We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,500)
Filter reviews
1,500 results
Traveler rating
350
635
331
121
63
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
350
635
331
121
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tennis courts a mountain view room family room seafood buffet minute walk room service two double beds an upgrade swim up bar room was large centre of town bit dated stayed here for nights shuttle bus the great barrier reef esplanade xbox
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,500 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2019

Great stay from flexible booking experience, to friendly efficient staff, to quiet peaceful room, great view with comfortable bed. Close to Cairns hospital, but an easy walk down the esplanade into town . Highly recommended.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sara v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew W, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2019

Dear Sara v,

Thank you for your recommendation and feedback. Your comments are very much appreciated.
We hope for an opportunity to welcome you back when you are next in Cairns.

Kind regards,

Andrew Wallis
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2019

Wow where do I start! Booked though Flight Centre, we were told by staff at Rydges that if we had of booked direct with them we would not have been told NO to most of our inclusions on our itinerary. No free parking, no free meal, no discount off beverages or meals ect. Photos attached. Beds were only a double and very uncomfortable we checked out after 5 days instead of our 7 days booked. Room, lobby & restaurant areas dirty. Staff were very unprofessional and seem uninterested in their job or customer service.
Would be interesting to see pool water chemistry results, never saw it being cleaned and bottom of pool was growing green slime

G and A apartment 1015

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank glenda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew W, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2019

Dear Glenda t,

Thank you for your feedback and my apologies for where we fell short of expectation.
I note that you booked a package deal through Flight Centre so the information the team gave you was correct. We offer a number of different packages at the point of reservation so as to provide options for those looking to stay with us. I can assure you that all of our pools are cleaned and tested on a regular basis.
I do hope that you enjoyed your overall time in Cairns and thanks once again for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards
Andrew Wallis
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2019 via mobile

We've stayed at Rydges twice and enjoyed our stay both times. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff are very polite and helpful. Hotel is located on the esplanade with fantastic views of the ocean. Good value hotel in Cairns.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew W, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2019

Dear Thomas P,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. The team here will be thrilled to learn that they played their part in ensuring you had a memorable stay.
We hope for an opportunity to welcome you back when you are next in Cairns.

Kind regards
Andrew Wallis
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2019

What a great hotel! Sure, it’s not the newest but the rooms are big, views to die for, beds are comfy, staff wonderful, good breakfast, pools are sparkling clean... everything you need! Based on the Esplanade and just a leisurely walk into the centre of town, it is perfect! If you really don’t want to walk, a taxi from the hotel to the Marina costs just $10. Happy hour every day 3-5pm though we were never about to take advantage.. so much to do and see in Cairns

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank kerrybigbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew W, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2019

Dear Kerrybigbuzz,

Thank you for such a terrific review. The team here will truly appreciate your comments.
It was pleasing to learn that you enjoyed your overall time in Cairns and thanks once again for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards
Andrew Wallis
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2019

We may have only been here for one night, but it was a good night!
Check in was friendly, quick and easy. The room, although slightly tired, was very spacious with everything we needed: small kitchenette, ironing facilities, hairdryer, car parking, and a sunny balcony with mountain views.
There’s a couple of pools to utilise, although the shade covers the main pool in the afternoon, plus a bar/restaurant and a gift shop. The location is a few blocks out of town, but it’s an extremely pleasant 5 minute stroll along the esplanade to the cafes.
I highly recommend this hotel and would be delighted to stay here in the near future.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ms L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew W, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2019

Dear Ms L,

Thank you for such wonderful feedback. Your comments are very much appreciated.
We hope for an opportunity to welcome you back next time you are in Cairns.

Kind regards
Andrew Wallis
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews