We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK!, but don't rely on free shuttle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cairns Queens Court
Ranked #24 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Hastings, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“OK!, but don't rely on free shuttle”
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Booked this hotel because it was reasonably priced & found it has several good points, including the fact that breakfast was included in the price, relatively handy to town,(including nearby car rentals). Staff were helpful re tours, rooms were comfortable, nice pool & relatively quiet. Not so good was that we were on the third floor, OK for us but some may find it a nuisance as no lift. Although advertising free shuttle to/from airport & we were picked up alright, for the return they have a notice that it now only applies at very limited hours. I think it was something like between 10am to 2.30pm. Not that many planes arrive during that time, particularly if International. We had to make other arrangements.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    179
    116
    49
    22
See reviews for
88
204
57
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

This hotel is quite far away from the esplanade as it is a 10 to 15 minute walk. The hotel staff are not friendly at all especially the older lady with glasses.

The hotel is very old, the air con does not work very well and our room was opposite the communal shower. Even though we had our own private shower, the communal shower was the noisiest place ever.

The room had ants and the bathroom was not clean, it had someone else's hair in the shower.

The breakfast (if you can call it a breakfast) is awful... Just toast and cornflakes. We ended up going out for breakfast.

All in all not a good stay and it was a good job I got it for 55% off or else I would not be happy at all.

Not worth the money or a glance. I would suggest a hostel than this hotel....

Please note: we had a superior room so I cannot imagine what a standard room would be like.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bbgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2011

Was there for a short trip within' our holiday together with my sister and her husband to visit relatives in Cairns. Good for the money you pay. Included basic breakfast (although it stops very early for some reason), internet (although slow in the rooms - too far away from wireless modem?) and small pool.
We had the nicer rooms in the adjecent newer building and the rooms were nice, clean but basic. I was glad to opt for those rooms as the (standard) ones in the main building looked a bit run down (as did the whole building...).
Friendly but to the point staff and location a bit out of downtown (20 min walk), however perfect if you're travelling by car (parking space and next to main road).

Room Tip: Go for the other building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honkiehoteler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahuarita
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Pros: price, location (as long as you don't mind a 10-15 walk to the heart of Cairns) and friendly staff (gave excellent suggestions and booked our tours).

Cons: The shuttle service has VERY limited hours of operation so we took a taxi which cost about 20 dollars each way, limited breakfast options which included stale cereal and granola bars (toast with pbutter topping was nice as well as the juice), small rooms (we did not mind as we only slept in the hotel, we were out and about all day/night) and the bathrooms were not what I invisioned for a 4.5 star rated hotel as the shower had no divider so the entire bathroom floor gets flooded with water (sink and toilet area too).

If I were to go back on a budget, there is no doubt I would look in to staying at this hotel again but if I had extra money to spend on a hotel room, I would look in to other options.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olsons01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

When I first checked in to the hotel, I thought that the rooms were pretty basic (and they are). There weren't many channels on the TV and the breakfast was really just toast and cereal (tea, coffee and juice too).However, the service was exceptional. They consistently provided good advice regarding tours or services around town. They also had no problem with my using the facilities even though I had checked out almost 12 hrs before.

Did I also mention that they provide free wifi access? Most hotels in Oz don't so this is gravy. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again b/c of the friendly service they provide.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sudders08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2011

We stayed at the queens court in Feb 11 the hotel is quite good b/fast was basic but you could order more like a full english for 20 dollers (not worth it for me) we were on the 3rd floor no lifts so was a bit sick of the stairs, room were comfortable but small wi-fi was very good although they do charge now (didnt when i booked) it is 5 dollers now. nice small swimming pool, people who ran the place were very nice and helpful, the sea front is about a 20 min walk away and is very nice, shops, restaurants our white water rafting was cancelled due to the bad weather but managed to see the reef

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alansouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gold Coast
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

We had a great stay at Cairns Queen's Court. We were picked up (very promptly) from the Cairns Airport. The Reception Staff were lovely and very helpful. We had a ground floor unit, which was very handy as it had a sliding glass door just near the pool area. We were a fairly short (around 10 minute) walk to the heart of Cairns and could walk to the Esplanade in around 5 minutes. With lots of day trips planned over our 5 night stay, the complimentary brekkies were great - breakfast opened at 6am, which is what you need sometimes when you're getting picked up early to go the Reef or Cape Tribulation etc! There was a good variety of cereal, fruit and toast with plenty of condiments. Our room was perfect for what we needed - we had one with our own bathroom, the air-con worked well and the daily servicing was very good. (I believe they offer some rooms with shared bathroom facilities as a cost-saving measure). We found all the staff at Queen's Court extremely courteous and friendly. Our flight wasn't until later in the day so we were offered the chance to use the pool etc after our check-out time and to have a shower in the communal shower (separate female & male) before we left for the airport. We had a great time and wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Queen's Court again next trip. Cheers!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.3 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#20 of 64 in Cairns
494 reviews
0.7 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Cairns City
Comfort Inn Cairns City
#31 of 64 in Cairns
231 reviews
1.9 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#30 of 64 in Cairns
483 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#15 of 64 in Cairns
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Queens Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Queens Court

Property: Cairns Queens Court
Address: 167 - 173 Sheridan St | PO Box 7234, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cairns Queens Court 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queens Court is a family run hotel in Cairns ideally located to explore the tropical north of Queensland. It offers varying room styles to suit all levels of guest comfort and affordability. Accommodation options range from budget, moderate to premier rooms and self contained suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairns Queens Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Queens Court Hotel Cairns
Queens Court Hotel Cairns
Queens Court Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing