We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury”
Review of Cairns Aquarius

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cairns Aquarius
Ranked #26 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Dromana, Vic. Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Luxury”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Our travel agent booked this so I guess we just got lucky. We arrived 5 hours early for check in no problem. Straight into our apartment which was a free upgrade. When we walked into the apartment we could not believe our eyes It is MASSIVE! Very big balcony looking out to the sea and a big cruise liner coming in. Everything was really top shelf and so clean. Kitchen with everything and our own laundry which we really needed after 6 days of travel with limited baggage. We stayed for 5 fabulous days and when it came time to leave I nearly cried.
Big thank you to the managers Don and Annette for early check in and late check out and for making us so welcome. You live there how lucky are you!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingTomToms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Travelling Tom Toms. Our sincere thanks for your wonderful review. It is always very rewarding to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us.

We are always happy for a guest to check in early and leave late when possible.

Hopefully we will see you back here one day.

Best regards
Don and Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    47
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
127
45
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

check in was a breeze, near the night market, located at the fringe of the buzz. The apartment was well maintained and thoughtful in equipping the place. Dishwashing liquid, sponge and foil was provided for the oven, kitchen was fully equipped. u have to buy your soap powder for the laundry. There was a towel with holes, otherwise it was fine. The air conditioning in the 2nd room needs servicing as it was not cold. U need to keep logging into the free wifi.

Room Tip: no fitness centre and restaurants but plenty of restaurants around. Has direct sun so apartment felt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J-Lo8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you J-L08888 for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review. I would take the opportunity to point out that we do not have a restaurant or fitness center because we are Holiday Apartments and not a Hotel. As you correctly point out there are 5 very lovely restaurants right next door and there is also a large Genesis fitness center in Lake Street, 300 meters up the road.

We are delighted that you were happy with your apartment. Wi Fi has been a problem for the last couple of weeks. Apparently a result of widespread flooding on the central Queensland coast. This should all be restored to normal in the next couple of days. Thank you for your advice on the towel. We have notified the laundry to be more vigilant. Fortunate that we supply all apartments with 6 bath towels and more available if guests require them. There is always someone ready and happy to assist. Just dial 9.

The sun is directly on the front of building from sunrise to approximately 11.30am. The air conditioning in all rooms is more than adequate to keep the apartment comfortable and as cool or cold as you like. We hope that you will one day return to Cairns Aquarius.

Kind regards,
Don and Annette
CAIRNS AQUARIUS APARTMENTS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payette, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 3 week stay in Australia and this was the best place we stayed! Perfect location, luxurious, so clean and beautiful---can't say enough about this place, except why would you want to stay any place else?

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the Esplanade and the ocean and it was perfect! Make sure you go next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryl3990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Cheryl,
It is always exciting for us to receive such a positive review from guests who have travelled from overseas and compare us with recent accommodation they have stayed in. We do have an exceptional location here at Cairns Aquarius and also amazing ocean views from every apartment.
Our location next door to some of the best Restaurants in Cairns is a definite bonus.
Thank you for your review which is very much appreciated. We hope to see you at Cairns Aquarius next time you travel overseas.

Best wishes
Don and Annette
CAIRNS AQUARIUS APARTMENTS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chistchurch, NZ
2 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Great place to stay. Strange check in system but it works well! Stayed for ten days in February and enjoyed every moment. As stated in several other reviews that we read the apartments are much larger than we needed but all that space was good. The furnishings were modern and comfortable, something we didn’t expect on arrival as the building itself has obviously been there for quite awhile. Every thing was clean and tidy and we couldn’t have wished for better, especially the view of the ocean and ships from the balcony. Too hot to sit out there during the day if you’re used to New Zealand weather but fantastic for relaxing in the late afternoon and evening with a glass of wine. Our friends in another apartment on a lower floor had exactly the same arrangement and their view was just as good as ours. We catered for ourselves most evenings. The kitchen had everything we needed but we also visited two of the restaurants which are just next to the building which was very convenient.
Big wide screen TV in the lounge and another in the bedroom. Also good laundry facility which is a godsend after a day out touring. There was nothing that we were unhappy about. When the dishwasher didn’t work one night we rang the manager and some one came up and fixed it immediately within 10 minutes so can’t complain about that. We travel a bit but usually in hotels or resorts but we both agree this is the best accommodation we have ever experienced and I would have to say the best value.
They apartment had a sign encouraging visitors to do a Trip Advisor write up so we have. Thank you Cairns Aquarius for being so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeJakie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Mike and Jakie,
It is so rewarding to have guests like yourself share their positive experience at Cairns Aquarius with other Trip Advisor reviewers. As you quite correctly mentioned every apartment has an excellent ocean view regardless of floor level. We have a unique building where every apartment has a spectacular ocean view. Many guests comment on the spacious apartments and also the convenience of location, as we are within walking distance to everything. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you return to Cairns Aquarius in the near future.
Best wishes
Don and Annette
CAIRNS AQUARIUS APARTMENTS.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide SA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Never been to Cairns before and we chose Aquarius because of the excellent Trip Advisor reviews. Cairns Aquarius is a bit unusual. There is no reception as such but there is a very friendly receptionist in the foyer weekdays but not Saturday or Sunday. Our apartment was really large and had an amazingly big balcony which looked out on the ocean. Excellent for relaxing with a glass of wine. We met up with our friends in Cairns who were staying in other, not nearly as nice accommodation further away from Town. Because the apartment was so big they were able to move in for the last three days of our trip.
These apartments are like being in your own home. Everything you could ever need in the kitchen plus our laundry had a large washing machine and a dryer. Very comfortable and modern furniture and beds. All very clean and good to return to after day tripping. We will definitely return to this hotel for a longer holiday. Probably next year if we can.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianJudyFordham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Brian and Judy,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your Cairns Aquarius experience with other Trip Advisor reviewers. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. You're perfectly correct the Apartments do feel like you have moved into another home from home. We love living here ourselves and work really hard to ensure that all of the apartments come up to a standard which will satisfy visiting guests requirements. We very much hope to see you and your friends back at Cairns Aquarius one day.

Kind regards
Don and Annette
CAIRNS AQUARIUS APARTMENTS.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The apartments lounge looks recently renovated. The ovens grill doesn't work. The pool needs to be cleaned at least every two days. There are small ants throughout the kitchen. However these are Minor issues that could be easily rectified and would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you Tracy for taking the time to send in a review.
Some of the points which you mention need clarification.
1. The oven grill works fine. You just need to set the timer or dial 9 on your phone and we would have fixed this immediately.
2. The pools are cleaned daily and are always immaculate. Perhaps you visited during unusually gusty conditions.
3. All apartments are sprayed regularly with surface spray. In the tropics small ants are inevitable, particularly in the wet season. Located in the cupboard under the sink in every apartment is a can of low irritant spray in the event that you see any ants. Or you could ring 9 and we will come to your apartment immediately and spray them for you.
4. Management is available 24/7 to resolve any problems. However if you do not make us aware of the problem until after you have left then that is very disappointing for both of us.

So pleased that you enjoyed the views.
Don and Annette
Holiday Management
CAIRNS AQUARIUS APARTMENTS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed about a week here in Jan 2013 on our trip from Canada. We were very impressed with the size, cleanliness, location and how modern our suite was. It was like having a new 2 bedroom condo right on the ocean.

Our suite was #29 and it has been renovated. It is on the 4th floor of a several storey building. The view from the balcony is excellent - ocean forever right across the street. The balcony is also huge with a nice table & chairs to use. We whiled away many hours out there taking in the view & reading with a cold beverage.

As mentioned, our suite was renovated and was quite impressive. We had a friend who came to visit us who also booked a room at the Aquarius although he booked a 'non-renovated' room. His room was on the 9th floor and was just as impressive as our room, with an equally great view.

Our suite was very large with a master bedroom & ensuite bathroom as well as having a second bedroom with 2 extra beds and another main bathroom complete with spa tub. The main bed was very comfortable and the room itself was also a good size. We did not utilize the second bedroom.

It has a full, modern kitchen with full-sized appliances and everything you need to cook great meals at home if you want to. We chose to eat out at the many great restaurants nearby while we stayed here, but this place has it all if you want to eat in.

There is also a complete living room with couches, coffee table & tv with movies etc as well as a dining table/chairs all in an open concept with the kitchen - very modern & tasteful. There are also A/C units (air conditioning) in several rooms which helps tremendously in dealing with the heat and humidity in Cairns. We were quite pleased to find a complete laundry room in-suite which was very nice to have.

To make other travellers aware, there is no front desk as this is not a 'hotel' per se, although there is a lady in the lobby from about 9-5 weekdays to assist if needed. This is more of a private condo building with suites that are rented out. That being said, it exceeded our expectations and we were very happy with everything during our stay. We also greatly appreciated having free WiFi in our room.

I will mention that there is free, underground parking but it is very hard to find the driveway into it for the first time - I think that the management of the Aquarius would be well served to post good signage on the street where the driveway is behind the building for guests.

I would also encourage a sign/map to be placed on the glass of the lobby so that we guests have some idea where to go when we are looking for the driveway upon arrival, or, they could also improve the map in the welcome package that is left in the safe for guests checking in after hours.

This is not a big deal, it is just a suggestion for management in the event they read this review. It also is for the benefit of other first-time guests of the Aquarius who might appreciate knowing this information. Once you know where the driveway entrance is, it's no longer a problem.

We were very happy with the location of this place as it is as close to the water as you can be. It is equally close to the promenade with all the great restaurants and shopping all so close that you can walk to everything in no time. There is literally a great restaurant within a 1 minute walk. In fact, we didn't even use our rental car for most of the time we stayed here.

In summary, I cannot overstate how pleased my wife & myself were, as well as our friend who stayed at the Aqurius with us. It is a great place with a great location and is good value for the money.

Room Tip: Every room has an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gtinckler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you G Tinkler for your impressive review of Cairns Aquarius. And for taking the time to share your experience with other Trip Advisor reviewers.
I completely endorse your recommendations to improve directional signage to the car parking and will put this to the Body Corporate for there consideration. Meanwhile we now include a directional map to the car park for guests on their arrival.
I note from your profile that you are well traveled so perhaps one day we will have the pleasure of seeing you back at Cairns Aquarius,

Kind regards,
Don and Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.6 mi away
Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,094 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
0.1 mi away
Mantra Trilogy
Mantra Trilogy
#25 of 64 in Cairns
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Aquarius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Aquarius

Property: Cairns Aquarius
Address: 107 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cairns
#6 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Aquarius 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Cairns Aquarius holiday apartment is the perfect holiday destinaton choice for your stay in tropical Cairns, Far North Queensland. Enjoy the accommodation convenience of a fully furnished, self-contained, waterfront holiday apartment in the heart of Cairns city. Stroll along the Cairns Esplanade, recline on a sun lounge by the pool or experience the breathtaking ocean views from your private balcony in Tropical Far North Queensland. All premium apartments have been fully refurbished. Book direct with Cairns Aqarius through our Web Site or call us. Troy and Elisabeth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairns Aquarius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing