We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for families. Every level of accommodation, excellent facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was the second time we stayed at what we fondly call the coconut resort. It was faultless, we ordered food from an organic grocer and the park staff received it for us and packed it away before we arrived. Great facilities for all ages including the gym which opens at 7am. Choose to get involved in the free daily activities or book day jaunts out through the friendly staff. We will DEFINATELY return. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northsiderinmelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCHRManagement, Manager at Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear northsiderinmelb, Thank you very much for your review. It is so good to hear that you are a returning guest - we pride ourselves on the high number of returning guests we have as that along with recommending us to family and friends are the highest compliments we can get. Glad to hear you enjoyed our new gym. We are pretty proud of it and we are delighted that so many guests are using it everyday. We look forward to having you return to stay with us in Cairns sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (849)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

664 - 670 of 849 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

When we ask our kids what was their favorite part of our recent trip to Cape York, without hesitation the say Cairns Coconut. We could have filled the whole holiday in just there without travelling up to 'the tip'. The staff were terrific, making sure we had everything we needed and the activities, we've never stayed in a caravan park with so many. Cant say loud enough, get to Cairns Coconut

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCHRManagement, Manager at Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Daniel A, Thank you very much for your review! We are so glad that your children loved it here and that you found our staff terrific. I will most definitely pass this on. We often hear that parents cant get their children to leave the park as there is just so much to do but we are glad you made it to "the tip" so that your children got to explore this great country of ours. Once again thank you for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Expensive (especially with three kids), but the best park we have ever been to for kids. So much stuff for the kids to do with their pools, games rooms, play ground, water park, bike/scooter circuit to name a few. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andy8472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCHRManagement, Manager at Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Andy8472, Thank you very much for your review of Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort. We are so glad you enjoyed the extensive facilities that we have on offer free of charge and look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Cairns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We chose the Coconut Resort specifically as a place to keep our 20 month-old entertained. We figured a happy baby was a necessary basis for a happy holiday.
The CCHR has great facilities for kids from 18m to teenage, with great pool & spalsh park facilities, pedal carts, tennis, climbing equipment, a games room and more.
The park is well designed, with the family-friendly cabins/villas are close to all the kids amusements, while the grey nomads and their camp sites are on the other side where it's a bit quieter.
There are planned events every day, it reminded me a bit of a cruise liner.

We stayed in 2 bdr villa. The villa was of a good size, though we had to put the baby cot on top of a bunk bed. The one negative was the Queen bed in the main bedroom was soft and sagged awfully at the edges.

We requested and got a villa with an upright oven/cooktop. We were able to bake muffins & slices on our first couple of days that saw us through the week.

A/C was great, but as we were there in July, we didn't use it much. We had two TVs, but as our little one was either sleeping or keeping us busy, we didn't use the main bed TV.

The free WiFi wasn't very good. Even as an IT tech I found it painful to use and just stuck with using my own personal hotspot from my phone, as mobile reception was good in the area.

Service was friendly and quality.

The attached mini-mart was good. The nearest IGA was somewhere around 7 mins walk (though you may need 5 mins to walk to the front gate) so it was convenient. They had a fair range for the sort of stuff families and nomads wound need, open until 7.30pm most/all nights.

We only went to the café alongside the mini-mart once, on our first night. We ordered fishermans' baskets and it was awful and quite expensive. We didn't go back for the rest of the stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigIcePete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCHRManagement, Manager at Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear BiglcePete,

Thank you for your honest and detailed review of the resort and for giving us the opportunity to address the issues that you raised. Your comments have really identified all of the reasons why people just keep coming back to stay with us, year on year. Our aim is to create a family holiday destination based on the number of facilities, inclusions and attractions and the fact that you never have to leave the resort.

Let me apologise for the comfort of your bed, this is something we are very particular about as we understand the need for a good sleep when you are away from home and your own bed. Part of our standard quality checks is to ensure the quality of the mattress and I am unable to explain how your mattress got missed. Since receiving your review we have replaced that mattress with a new one and are conducting a follow up check on all accommodation styles.

We too share your frustration with the Internet service. We have been lobbying all levels of government to try and get an upgrade to the infrastructure that services the park. On a positive note, it appears we are making headway and hope to have the issues resolved in the next month or so.

I have addressed your comments with the operator of the cafe, who will follow up with his staff.
While we don't operate the Coconut Cafe, I do understand that from a guest's perspective it seems part of the resort's operation and therefore must be up to the standard we set for ourselves.

Once again thank you for your review and I do hope we see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We came to cairns for the first time to play golf in a week long competition . Coconut Cairns Holiday Park was our base. Efficient and friendly staff, clean amenities, we were in our own van but so many different forms of accommodation to suit every need !!!! School holidays and kids everywhere but noise was not an issue ...there is so much for the kids todo they are kept busy all day. Will definitely recommend this park to one and all and we will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Janette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCHRManagement, Manager at Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Janet W,

Thank you for your wonderful review. The items you identified really are the reasons why people just keep coming back to us year after year. An accommodation style to suit all budgets, the layout of the resort and the number of free activities and attractions make for a memorable holiday!
Once again, thank you for your comments and I do look forward to seeing you again on your next holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great place to stay, lots people coming and going. Excellent service, amenities and camping sites. Great free bus in and out of town and shopping centres. Suggest cut back some trees and limit use of heated spa to adults only or persons over10 as an example. Young ones got plenty of things to do. Not nice in spa with babies and toddlers splashing about.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Gwenie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCHRManagement, Manager at Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Gwenie30,

Thank for your great review of the resort and your suggestions and I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our grounds team work amazingly hard to keep the 28 acres of park looking fabulous at all times and do a full prune and trim regularly throughout the year. One of the great things about living in the tropics is that everything grows so fast and is always lush. I understand your comments in relation to use of the heated spa, it is a difficult thing to be able to constantly manage and monitor.

Once again, thank you for your comments and I do hope we see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here for about 10 days on a powered en suite site and it was very pleasant surroundings and very clean place all round. This place has almost everything for every body from two swimming pools, splash park, mini golf, tennis court plus more. It is great also for the access to the town, there is the local bus stop just outside the main entrance, or there is a courtesy bus from the village to town. There is a good cafe and little shop on site that covers most requirements. I can say first hand that the staff are fabulous. I had a fall on the tennis court and the staff were very helpful, paramedics were needed, thank you for all the action that was taken and I am very happy that staff went that extra mile in getting my washing out of the machine and dried and returned to our site. All round good clean site.

Room Tip: Try for accomadation away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bothofus58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCHRManagement, Manager at Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Bothofus58,

Thank you for your terrific review of our lovely resort. I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us and the many attractions and facilities the resort has to offer. We really are a holiday destination as we have so much to offer, you never have to leave. I have passed your appreciation onto my staff that assisted your wife, they really are a great team!

Once again thank you for your review and I do hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
4.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
4.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
609 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,282 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut

Address: 23-51 Anderson Road, Cairns, Queensland 4868, Australia (Formerly Cairns Coconut Caravan Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#1 Family Hotel in Cairns
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $91 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-friendly self-contained accommodation with the most amazing range of free activities including heated SPLASH water park, under sixes indoor playground, adults only therapeutic hot spa, mini golf, the NEOS interactive playground, two heated (and cooled) resort pools, monster Jumping Pillows, tennis court and much, much more. Accommodation choices range from luxury three bedroom Condos, fully self contained Villas with two bathrooms to Tropical Cabins and sites for caravans, motorhomes & tents. Multi award winning including 7 times winner of the Australian Tourism Award for Best Tourist & Holiday Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Coconut Holiday Hotel Cairns
Cairns Caravan Coconut Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing