We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Space and Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cairns Aquarius

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cairns Aquarius
Ranked #27 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Ayr, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Space and Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Our second time staying at Cairns Aquarius. The Management is very helpful and the apartments are larger than most. They gave us a late check out as we had a late flight and we were able to soak up the last little bit Cairns has to offer.

Close to everything you need.

Room Tip: Apartments/Rooms vary. Bookings essential during peak times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you Chris H for taking the time to review Cairns Aquarius and for your very positive comments.

We are always happy to oblige with early check ins and late check outs whenever this is possible.

Noting that this was your second visit to Cairns Aquarius, we look forward to hopefully seeing you again at some stage.

Kind regards,

Don and Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    43
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
123
44
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

My daughter (who lives in Sydney) and my friend and I spent 3 days and nights in Cairns in early November. We chose the Aquarius because of the amount of space we would have for the price. We had the option of selecting a modernized apartment with beautiful ocean views, or an older "budget" apartment on the ground floor. We decided we would rather spend money on activities than lodging and chose the budget apartment. The furnishings and amenities were definitely a little dated, but they were comfortable, and most importantly, clean. The apartment consisted of a spacious living/dining room area adjacent to the kitchen, a master bedroom with double bed and large(r) bathroom, as well as a 2nd bedroom with 2 twin beds and a 2nd bathroom that has 2 separate rooms: one toilet room and one with sink and shower. The apartment also has a washer/dryer. The air conditioning was only in the master bedroom and living/dining room. In November, this did not present a problem (the other bedroom has a ceiling fan and we slept with both bedroom doors open)... not sure if it would be uncomfortable in the height of the summer. We also had 2 patios off the living room, one with views of lush foliage on the nicely landscaped/maintained grounds. This apartment was not luxurious by any means, but it worked well for us. I'm sure the modernized apartments on higher floors are lovely... we didn't see one. This is not a hotel per se. I believe most of the residents are either permanent or long-term, and are very quiet. We were a little surprised that there is no front desk, but the Managers live on site and are very responsive and accommodating. The Aquarius also has 2 small pools, with just a few lounge chairs around each. We spent a few hours at one pool and were the only people there... very quiet, peaceful place.

Having no prior familiarity with Cairns, we were very presently surprised by the location. It is within walking distance of EVERYTHING! Nice restaurants are plentiful and there's plenty of shopping within 2-3 blocks. The Cairns Lagoon (very large public pool with an open, grassy area for relaxing/picnicking (concert going on while we were there)) is a block away, as is the boardwalk. There is no beach in Cairns, unless you want to take a bus. The Reef Terminal, from where day trips to the Great Barrier Reef depart was about a 10-15 minute walk, but most tours pick up at hotels. I would definitely recommend the Aquarius for location and value.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank megsite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Megsite,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a comprehensive and detailed review.
Just fantastic that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.

Who knows, perhaps one day in the future we see you again at Cairns Aquarius.

Kind regards,

Don and Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed in November for 10 days with family and friends. we couldn't fault our apartment and the beautiful views from the balcony. everything is so close to this hotel, reef trips, shops, restaurants. The staff and manager were very friendly and helpful. As stated on the website the apartment was very large and comfortable and also sparkingly clean.
We only live in Townsville so will definitely return one day.

Room Tip: we stayed in the premium garden apartment. very comfortable and modern also it's ;ike having you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Many thanks John R. Your review tells it as it is. Large comfortable apartments with every amenity. Fantastic ocean views and right in the center of everything. We look forward to seeing you return in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Don and Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed at the Cairns Aquarius in November, 2013. The hotel, the staff, the staff, and the amenities were all excellent. The Aquarius is located on the Esplanade adjoining the boardwalk and right in the middle of the beach area. There are lots of shops, restaurants, coffee bars, and other activities in the immediate area.
The apartment was large, well-equipped, and very comfortable. We did have a problem with one of the air conditioner units, but the maintenace guy was there within five minutes of when we called. We stayed four nights and really had a nice time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you Roger W for you very complementary review. We really do go over the top to ensure that guests enjoy their stay with us. Reviews from guests like yourself are very rewarding and much appreciated.

Kind regards,

Don and Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Booked this apartment with its close proximity to restaurants and was not disappointed. Lovely
apartment, all amenities especially the air con. Staff were friendly and helpful. My only complaint is a general one that I find in most accomodation is that the cleaning staff do not take the extra effort to fix up those finer points. Mirror in main bedroom had splatter marks on it and kitchen bench need to be wiped down. Cleaned cereal bowls still had hardened cereal on them from a previous user..but would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone due to its location.
Great family holiday location.

Room Tip: Had the mezzane floor but would ask for higher up due to some outside noise from a motor..but didnt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl52Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Hi Cheryl52,

Delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us apologies for the cleaning problem. Very unusual as evidenced in other reviews. I have spoken to the cleaners, and that is what I feel make reviews so important to the hospitality industry. Sometimes it's the only way which we can be aware of the problem.

Thanks and regards,

Don and Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

The stay in cairns was enjoyed as the accomadation and overall service at the Aquarius apartments was very good.


Staying so close to many shops and being able to take many walks along the boardwalk either day or night was most enjoyable.

As well as having the chose of two pools to have a refreshing swim each day.

Room Tip: Higher Floors will give excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lois M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you Anne S for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Cairns Aquarius. Annette and I put in a lot of effort to ensure that all of the apartments are presented at the highest possible standard for our guests. Apartment 66 most certainly meets this criterion.

Knowing that you will one day return, is the best endorsement of your stay and very rewarding for Annette and I.

Kind regards,

Annette and Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

A friend from Perth & I (from NZ) have just stayed at the Aquarius - we loved it - we were on the 3rd floor which was the perfect level to just sit & look across the road & watch all the goings on. I have never seen so many kids on bikes with the their families or so many people doing fitness stuff. Dogs going for walks - all on leashes.
As I am not a good sleeper I was on the deck at various times during the night & it didn't matter what time - people were always passing by - females alone obviously felt very safe which is a big thing.
The apartment was very clean & had everything we needed. We were so happy out on the deck watching the goings on across the road that we didn't run on TV one or read a book once - we walked the boardwalk every night - it is the perfect place to stay - beautiful park opposite - RSL (Returned Services Club) next door - fabulous reasonably priced meals - even open for breakfast. Typical Australia - mega eating places, every choice of food one could want.
The apartment block has 2 pools & beautifully kept gardens with tennis court & BBQ area - a book case in the foyer that you can help yourself too - all in all - had a fantastic time & would recommend it to one & all.
The only thing that was negative was the noise of the air conditioning units on the deck - they were very noisy which was distracting but we turned them off in the evenings when we were out there.

Room Tip: I would recommend street facing & 3rd floor if possible to be able to see without having to lean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you Dawn C for your "Fabulous" review. Without a doubt you have fully appreciated one of the greatest benefits of staying at the Cairns Aquarius. Sitting out on the huge balcony and viewing the endless parade along the Esplanade is always interesting and often entertaining.

Hopefully we will one day see you back at Cairns Aquarius.

Kind regards,

Don and Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments
0.4 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
181 The Esplanade
181 The Esplanade
#30 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.2 mi away
BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort
0.0 mi away
Mantra Trilogy
Mantra Trilogy
#26 of 64 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Aquarius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Aquarius

Property: Cairns Aquarius
Address: 107 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cairns
#6 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Aquarius 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Cairns Aquarius holiday apartment is the perfect holiday destinaton choice for your stay in tropical Cairns, Far North Queensland. Enjoy the accommodation convenience of a fully furnished, self-contained, waterfront holiday apartment in the heart of Cairns city. Stroll along the Cairns Esplanade, recline on a sun lounge by the pool or experience the breathtaking ocean views from your private balcony in Tropical Far North Queensland. All premium apartments have been fully refurbished. Book direct with Cairns Aqarius through our Web Site or call us. Troy and Elisabeth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairns Aquarius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing