10 for unlimited access for the duration of your stay. Never have we charged $15 dollars for wifi. If you care to contact the hotel I will happily look up your account and refund you the money if there has been a mistake in payments.
The parking on site is free and there are no allocated bays which may mean that some customers may have to walk a little to get to their rooms. Whilst there are no elevators on site there are staff available to help with carrying luggage if necessary.
The photos on the website depict exactly what room style you have booked. There is no way that I would falsely advertise our rooms and try to deceive our customers. It could be possible that you looked at another room styles photo when booking. We do ask customers to be careful when choosing as we have various room styles and our rooms range from 2 1/2 to 4 star self contained suites.
Again I thank you for your time and honest feedback.

Best regards,

Michael Roszak

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

we stayed for 3 nights.simple clean room.management very nice and polite and made you feel welcome.lts close to everything.breakfasts were help yourself by the pool and there were many things to choose from.lf l ever went to cairns again l would stay here and recomend it to all my family and friends.l have read other reviews on here of people complaining and l would say that these are the type of people that no matter what you did you could never please them.Certain people complaining about wifi are you kidding did they go all the way to cairns to sit in a room to do that they need to get out have a look around and get a life.I would say to anybody reading this that only go by the good feedback because this the truth about this hotel.Thankyou to all the staff for giving us such a great holiday.Maryanne

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maryanne3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns_Queens_Court, Manager at Cairns Queens Court, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Hello Maryanne,

Thank you for taking the time to review Queens Court. Your kind words are much appreciated! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast by the pool and found the hotel a nice place to stay in general.

I will pass on your kind message to all the staff.

We hope to see you again someday in sunny Cairns!

Best regards,

Michael Roszak

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This hotel was clean. The breakfast was ok. Unfortunately the small white painted breezeblock rooms resemble cells. It did not help that we were opposite communal men's bathroom where each morning we were greeted with the sound of people wretching and yakking as they brushed their teeth. I am glad we only stayed 2 nights as had we been booked in longer I would have had to move to a different hotel. It wasn't particularly good value for money even though it was budget, i have stayed in better accommodation in youth hostels. It was also little bit of a walk from the centre. I definately wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns_Queens_Court, Manager at Cairns Queens Court, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review Queens Court.

There are communal male and female bathrooms on two of our floors. We don't usually get complaints of too much noise from these areas. However, if the noise was too great and was causing discomfort for you then we would ask that you notify reception and we would have done our best to relocate you to a quieter room. Guest comfort is paramount to us.

As for the location of the hotel. It is clearly stated where we are on all booking sites. That is up to the customer to do their research themselves and to see if it is too far out of there comfort zone for walking. This is something that we can not be held responsible for. In saying that for future readers; The hotel is around a 15 minute walk to the city center and a quick walk up to the waterfront gives you a beautiful walk along the boardwalk along the Cairns Esplanade into the city center.

Best regards,

Michael Roszak

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

While the rooms are not spacious, they are perfectly adequate, comfortable and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. We love to relax with a wine at our accommodation after a day of exploring so were delighted with the communal outdoor patio that had barbeque for those wanting to sizzle up a bbq-pack. Both evenings we chatted with some other travellers, set ourselves up with nibbles and refreshments and enjoyed the garden setting. The breakfast was simple but perfectly adequate and included in the cost; and everything within a 20 minute walk from town.

Room Tip: It is on a busy street but we faced back out over the other side. No views but no problematic traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pammage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.7 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
614 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#22 of 63 in Cairns
519 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Cairns City
Comfort Inn Cairns City
#34 of 63 in Cairns
236 reviews
1.9 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#29 of 63 in Cairns
502 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#15 of 63 in Cairns
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Queens Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Queens Court

Address: 167 - 173 Sheridan St | PO Box 7234, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $55 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cairns Queens Court 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queens Court is a family run hotel in Cairns ideally located to explore the tropical north of Queensland. It offers varying room styles to suit all levels of guest comfort and affordability. Accommodation options range from budget, moderate to premier rooms and self contained suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairns Queens Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Queens Court Hotel Cairns
Queens Court Hotel Cairns
Queens Court Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing