We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cairns Aquarius

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cairns Aquarius
Ranked #27 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“City break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Had a 2 bedroom apartment and was very impressed - very clean and comfortable with every thing you need. the view was stunning and with 2 teenage boys - the price for 2 bedrooms was very reasonable. The security was good, and the location incredable

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cath64_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you Cath64 for your excellent summary of Cairns Aquarius. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our apartments and check every apartment prior to each arrival. As you point out, the ocean view from Cairns Aquarius are the best available anywhere in Cairns.

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with other Trip Advisor travellers.

Kind regards,

Don and Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    43
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
123
44
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dandenong
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We read all the reviews in Trip Advisor which are very impressive. When we booked we asked for a premium apartment with a high view. I would have to say that the apartment that we got was better than anything we had even imagined. Over Christmas my parents came from Townsville and stayed with as for a few days. There is so much room and everything is really new and modern. There are really amazing sea views and very close to the town and also good restaurants next door. Cairns Aquarius is the best place we have ever stayed in. A bit expensive but really worth it. I recommend it to anyone staying in Cairns. Especially for families with kids.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandenongTravel4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Many thanks to you "Dandedong Travel" for your very positive review. Christmas is an exceptionally busy time at Cairns Aquarius so we very much appreciate you taking the time to write your review and delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards,

Don and Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Three generations of our family stayed in upgraded apartment 29 at Aquarius from 26-30th November 2012. Everything was as advertised and consistent with other 5 star reviews. The apartment was very clean. All the appliances worked. The unit was well equipped with dishes, cooking gear, glasses, sliverware, etc. The unit had a washer and dryer--a much appreciated unadvertised addition. The view is exactly like photos.


Aquarius is very well located. Restaurants and tour operators are numerous within an easy walk. The swimming lagoon and the Muddy's play area for kids are also both an easy walk. Two IGA express stores and a Woolworths are within easy walk for groceries and other necessities. We did not have a hire car and did not need one at all. Tour operators will send their vehicles to the front door and cabs are plentiful and timely when reserved in advance.

Take note: the higher the floor, the better the view. So inquire when booking about the location of the apartment you are booking. Also, end units are much preferred over center units.

In summary, Aquarius provided luxury accommodations at a reasonable price in an outstanding location. We would definitely stay here on a return visit.

Room Tip: All apartments face the ocean/bay. Corner units are larger and better laid out. Higher is better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear john d,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I can't tell you how much this sort of positive feedback is appreciated.
You tell it as it is, Apartment 29 was renovated earlier this year. I would know because I did all the renovations myself. Everything is indeed 5 star, fittings, furnishings and finish right down to heavy duty polished granite bench tops. I spent endless hours and days totally refurbishing this apartment , your review more than justifies the time and expense.
Curiously all apartments are the same size its just the configuration that may give the illusion that one is larger than the other and all have stunning ocean views.
I hadn't realized that you were from Africa, such a long way from Cairns, none the less we hope to see you back at Cairns Aquarius one day, hopefully in the not too distant future.
Kind regards and best wishes from Don and Annette.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed with another couple long time friends in apartment 77 on level 12 in November for 5 nights. For a standard apartment we were mostly impressed. There are unbelievable views out over the water and airport from this apartment which has a big balcony with plenty of room and a large table. The girls cooked and we all thought this has to be the best restaurant in Queensland.
Overall the apartment was very clean and well maintained. The only downside was we would have preferred a queen bed in both bedrooms and not just the main bedroom also there is a bit of noise at night from the air con in the building next door. To be fair it wasn’t that disruptive once you got used to it. The beds were comfortable and no problem sleeping after a day trip or a trip to Green Island. On the up side, easy check in, no standing around and a big well equipped kitchen. Big fridge and all the storage you could need.
We would go back but probably when the weather is not so hot.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Grant P of Surfers Paradise,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Cairns Aquarius during your recent holiday. And for taking the time to share your experience with a Trip Advisor review.
These reviews are invaluable to us in confirming that we have met guests expectations and also an excellent medium for intending travellers to assess the various accommodation available. Hopefully we will see you back at Cairns Aquarius in the not too distant future.
Best wishes and kind regards.
Don and Annette at Cairns Aquarius.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCKHAMPTON
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We decided to stay here because of what we had read on Trip Advisor. It was even better than we expected. it was perfect. We arrived early, like 9.30 am but no problem we went straight to our apartment which was just amazing. when we walked into the apartment there was a massive cruise ship coming in right outside our window. I have to say this is the best place we have ever stayed in. The apartments are so big. Kids had there own room with a big TV. Andy likes to cook so he appreciated the kitchen which has everything you could need. Also laundry with machine and dryer all modern and close to everything like pools,day trips ,shops etc. Fabulous views and swimming pool. next good season and were coming back here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MYRA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you Myra B for choosing to stay at Cairns Aquarius and for your very positive Trip Advisor review. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your well earned holiday and that we were able to contribute to this.
Let's hope for another good season and seeing you back at Cairns Aquarius in the not too distant future.

Don and Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

We actually came to Cairns with the intention of spending a few days in Port Douglas. The town was so busy there was no good hotel accommodation available so we booked into Cairns Aquarius holiday apartments. Given the lateness of our arrival the manager was very accommodating. As soon as we walked into an apartment it felt like winning lotto. Everything was absolutely immaculate and huge.
We checked in for 2 nights but then extended to 6 and did day trips to Port Douglas. The apartment is so large and modern we could have housed our whole family. Fantastic kitchen with every thing you could need but we ate at the restaurants next door which were quite good. In the evening we sat on the balcony, watched 10 million large bats flying around and the ships coming and going. We had never stayed in apartments before but this was something else and so comfortable. Cost was less than half a hotel room and much more private. Very different but fantastic holiday which we will probably think about doing again sometime.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinodelsal88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you "vinodelsal88" for taking the time to share your Cairns Aquarius experience with other Trip Advisor viewers.
As managers of these apartments, my wife and I work really hard to ensure that all apartments meet the highest standards for our guests. It is so rewarding when guests take the time to endorse the apartments and facilities. Hopefully we will see you back at Cairns Aquarius at some time in the future. Don and Annette.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Most of our travel was organised around the eclipse in Northern Queensland. Our gratitude to the Trip organizers. They could not have found a better venue to view the eclipse. Our apartment, which we shared with another couple was well furnished, very large and comfortable. Quite luxurious which made our visit so enjoyable. For the early morning of the eclipse we all sat out on the balcony and drank coffee. Even though there was some cloud cover we did witness most of this incredible event as the sun rose from the back of the mountain and was slowly covered by the shadow of the moon. Really breath taking. Our 3rd, eclipse but definitely our best and the most comfortable. One of the best features of this amazing accommodation was the eazy check in. Everyone was really beat when we arrived but a guy came down to the entry handed every one their key and we were all in our apartment in less than ten minutes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeEmma70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
My thanks to you MikeEmma70 for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review. Large group bookings are quite new to Cairns Aquarius but everything went perfectly. I well remember your
group and how well organised you all were. I would also like to convey my sincere thanks to all involved. Every apartment was left quite spotless.

Hopefully some of your party will one day revisit Cairns

Regards from your hosts, Don and Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments
0.4 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
181 The Esplanade
181 The Esplanade
#30 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.2 mi away
BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort
0.0 mi away
Mantra Trilogy
Mantra Trilogy
#26 of 64 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Aquarius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Aquarius

Property: Cairns Aquarius
Address: 107 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cairns
#6 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Aquarius 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Cairns Aquarius holiday apartment is the perfect holiday destinaton choice for your stay in tropical Cairns, Far North Queensland. Enjoy the accommodation convenience of a fully furnished, self-contained, waterfront holiday apartment in the heart of Cairns city. Stroll along the Cairns Esplanade, recline on a sun lounge by the pool or experience the breathtaking ocean views from your private balcony in Tropical Far North Queensland. All premium apartments have been fully refurbished. Book direct with Cairns Aqarius through our Web Site or call us. Troy and Elisabeth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairns Aquarius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing