We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids loved it, our cabin was next to the jumping pillows.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Stayed for 6 nights with our 3 kids. Arrived from Adelaide at 11pm, maxi taxi was $65. Needed one big enough for the 5 of us. Would probably go through a different car hire company.
Getting our welcome pack late at night went very smoothly - security was on hand very quickly.
They had a lot to do & loved it. The jumping pillows were right near us & the kids were there at any opportunity. They loved the splash water park, playground and other activities.
The laundry was easy to access, great for busy days.
Plenty of day trips can be done in your own car from here or they can organize tours from the desk, or just stay put because everyone can enjoy themselves here.
The courtesy bus goes regularly, very helpful when we had to pick up our hire car!
Loved our time here. Thanks

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShannonSammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (898)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

828 - 834 of 898 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2011

When we stayed at Cairns last time we drove past this park and the kids(12 and 10 boys) begged to stay there if we ever came to Cairns again. So these holidays I booked us in. At first it looks a bit pricey for a caravan park BUT this is not any sort of park!! You really don't have to leave as there is so much to do. We stayed for a week in the holiday units. They were upgrading all the units to flat panel TV's for digital reception.
Monday morning is aqua areobics and Monday nights have Bavarian dancers.
Teusdays is outdoor movie night.
Wednesday morning is aqua aerobics and bingo.
Thursday morning is pancake breakfast (pancakes huge and delicious) from 8-9am. There was a huge line to begin with as it was school holidays but we were at the holiday units just opposite so by 8:45am the line had gone and we ducked over with our plates and cups. Thursday night is outdoor movie night.
Friday morning there is aqua aerobics, a reef presentation and snorkelling lessons.
Saturday afternoon is rides on a mini firetruck for the littlies. Saturday night is outdoor movies.
Sundays is a day of rest.
The reception girls are very helpful with any queries.
There is a small shop and cafe onsite. Cafe has lunch and dinner every day and buffet breakfast on Saturday and Sunday.
Most activities require a deposit of $5-$10.There is basketball; minigolf; outdoor chess; pool and slide; huge playground; bike path; tennis court; volleyball or badmington court; 2 jumping pillows; full sized waterpark; another pool with toddler area and whale slide, spas and a heated spa. You can even book a massage by the pool for a fee. All actitivites are booked by the hour. The gokarts you have to pay $10 for a single and $15 for a double per hour.
Lots of BBQ's and covered areas. Toilets nearby the play areas and pools. Laundries and ironing facilities. There is a recreation hall with ping pong tables (55c to buy balls, paddles there at table) a billiard table; movie room which has 4 movies per day; a TV room. The whole park is kept immaculate.
In between all this we did manage to get out and about around Cairns and surrounds.
The one and only downside (very minor) was the kids did not like the bands they had to wear but I know they were a necessity.
It is a bit out of Cairns but there is a free shuttle bus into the city 3 times a day. There is also a regular bus service that goes past. Supermarkets 1 block either side of the park. Most tour operators pick up and drop off from here. We had our car so I can't really say if these services are efficient or value for money.
The park was pretty full with all the units booked out and only some camping sites vacant. But even though being that full it didn't feel it as there was enough space and activities for all ages. It was also very quiet of an evening and me being a light sleeper is a bonus.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed in the park for 5 days. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who were able to provide ideas to entertain a 2 year old on a rainy day, spoke knowledgeably about the many tour options to visit the Daintree, and accommodated my request for an extra night with no fuss or issue...
Despite being busy the front counter staff took my 2 year old on a quick tour of the park in Nemo, the coolest golf buggy... and their cheeriness and helpfulness made my 3 days of rainy Cairns quite bearable...

The amount of activities available were great, these included aqua aerobics 3 days a week, and fire engine rides on Tuesdays as well as Pancakes on Thursdays for brekkie... yumm!!

Room Tip: There are cabins closer to the children's playgrounds that would be great for families to stay i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MumandBoyTravelTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMAustralia, Guest Relations Manager at Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2011

Thank you for this kind review and we look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

This was an amazing, relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable place to stay. It begun with a personalised tour of the park in the golf buggy title 'Nemo', which gave you a great overview of all the activities and aspects of the park. We stayed in the two bedroom spa villa - this was perfect, everything you needed. We especially loved the deck, where we ate dinner and lunch most days. The jumping pillow and splash park were a big hit with our two year old son, as was the fire engine ride and pancake breakfast on Wednesdays! Despite the large number of people staying the park was quiet at night - we didn't hear anything after 8pm. The staff were amazingly helpful and friendly and we even got a bag of jelly beans on departure! Would stay again and invite all our friends and family next time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JodieWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMAustralia, Guest Relations Manager at Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2011

Thanks for this feedback and we are always happy to hear that we are doing our job well. We want you to go home feeling relaxed and recharged and the jelly beans are our back up in case there has been too much energy spent on the Jumping Pillow! See you next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed in a 2 bedroom Villa for 9 nights. It was a great stay and our 3 year old twins enjoyed it all. They were a little too small to use the Splash Waterpark. However we did go on the jumping pillows, playground and used the heated spa. The pools were all too cold to go into so maybe some solar panels may be beneficial just to take the chill of the water.
The kids loved the fire engine rides and also Nemo and the Frog carts.

It was great as a central base to go and explore the rest of Cairns and FNQ.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveSleepingInPlanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We have just returned from 10 wonderful days at the Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort. The resort is extraordinarily clean and well laid out. It has so much to offer families from the accommodation types to the facilities/activities for the children (2 pools both with slides, 1 with 2 spas, an awesome splash park, go karts, mini golf, outdoor movies, giant chess, playground, etc). The staff are very welcoming and very accommodating with requests where they can be.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa (no 13) which comfortably housed 2 adults & 2 boisterous boys. After reading a review here, I requested a villa as far away from the Bruce Highway and I was so pleased that I did because it is a loud and very busy highway, immediately next to the resort and there is very little by way of trees to buffer the resort from the road noise.

We chose not to hire a car based on the info provided in the reviews here and we weren't inconvenienced at all. There is a bus stop immediately outside the resort (bus # 141 or 143) which runs every 1/2 hour or so into Cairns and takes about 30-40 minutes. The Southside Shopping Village is approx 10 minutes walk away and it has an IGA, Brumbies, butchers, fish shop, an Indian take away, a Thai take away and the ever popular McDonalds. There is a Stocklands shopping centre at Earlville which is less then 10 minutes on the bus.

Our boys repeatedly said it was the best holiday they had ever had, and that includes Fiji last July, and as a result we found it to be incredibly relaxing. Thank you to the amazing staff. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Request accommodation away from the Bruce Highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EKDP0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Cairns coconut holiday resort was the last stop on my families holiday. It has so many facilities! Water parks, pools, putt putt golf, volleyball, you name it, it's there. You barely have to leave the park at all! That can be a good thing, or a not so good thing, depending on your personality and style of holiday. All the toilets and showers are very clean, and there are plenty of places to park your caravan/campa.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhughes291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
4.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
614 reviews
4.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
3.8 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 63 in Cairns
2,313 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut

Address: 23-51 Anderson Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4868, Australia (Formerly Cairns Coconut Caravan Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#1 Family Hotel in Cairns
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $72 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-friendly self-contained accommodation with the most amazing range of free activities including heated SPLASH water park, under sixes indoor playground, adults only therapeutic hot spa, mini golf, the NEOS interactive playground, two heated (and cooled) resort pools, monster Jumping Pillows, tennis court and much, much more. Accommodation choices range from luxury three bedroom Condos, fully self contained Villas with two bathrooms to Tropical Cabins and sites for caravans, motorhomes & tents. Multi award winning including 7 times winner of the Australian Tourism Award for Best Tourist & Holiday Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Coconut Holiday Hotel Cairns
Cairns Caravan Coconut Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing