We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Coconut crazy.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at Coconuts for eight nights in December with our two children aged 3 and 7. We had read so many wonderful things about Coconuts that were very excited about staying there.
We stayed in a luxury cabin that had lots of space for everyone and it was appointed with fantastic things for the kitchen - very good quality and you couldn't fault it. The staff were helpful and the park is big and is very well maintained.
The Good:
Large park, well maintained and landscaped.
Two pools, a water park, mini golf, tennis, jumping pilllows etc etc...a lot for kids!
Helpful staff and a lot of options for tours.
Quiet at night. Considering the amount of guests, it was very calm.

The Average:
Bring a lot of cash. You need to leave deposits for everything! Including the internet - everything except the buggies are free, but you need to leave the cash first.

Expensive. We payed on average $345 per night for a cabin...at a caravan park. Our other hotel in Cairns was less than half the amount, had a larger room and was across the road from a beautiful beach....

Every activity apart from the Sun Lagoon pool looks onto the very busy Bruce highway. Its noisy and a very unpleasant outlook. You don't feel like you are in the tropics when you are at the waterpark. I would hope that the park would landscape or do some planting to alleviate this, however I would doubt it due to the free advertising that they are getting from all the traffic.

Very little for smaller children to do. Park ideally suited for kids 6 and up. Nothing for toddlers to do except swim in the Sun Lagoon pool....which during the time we were there was over run a lot of the time by teenagers playing rough games and others who thought it was a good idea to bring very large water equipment (boats!?) into the pool even though it was very crowded.
There are no staff at the pool to monitor the obnoxious behavior. A lot of drinking, glass bottles etc etc. Compared to the water park where there are staff checking wrist bands !

Park is a good 10 - 15 minutes out of Cairns. If you have a car its not too bad, otherwise you will need to catch the free shuttle bus to go into town which stops at 3pm or catch the public bus.

Overall we had a good time and enjoyed the facilities. Some of the activities need a bit of work (putt putt) but the kids did really enjoy it and we are glad we went.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCHRManagement, Manager at Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you for your review, I am glad that you and your family enjoyed your holiday with us.
As we are so popular and offer so many included activities and attractions, it is necessary for us to charge a deposit, which is fully refunded, when using some equipment. This ensures that our guests are not inconvenienced by damaged or missing gear.

Our pricing also reflects the fact that we are a fiive star resort that has a wealth of included activities and attractions, so much so that one of the most common comments from guests is that the never have to leave the resort. This is particularly appealing to families as the children are kept occupied for hours, allowing the parents to actually relax and enjoy their holiday.

Our aim is to continually improve our facilities and to cater for our market. As a family holiday destination, it is crucial that we continue to enhance our guest experience. In 2013, we will be adding Australia's first interactive attraction of its kind, gymnasium, as well as a specific play area for children 1-9 yrs old.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I do hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (941)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

797 - 803 of 941 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2012

We booked a stay at Cairns Coconut and paid the deposit. Unfortunately, our daughter was taken ill and we were forced to cancel our stay. Cairns Coconut refunded our deposit cheerfully and wished us well! We had assumed that the deposit would be non-refundable, so we were very pleasantly surprised. So, whilst we didn't actually get to stay at CC, we were very impressed by the service and will stay there when we next get to Cairns.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
2  Thank Cate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCHRManagement, Manager at Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you for your comments, I hope your daughter is well and we look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed in a Delux Family Villa and when you walked in you were excited. Room was clean, modern and everything a home would have. There are lots of free activities for the kids so they were busy everyday. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we would recommend this park to all families. Best Big 4 park in Australia for sure.....

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCHRManagement, Manager at Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Cairns is a beautiful place to be sure. If your intention is to spend that time relaxing by a pool in a tropical setting, the Coconut holiday resort is the place to do it.

The resort is a few km's out of town. To get to it, you will need to take a bus, cab or have your own car. When you get to the resort, you will find that some of the bungalows have space for a car to park, very convenient. The staff was always friendly and eager to suggest any tours they thought might be worthwhile. The resort has several amenities, such as several pools, jacuzzis and even its own small water park. It also has an outdoor cinema, a game center and a bike path as well as a mini store and restaurant. You could spend your entire time in Cairns at the resort and not get bored.

The bungalows themselves are very nice. Each has a TV, refrigerator and cook top. Ours was a two bedroom villa with separate bedrooms and each had its own AC unit. This was very handy as my traveling companions prefer a higher temp than I do. The buildings are not serviced daily so you will need to clean up after yourself.

My one complaint about the resort are the draconian internet rules. You are only allowed 3 hours or 100MB of download, whichever comes first. If you hit these limits, you need to wait till midnight to start using the internet again. The speeds were also slow as well. Be wary of these limits if bringing your laptop.

Final thought: A great place to relax and take life easy in Cairns.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask what buildings can park a car if you have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mr_cardholder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCHRManagement, Manager at Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide your wonderful feedback, it is always great to hear that we are exceeding our guests expectations.

I can understand your frustration with our internet connectivity and connection speeds, we too as a business share the issues you experienced during your stay.

Unfortunately, whilst we pay for broadband quality connections for our guest wireless service and our business service, our providor cannot supply this level of service. This has been an ongoing issue for us and we have investigated all possible solutions to this problem. The limiting factor for us is that the actual infrastructure cannot support our needs.

We continue to lobby all levels of governement to try and get some resolution to our issue, with little result so far.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

-clean
-activities for the kids
-great staff
-spotless cabins and camping sites
This is the number one place in Cairns to stay, i had the best experience at this amazing park, would recommend this park to stay when visiting Cairns. thats enough said, if heading to Cairns BOOK THIS RESORT

Room Tip: Make sure you select the correct room for the people staying!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The place is excellent for young families but hard for us. We are grandparents visiting our grandies in cairns. For our grandchildren to visit us it costs $15 a day per child. We do not fall within the strict corporate guidelines if what constitutes the target customer so it was really hard yards jumping the hoops. There is no provision for a weekly pass. The staff are good but vague on anything beyond the official line. Money is king.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob_Shooemaneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCHRManagement, Manager at Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank you for your review and comments regarding your recent stay. We take all comments seriously and view them as a means to help us continually strive for excellence.

Unfortunately, some of the comments you have made are not specific enough to allow me to fully understand your point of view and to make particular rersponses.

You made mention of the following issues: that you felt you didn't fit within the strict corporate guidelines that constitute the target market, the staff are good but vague on issue beyond the corporate line, there was no provision for a daily pass,money is king.

In response, Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort really doesn't have a strict target market, we offer a range of accomodation suitable to all budgets and to popular across all markets, as does the array of included attractions and activities. Our visitor profile and demographic is very broad and the resort has been structured in such a way that there is something for everyone.

In terms of my staff, we are a seven day a week operation and staff at all levels are empowered to make decisions in order to ensure our guests are "raving fans" of the property. If your query was one that did require a senior management response, at a time when management were not available, then they may well have been unable to give you a definitive response at that point. However, we would expect our staff to deal with this in a professional and courteous manner. One of the most frequent comments from our guests relates to the amazing customer service provided by our team.

I am assuming your comments regarding a "weekly pass" relate to visitors to the resort and useage of the attractions. Unfortunately, due to the popularity of the resort we do have to closely manage day use so as to ensure the experience of our park guests is not affected. This is done daily as opposed to weekly as our numbers can fluctuate greatly from day to day.

Finally, I am dissapointed that you felt "money is king" at the resort. We have a range of accomodation options to appeal to all budgets and have included so many extras that we are a holiday destination in our own right. Families return to the resort year on year because it does present such value for money and never leave the resort for the duration of their stay. In all of our guest surveys, value for money ranks as one of the highest positive responses.

I do hope that you enjoyed seeing your family and grandchildren and hope to see you again at the resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed in a self-catering holiday villa for 4 nights. The accommodation was excellent, well appointed, very pleasant to be in. The park is well laid out and we were pleasantly surprised to find it very quiet in the evenings after dark. (This was in November, which is low season.)

The location is about 7km south of central Cairns, but easy to find, just off the main road (Bruce Highway). Despite the distance from the tourist traps in the centre, many of the local tourist attractions offer a pick-up service. (Tip: The pick-up services meander all over town to make whatever pick-ups are needed. If you want something that's more time-efficient, you might prefer to drive yourself there... but hey, this is Queensland, everything is pretty laid back.)

We can't comment on most of the park's amenities as we didn't use them. The on-site licensed cafe was just what we needed - good honest food and drink. The mini mart was very handy, and the petrol onsite (at a price in line with the local petrol stations) was most welcome. The onsite wifi was a bit flakey at times, but was free so it's difficult to complain about.

Even though we were only in Cairns for the solar eclipse, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and their local knowledge was very useful. They were OK with us departing at 3am for our flight home.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ross Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
4.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
4.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
621 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 63 in Cairns
2,333 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut

Address: 23-51 Anderson Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4868, Australia (Formerly Cairns Coconut Caravan Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#1 Family Hotel in Cairns
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $70 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-friendly self-contained accommodation with the most amazing range of free activities including heated SPLASH water park, under sixes indoor playground, adults only therapeutic hot spa, mini golf, the NEOS interactive playground, two heated (and cooled) resort pools, monster Jumping Pillows, tennis court and much, much more. Accommodation choices range from luxury three bedroom Condos, fully self contained Villas with two bathrooms to Tropical Cabins and sites for caravans, motorhomes & tents. Multi award winning including 7 times winner of the Australian Tourism Award for Best Tourist & Holiday Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Coconut Holiday Hotel Cairns
Cairns Caravan Coconut Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing