We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and a stunning view”
Review of Cairns Aquarius

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cairns Aquarius
Ranked #25 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in a 2 bedroom Premium apartment. We wanted to be close to the esplanade, lagoon pool, restaurants and shopping. Cairns Aquarius is perfectly situated for all of these. The apartment was spacious with modern decor, let down only by the kitchen. We felt that everything in the kitchen needed to be washed before we used them as things felt grimy. Once we got over that, we loved the apartment's facilities and outlook. The pool area is ok but in need of upgrading, however, you do have the option to go over the road to the fabulous Cairns Lagoon Pool. Out the front door of the hotel you have a huge range of great bars, restaurants and shopping. Love the location and adore the view, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you very much Leanne, for your lovely revue. Delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and apologies for the kitchen utensils.

Annette and I try really hard to stay on top of every thing, but there are inevitably, rare occasions, when things slip under the radar.

Hopefully we will one day see you back at Cairns Aquarius.

Kind regards,

Don and Annette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for Cairns Aquarius
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 224 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

The only reason we didn't give the full 5 stars is because we have become more serious with our status as senior reviewers, and therefore very fussy with our assessments. The accommodation + service + value has to really JUMP out and impress to get the full 5 stars. This place has the obvious excellent amenities including the location, fully equipped refurbished apts, views etc, but was just shy of the 5 star, "value for money" & WOW factor (at least the apartments we saw).

We stayed the first night in apt #66 and found it very stylish and classy. The wife was very impressed when we entered, being used to smaller studio and 1 bed apartments. The size, space, and design impressed her right from the start (see doesn't know how much we paid for it!). The view from 66 was amazing from the 11th floor, but in spite of being so high, we were surprised at how well sound travelled from the street (doors closed). We also found proximity to the neighbouring apartment block a little distracting (could see right into about half a dozen other's bedrooms.) The next day we asked to look at any other available units, both for future reference, and for practical reasons, since we found the master bed (Queen/Double?) extremely small for us.

Fortunately apt #3 was avail. and finding a nice big King bed in there we chose to move. We also preferred the layout of #3, and although located on the mezzanine level, surprisingly QUIET compared to 66. Apartment #3 is great for anyone wanting a near-luxury stay, who places sleep quality and general living comfort above any spectacular view. The apartment could use a few throw rugs, and this was suggested to the owner. Perhaps by the time you get there they will already be in place. Otherwise any further criticisms would just be nit-picking.

One minor thing we noticed was that when we tried to sleep early at 9pm for an early 3am flight on the last night, we could hear the neighbours TV through the wall. So the walls may be a little thin, but most residents are respectfully quiet. We were NOT disturbed by other noise during our stay. For reference this apartment #3 had a HUGE TV and very comfortable living-room. If you read the list of amenities included in the Premium apartments, then you can be assured you will get everything you can expect and all up to a high standard.

The list of great things about Cairns Aquarius would be much longer than any minor issues we could think of. The lift is nice and fast, the entrance and lobby clean and welcoming, the residents all very friendly, and the location is really close to most everything. One thing critics need to remember is this is NOT a hotel - there are caretakers but it is basically a residential apartment complex. Daily room servicing is NOT included and there is no hotel style "front desk", although the caretakers are avail 24/7.

We think the high price tag is mostly for the size and space you get, and somewhat for the location, views, and style. For us, we considered the cost O.K. on this trip because it was only a few days. Were we to stay longer we might find it a bit expensive ;-) So if cost is not a factor then these apartments could be great for you.

Room Tip: BEST TIP WE CAN GIVE: Carefully look at the photos in TripAdvisor, and note the apartment number bel...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSC0TTMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Thank you Scott for your very detailed review. You are spot on in your analysis of what Cairns Aquarius offers. We are self catering holiday apartments. You have every facility is in your apartment, fully equipped kitchen, laundry and an outstanding living and dining area. Sort of a home away from home. Very comfortable and conveniently located.

As for value, if you are just two people, it's probably less expensive to stay in a hotel, unless you factor in the cost of restaurant dining. If you are 2 couples or a family, a large 2 bedroom apartment is streets ahead economy wise.

Regards,

Don and Annette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Absolutely fabulous!!! Once again the Cairns Aquarius came through with flying colours, Decided to shout my whole family to a holiday this year, so we all went to cairns Aquarius for a week , This time i booked one superior apartment and one standard apartment for my sisters family , the apartments where well above our expentations, both had the best views you could ask for (ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS) both had modern clean furniture, great aircon in every room they were just so clean and tidy, every appliance worked well. I come to cairns every year and have stayed at many different places but nothing and i mean nothing comes close to the Aquarius for views, cleanliness, great rooms, value for money and the best customer service you could ask for. Without hesitation the cairns Aquarius is arguably the best place to stay in cairns, Great views, great gardens ,fab bbq area , great clean rooms, great customer service!!!!

Room Tip: all jokes aside, I really have looked at many places and the Aquarius is great value for money @ its...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leonardo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Thank you very much leonardo c for your "absolutely fabulous" review. And for your much appreciated, continuing support over several years. We do feel having families return to Cairns Aquarius on a regular basis, is in many ways the best endorsement we could wish for.

We look forward to seeing you and your family and friends back at Cairns Aquarius next year.

Also a special thanks for supplying your fantastic balcony photograph of the enormous cruise liner sailing past the building.

Kind regards,

Don and Annette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Cannot speak highly enough about these apartments. Stayed for two weeks at end of May.
Absolutely the highlight of our year. We have travelled extensively throughout the world from time to time because of my husband's job in the foreign service. Without hesitation the whole family agrees that Cairns Aquarius is the best place that we have ever stayed anywhere.

We are all committed that we will return at the earliest opportunity.

Fantastic kitchen. comfortable bedrooms, large comfortable lounge.

In summary everything you need to make your holiday enjoyable.

Oh!! did I mention the amazing views.

Tropigal.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Trish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you Trish G for your outstanding review and for taking the time to share your holiday experience with other Trip Advisor travelers. Just brilliant for Annette and I to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay at Cairns Aquarius. We really do put in a lot of time, making sure that the apartments are up to the highest standard. So, very rewarding when guests like your self have a pleasant stay. Love to see your family back one day.

Kind regards,

Don and Annette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

When my wife and myself planned to stay in Cairns to visit Barrier Reef with my brother and his wife coming from France, I needed to stay in an apartment having 2 bedrooms with separate bathroom, and also close enough to the pier. Cairns Aquarius is among a few perfectly matching our requirements.

We stayed at room 22. Both bedrooms and the bathroom are clean. It has an excellent ocean view so we decided to have breakfast in the morning.

The response from the owner, was quick when we reported a faulty hair dryer (not important issue). He bought a new one and put in our room straightaway.

Most residents in the Cairns Aquarius are permanent residents so we didn't stay with a group of visitors (as we had such experience with a big hotels). It is very quiet.

For $220 a night, it is a good value for money.

23/5/2013
John Nguyen
Fairy Meadow NSW

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear John N and family,

Thank you for your excellent review. It is very rewarding when guests take the time to share their holiday experience with other Trip Advisor travellers.

As managers of the holiday apartments, Annette and I work really hard to ensure that guests' expectations are met at every level.

Hopefully we will see you and your family return to Cairns Aquarius in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Don and Annette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Having stayed in Cairns 3 times over the past 5 years, this has to be one of the best locations going! Great views, close to restaurants, markets, pool and marina, but surprisingly little street noise in the evening. Had a brilliant view of fireworks on the Sunday evening and sat on the balcony afterwards listening to the concert!
As past reviews have stated noise from air conditioners on nearby buildings is a little annoying and yes - you can still hear them on upper floors (we were on the 11th).Not sure how much louder it would be on the lower floors. However, the early morning noise from the fruit bats in the trees behind Aquarius is louder!
Our apartment - #66 - was very well appointed, we couldn't have wanted for anything more, well furnished and spacious. You are quite close to the apartments on the right but can't say its a real privacy issue. The 'mini' balcony at the back is also a bonus for views of the city and surrounding hills.
Already thinking of a return visit!!

Room Tip: Corner suites on the higher floors are spacious with both a large and small balcony and great views.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Thank you so much Jane C for taking the time to share your Cairns Aquarius experience with other travelers and Trip Advisor readers.

As you say apartment 66 is a really modern and comfortable apartment, frequently requested by returning guests. Stunning views of the Marina and ocean. If you prefer to dine out you will have the choice of 26 excellent restaurants within a five minute walk from the Aquarius entry. If you prefer to dine in, you have a full suite of cooking implements and induction heating to make that so easy. Your review is very much appreciated.

Kind regards,

Don and Annette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

OK, this place wasn't cheap -- we were there for 5 nights at about US$340/night. (Not sure how that compares with the rest of Cairns.)
That having been said, we still feel like we got more than our money's worth because this was a great place.

- Plenty of space, with 2 2-bed bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, cooking and dining area, and living room.

- Washer/dryer. Works great once you figure out that you have to empty the water collector bin occasionally! :-)

- Stove/oven, fridge, microwave. 2 large TVs. One of ours had a problem, but was promptly fixed.

- Big balcony with a table and chairs, plus a beautiful view of the water. There's a nice little view out back of the rest of Cairns too, pretty hills.

- Air conditioning worked great. They told us not to set it below a certain temperature, but that temperature was plenty cool, so it wasn't an issue.

- Nice swimming pool.

Note: I wasn't contacted by anyone at this place to write a review, I just did it because that's what I do. :-)

Excellent place, I totally felt at home and relaxed and comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SpunkyDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Thank you SpunkyDawg, all the way from West Virginia. Your excellent review is very much appreciated. It really is appreciated when guestslike yourself take the time to share their experiences with us. Annette and I work really hard to ensure that the apartments are clean and comfortable for our guests. Making you feel at home is exactly what we strive for.

In regard to the cost, I'm not sure of the exchange rate (US/AUS) at the time but I note that you booked through CheckIn.com. Had you booked with us direct through our web site you would have saved 15% in commission to CheckIn .com. Our daily rate on your apartment at that time was $A250 per night. Approx. US$258.75. Worth noting that CheckIn.com went into voluntary liquidation last week.
I see from your review profile that you are amazingly well traveled. Hopefully we may see you once again back at Cairns Aquarius. We would love to have you.

Kind regards,

Don and Annette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.6 mi away
Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.0 mi away
Coral Towers Holiday Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Aquarius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Aquarius

Address: 107 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cairns
#6 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $199 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Aquarius 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Cairns Aquarius holiday apartment is the perfect holiday destinaton choice for your stay in tropical Cairns, Far North Queensland. Enjoy the accommodation convenience of a fully furnished, self-contained, waterfront holiday apartment in the heart of Cairns city. Stroll along the Cairns Esplanade, recline on a sun lounge by the pool or experience the breathtaking ocean views from your private balcony in Tropical Far North Queensland. All premium apartments have been fully refurbished. Book direct with Cairns Aqarius through our Web Site or call us. Troy and Elisabeth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Cairns Aquarius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing