We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Barrier Reef Diving”
Review of Cairns Aquarius

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cairns Aquarius
Ranked #27 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Barrier Reef Diving”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

My uncle and I stayed in a 4th floor, water front condo in December 2013. The location was fabulous and convenient. The views were great and the unit (#29) was clean (2BR/2BA, W/D) and very well kept.

I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you Neil B, for you fabulous review. Always brilliant to know that our guests enjoyed their stay with us. Apartment 29 is, as you say a very lovely and recently fully renovated apartment. Your recommendation of Cairns Aquarius is very much appreciated.

Kind regards,

Don and Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    46
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
126
44
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This hotel has a great location with spectacular views. It is a bit dated, but the price and views are well worth staying here. Our 2 bedroom apartment was very spacious. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdrgsonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Glad that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you may return. If you do, my recommendation would be that you book one of our premium apartments which are all newly renovated and far from dated.

Kind regards,

Don and Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I've spent my hens weekend in Cains and stayed in a 2 bedrooms apartment with another 3 girls. Annette had no trouble organized the top floor one for us with very big balcony over looking the ocean. This place is quiet, clean, spacious and with all the high quality cooking wares and latest white ware (double doors ice/water processor fridge etc) those you need but we hardly used them, as all the nice restaurants are just at the doorstep, super convenient to enjoy the local cuisine and check out people working out in the park just cross the street. Price is reasonable for our budget, 3 nights at a labor day weekend costed $750 total.

Room Tip: Ask for the high floor premium if you loves the better view with breeze. Rooms are quiet in general...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank whaticare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsaquarius1, Owner at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you so much ladies for you lovely review. Always very rewarding to know that our guests enjoyed their stay and the facilities.
Hopefully we will one day see you back at Cairns Aquarius. Hopefully in the not too distant future
Until then our best wishes for the New Year.

Don and Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

When the kids were little it was easy to fit everyone in a hotel family room. But now that they are young adults, our accommodation requirements are different. This is why Aquarius is perfect for us. This is now the 2nd time we've stayed here as a family and I can honestly say that from now on whenever we come back to Cairns as a family, we will make sure to stay here again. It ticks all the right boxes! Easy booking system, no-fuss check-in/check-out, two bedrooms, two bathrooms, very spacious, comfortable and modern furnishings, free wifi, Foxtel and of course, perfect position (right on the esplanade, but not on top of the touristy area, close enough so everything is walkable) and gorgeous views from the balcony! One couldn't ask for more. We stayed on the 7th floor this year and it was brilliant! High enough to catch the sea breezes, we just opened the balcony doors to cool the place down and hardly turned on the aircon at all, and this is December in the tropics! Stayed for several days over Christmas and it has been really lovely and quiet. Met some of the residents and other guests in the lift, they are all family folks and really friendly, no drunken rabble here. The kitchen is well-equipped so there is the opportunity to self-cater, but why would you when there's many good dining places within a minutes walk from the door. Still, it was nice to grab some great coffee from the cafe in the corner after an early morning walk on the esplanade and take it back to the apartment. Make some toast and sit at the balcony watching the world go by. What a way to start the day!

Overall, I highly recommend this property to families with teenagers and young adults. The space and amenities alone are well worth the money for a relaxing holiday in the tropics. Why stay anywhere else?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geckopoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Annette T, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
What a brilliant review! You tell it well and as it is.
As you state, the apartments are large and extremely comfortable. I can certainly can identify with your sentiments in regard to sitting out on the balcony and enjoying the sea breeze. We do it often, and frequently reflect on, just how fortunate we are to live here.

We would love to see you all back at Cairns Aquarius. Hopefully in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Don and Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

This is one of the most spacious, beautiful and modern places to stay. It's location is close to the shops, beach and big swimming pool (the lagoon). Although we wanted to stay at a higher level, the room we stayed in was at level 4 which actually gave us a perfect view of the beach and scenery so we didn't need to go to a higher level.

The living room, kitchen area and king bed room is very spacious (it even has its own TV!). The apartment and rooms are also very clean. However, I found it strange how one of door knobs turned the opposite way of how door knobs are usually turned in the bed rooms that had two single beds. Also there's an awesome swimming pool and tennis court! The place is very secure!

Also a massive plus: Free Wi Fi!

As we went as a family, we were only given one set of keys (which was quite annoying when we wanted to go to go back to the apartment/ other places at different times). This is probably due to security reasons. Also I found the parking spaces to be a bit narrow.
Also one of the A/C controller in the bed room wasn't working so we had to use the other controller in the other bedroom.

Overall, we really loved staying here. Out of the other apartments we stayed in, this was the best! I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ILOVETRAVELLING955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Annette T, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review.

We have to say that positive feed back from our guests is so motivating for us. Annette and I put in a lot of time making sure that everything is just right. We appreciate how small things can be quite frustrating when you are on holidays.

So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards,

Don and Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stayed at the Aquarius for 2 short stints this month, with a couple nights break in between staying in Port Douglas - will definitely be staying here the next time we're in Cairns, though hopefully it's not another 7 years between visits next time!

We stayed in apt 81, on the sub penthouse level. Fantastic, great views of the esplanade, great location. Alot more space than we needed given it was just the 2 of us, but didn't care, the room was worth it. Before getting there I was thinking I would've preferred a room that doesn't have one of the solid balcony wall, just so there's more to see when you're sat down, but honestly it didn't matter in the slightest, the view is amazing regardless.

Check-in/out is better than staying at any hotel, all instructions really easy to follow. Just get your keys out of the safe and you're good to go.

As for amenities, we didn't use the pool, but it looked nice. If you want to stay at a place that has gym equipment, you don't need it - the Esplanade has lots of workout stations, with one right out front of the Aquarius. Foxtel, fast WiFi - everything you need really.

Even left a t-shirt there after our first visit, the room was being used in the days between our stay - didn't realise I left it behinmd but returned a couple of nights later to find it nicely folded up on the bedside table.

Thanks Don & Annette, will definitely recommend the Aquarius to any friends or family.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoFarAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Annette T, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you "SoFarAway" for your outstanding review.

Annette and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us . Apartment 81 is sub penthouse and a little different configuration to the other apartments. As you so accurately note, it is very comfortable and has fantastic ocean views.

We look forward to seeing you all back at Cairns Aquarius one day. It's not really that far and if I may say, well worth the trip.

Kind regards,

Don and Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

This is one of the nicest apartment complexes we have stayed in. We stayed in Premium Apt 29 on 4th floor (refurbished last year) which was located on end of building so had fantastic ocean views as well as views on the side to the mountains. It had large master with walk thru robe to ensuite. So pleased to have ample coat hangers! 2nd bedroom had 2 singles next to large spa bathroom. Have to step up into spa bath for shower. The kitchen/living over looks balcony and ocean view. Beds and living have fans and aircon. There is also laundry with washing machine, dryer and tub. They even supply broom, mop, bucket and vacuum if you need. The majority of the complex is private residences, so is secure and very quiet. It is located on the Esplanade at the end of the restaurant strip, 10 min walk to reef terminal, and city centre shopping. Lots of recreational activities available on the Esplanade. We were really impressed and would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaC2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you very much LisaC for taking the time to post your excellent review and for sharing your Cairns Aquarius experience with other Trip Advisor travellers. Annette and I are always delighted to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay with us and that everything was up to the highest standard. We work really hard to make sure that everything is perfect, so reviews like yours are very rewarding. Thank you also for your photographs of apartment 29 and the views.

Just brilliant to learn that you would stay with us again and we look forward to hopefully seeing you back at Cairns Aquarius one day.

Kind regards,

Don and Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments
0.4 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#5 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
181 The Esplanade
181 The Esplanade
#30 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.2 mi away
BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort
0.0 mi away
Mantra Trilogy
Mantra Trilogy
#26 of 64 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Aquarius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Aquarius

Property: Cairns Aquarius
Address: 107 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cairns
#6 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Aquarius 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Cairns Aquarius holiday apartment is the perfect holiday destinaton choice for your stay in tropical Cairns, Far North Queensland. Enjoy the accommodation convenience of a fully furnished, self-contained, waterfront holiday apartment in the heart of Cairns city. Stroll along the Cairns Esplanade, recline on a sun lounge by the pool or experience the breathtaking ocean views from your private balcony in Tropical Far North Queensland. All premium apartments have been fully refurbished. Book direct with Cairns Aqarius through our Web Site or call us. Troy and Elisabeth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairns Aquarius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing